Do you use your free daily downvotes?

in #dpoll4 years ago (edited)

Do you use your free daily downvotes?


The Economic Improvement Proposal (EIP) from HF21 had three parts:

  1. a superlinear reward curve converging to linear after enough SP voting for a post
  2. a 50/50% reward split between author and curators
  3. a free downvote pool allowing 2.5 free downvotes per day

I'll focus on the latter. Before and even after the introduction of the free downvote pool, I had plenty concerns about it (as I had about all three points actually), but I said I'll think about if I'll use my free downvotes or not after all.

It turns out that till this day I abstained from using them because I don't want to be dragged in the negativity surrounding the exchanges of flags, even if occasionally I disagree with some content from various points of view (like tag abuse, for example).

I made my position clear about this continuous war some time ago, and nothing changed to make me feel otherwise.

I am wondering if you use your daily downvotes. And if you feel like explaining further, then what motivates you?


  • Yes, I manually use my free daily downvotes.

  • Yes, I follow a downvote curation trail.

  • No, I don't ever use my downvotes.

  • I manually downvote every once in a while.

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • Yes, I follow a downvote curation trail.

Yes, downvote trail is the flag trail created by @reazuliqbal to trail @steemflagrewards' mod approved flag mentions. I also occasionally seek out overvalued content or spam to downvote as well.

Cool, thanks for explaining further!

.

Thank you for the additional details!

Voted for

  • Yes, I manually use my free daily downvotes.

Voted for

  • I manually downvote every once in a while.

I downvote to remove unearned rewards. It is our main defense against those who just want to take from Steem. It has been effective in reducing such abuse, especially since the HF, but I did it long before then alone and as part of @steemflagrewards. You can thank them for increasing your rewards.

Hmm, my rewards haven't increased. But I understand the role of abuse fighters. The problem is when they abuse themselves. And that can always become an issue when rules aren't clear.

Well you may have made a tiny bit more than you would have otherwise. There are accounts taking tens of dollars every day for no benefit to the Steem platform. At least haejin has mostly given up. It is better since most of the bots changed tactic, but some still operate. Are you happy for people to buy votes on junk posts?

Steem is the wild west and you do not have to conform to any rules. I certainly do not agree with all the abuse fighters and this is why I only downvote manually as I want to check each case for myself. It has gained me some enemies, but I am prepared to pay that price.

I am not into 'flag wars'. I only retaliate in extreme cases where people get abusive towards me to make their comments invisible. Other actually seem to enjoy some conflict.

Read the Steem white paper about the importance of downvotes.

The problem with flags / downvotes is not that they are wrong as a system to regulate the pending payouts or to fight abuse, but for their negative emotional implications for a regular person who is otherwise non-conflictual (for both the downvoter and the downvotee I believe; and probably for the watchers of the spectacle as well).

I know it has been a major effort to rebrand flags into downvotes for exactly this reason: to try to soften the negative implications of using the term flag.

But, in essence, the functionality is the same. Actually, I'm wrong: downvotes are more powerful than the former flags, since there is a free downvote pool.

In a war, there are always battles won and battles lost. But it's still a war. And some people want peace (I know, what an utopia!).

Steem may be wild west, but communities don't have to be and probably won't be.

The fact remains that abuse would be rampant without them. There has to be a disincentive.

Voted for

  • Yes, I manually use my free daily downvotes.

We are all curators here in Steem.
Down votes are part of responsible curation.

Hmm, then Steem is not social media... Not that I protest for that, I hardly use(d) the centralized social media. But we shouldn't expect mass adoption.

Voted for

  • Yes, I follow a downvote curation trail.

Voted for

  • I manually downvote every once in a while.

The chouce seems to be once in awhile or all my free daily votes.
I'm somewhere in etween those two options.

Thanks for trying to make up for the nonexistent option to vote for.

Thanks for technically recognizing my non existent opinion.

Voted for

  • No, I don't ever use my downvotes.

Voted for

  • No, I don't ever use my downvotes.

Voted for

  • No, I don't ever use my downvotes.

Voted for

  • No, I don't ever use my downvotes.

Voted for

  • No, I don't ever use my downvotes.

Used them some initially to help chase off some stinkers but now no, I don't and probably wont use the downvotes. The whole thing seems creepy to me and I don't have time for the drama.

Thank you for detailing!

Voted for

  • No, I don't ever use my downvotes.

Voted for

  • No, I don't ever use my downvotes.

What is tag abuse?

What is tag abuse?

Using tags inappropriately with the goal of having a potential benefit from that (like tagging a flower post with 'steemleo', for example)

Voted for

  • I manually downvote every once in a while.

This is only for things like spam.
!trdo

Congratulations @vimukthi, you successfuly trended the post shared by @gadrian!
@gadrian will receive 0.09045675 TRDO & @vimukthi will get 0.06030450 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

No, I don't ever use my downvotes.

I once made a downvote that i did not want to - just clicking the wrong button and i don't like that feeling. Luckily i am not involved in downvote "wars" except since three days i got automatically some because i got a vote by SBI share. (I had to search about it because there wasn't any explanation!) Things like this doesn't make me happy to be here... it is no free and decentralized blockchain ... but that is life. People act like this feeling good by controlling and cleaning...

Thanks for your explanation! Yes, I received those SBI-related downvotes too. Seems there's a new vigilante in town (or an old one with a new purpose, who knows?)...

Voted for

  • I manually downvote every once in a while.

I have downvoted 3-4 times a guy that was abusing CTP tribe rules, but I don't use it anymore... As there is no need for that...

I'm sure you did that with your CTP tribe account, which probably makes more sense in my opinion, as it is well targeted.

Voted for

  • No, I don't ever use my downvotes.

Never.

Voted for

  • No, I don't ever use my downvotes.

Voted for

  • I manually downvote every once in a while.

Voted for

  • No, I don't ever use my downvotes.

Congratulations @gadrian, your post successfully recieved 0.09045675 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@vimukthi earned : 0.0603045 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site