Giron Escrima. And think I passed my test!!!!!! Celebration for me tonight.

in #gironescrima4 years ago

Here is some of the background.

You should always know history of the group that you are associating yourself with as well as history in general.

Today was a wild day at class and oddly enough I was very relaxed instead of stress this time.

Oh wow so I got all the way through module 1 and I did absolutely amazing in expressing the proper techniques and counters. And!!!!! I did it without cheating or needing to rely on the paperwork and notes.

Oh makie me happy.

I nearly broke my hand by screwing up one of the initial techniques and my teacher and I both knew how badly I screwed up.

My teacher definitely cussed me out.

Which is absolutely phenomenal and I accepted it. I am super lucky that actually it was only a light tap because my instructor pulled the strike.

which then I immediately proceeded to whack myself in the forehead with my next strike... Well it may be a little more complicated but basically that's exactly what happened.

So I have a little bit of a knot on my forehead. Not an absolutely huge one but definitely have a knot on my forehead.

Oh yeah baby. Live on the wild side. Oh yeah. And it looks great! Maybe like a baby horn trying to grow out my forehead?

So.... Yeah I finish up and my teacher asked me if I have the next chapter of my training. Wait.... Hang on. You don't get to go onto #2 if you haven't gotten through #1

So.......

Yes sir. Here it is. That's me getting more material... And wow. I got all 3 technical movements in a snap. Oh I definitely need to rework them. I need more work on a ton of things with this....

But honestly.... Wow. Just wow. Insane how fast I'm tearing through the material. Well daily practice is nice as best I can do it.

Whew. Ok. Well today is total success. 3 weeks of stressing and it's over. And then the next steps begin...

So. Drive back into Portland before traffic clogs the road.

Yeah..... Let's celebrate.

Yep I am super excited and thought that I should stop and pick up some jet fuel acai...

Definitely very smelly and pretty fruity.

at $39 for an eighth it was definitely one of their most expensive kinds but I was looking for something that was going to make me smile.

Instead of getting a beer or celebrating in a different way I think my way is pretty awesome.

IMG_20200813_130405393.jpg

Well we are super happy on getting through our goals and now we have to make another goal and set the bar even higher.

In reality my big huge goal is so far out of reach that I am very happy and getting to be able to turn it into smaller chunks and work my way through this and get to see my positive forward progress.

Constant positive progress is getting me places and I am super excited.

Sorry I didn't get this written up sooner but hey thanks guys and hope you guys enjoy.