True happiness: Embracing the journey.

in Hive Learners9 months ago

20230821_222147_0000.png

Hello! Everyone, welcome to my blog. This is another episode of the hivelearners contest. In today's post I would be sharing my personal perspective on true happiness.

For me, true happiness is the process in the pursuit of contentment and fulfilment. It's a deep feeling of fulfilment. It surpasses temporary moments of pleasure.

Right from childhood I have desired and pursued so many things that I felt was going to bring me true happiness. It wasn't as if I didn't feel happy having those material possessions but most of them excited me for only a moment and then I will be back to pursuing something else.

True happiness goes way beyond material possessions for they are only temporary pleasures. It is a deep sense of purpose and personal growth.

There was a time I thought that being married, having a car and owning a business will bring me true happiness. These are the heart's desires and fulfilling them is what I did. The question is, did it truly make me happy? Yes of course it did. It cost me time and energy in developing a meaningful relationship. And It will definitely last if I am consistent in maintaining them.

At the beginning of the year I had set some goals that I am determined to accomplish. Learning a skill was part of it. I feel fulfilled to have been able to acquire this skill before the end of the year. Right now I can make a dress and wear what I made. I can also make clothes for my clients and the sense of gratitude they show gives me a feeling of undeniable fulfilment. The process wasn't an easy one but I had subsequently progressed because I was determined to learn.

Now, I earn good money from dressmaking and I am happy whenever a client is pleased with my work. It gives me a sense of accomplishment and fulfilment. I find great satisfaction in making clothes especially for people.

Happiness is a journey and a lot of individuals, if not all, embark on the pursuit of happiness. I am a dressmaker, a Hiver, a wife and I own a mini mart, striking a balance between my career, personal life and leisure is not as easy as it sounds but I do it by planning, I work with my schedule in order to have a balanced lifestyle, rest and enjoy myself at no cost which in turn brought me happiness.

Acquiring dressmaking skills cost me:
Time: I had to invest a good amount of my time into getting good and quality knowledge from dressmaking.

Effort: I put in a lot of effort in learning this skill even when I didn't get it right I was determined to try again until I made good progress.

Practice: I practise off work in order to perfect my work and understand how to bring out the best in me.

Sacrifice: I sacrificed the comfort of my home and my leisure hours to make myself available to learn this skill.

Finance: I paid an exorbitant amount to acquire this skill, although it was worth the amount charged. I purchased the necessary resources and items needed to acquire this skill.

I believe this achievement would last if I am consistent, I would keep progressing and thereby retaining this achievement would be a true fulfilment and lasting happiness for me. True happiness is not constant, rather , it's a journey that requires on-going efforts, a willingness to embrace personal growth and fulfilment in all aspects of life.

Thumbnail designed using canva

Thank you for stopping by 🌸

Sort:  
 9 months ago  


Wow, see how you dissected the topic. Indeed everyone has different things of they derive happiness from. I love your definition of true happiness and how you are working towards what gives you happiness and fulfillment. Indeed, effort,time , etc is needed to maintain that which gives you happiness.
All the best in your life pursuit

 9 months ago  

Thank you!

1000144368.gif

 9 months ago  

Thank you!

 9 months ago  

True happiness is a journey and it requires constant efforts and willingness to embrace personal growth....I love how you defined true happiness and that is the truth. To have that inner peace through happiness, one must carry the sacrifice and keep it moving and with this, there is that happy satisfaction of progressing and not staying on a spot.

 9 months ago  

Exactly. Thank for your meaningful additions 🙂

 9 months ago  

Happiness is that inner joy you derive from doing what you do, well. I can see your happiness in dress making and having to be the one making decisions in both your dresses and clients ' .
You were really resilient and are determined to do that. The price you paid has yielded well. Keep trending, dear.
#dreemerforlife

 9 months ago  

Thank you!