What Will You Do After HF21?

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

What Will You Do After HF21?


Much has been written about the upcoming hard fork. Most of the back and forth is due to the Economic Improvement Proposal, or EIP, which will make the following changes to the existing payout system:

fork-2104990_1280.jpg

  • The author/curator split will go from 75/25 to 50/50.

  • The payout out curve will go from linear to something called convergent linear—it starts out non-linear than goes linear at a certain point.

  • Some free downvotes. A downvote pool is being created so that everyone will have free downvotes to give each day, thus leaving voting power for curation.

This HF21 is still in a testing phase, but 14 of the top 21 witnesses are already running 0.21.0 of STEEM. The conversion will take place in less than two weeks, barring some unforeseen non-consensus.

Now that there's been plenty of time to mull things over, to see how some of the EIP looks like, thanks to tokens and tribes on STEEM-Engine, what will you do when the hard fork hits? Will you stay or will you go? Something in between?

Feel free to elaborate on any answer you give.

Image source—Pixabay


  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep posting, and hope for the best.

  • I'm going to concentrate more on curation, since I think I can make a go of it that way.

  • I'm waiting around to see what happens, and then make a decision. Too early to say otherwise.

  • I'm pretty much done. I've not been making that much already, and now there's a chance I will make even less.

  • I'm already gone. Just hanging around to see the fireworks.

  • Who cares about HF21? I want SMTs!

  • Other (please elaborate).

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep possting, and hope for the best.

Hey, @abbak7.

That's the prevailing sentiment, it appears. Which I think is best for STEEM. Those who are in a wait and see mode, though, have my understanding, too. There are some scenarios where things get tougher to stick around in. I made it through HF20, though, so who knows.

Voted for

  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep possting, and hope for the best.

Hey, @jeffjagoe.

What else is there, right? If there's an ability to still build stake, then build stake. I like to come up with things to write about. I've never posted so consistently in my life, and I've enjoyed it. So, without there being somewhere else to go that's assured to be better, this still seems like the place to be.

Voted for

  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep possting, and hope for the best.

Hey, @hatoto.

Thanks for the reply.

I think it's the best option for now, especially since there will need to be creators creating for curators to curate. And if there's a dip in the former, than I'm not sure how we can tell if the latter is working or failing. If anything, we will need an increase in posting by those who remain.

Voted for

  • Other (please elaborate).

I have issues with dpoll, pick one then log in, then it just throws the vote and does not let me elaborate, so here is another dpoll comment edit;

I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep posting, and hope for the best.

I was going to pick that one also, but dpoll only let me pick one.

I will continue as if HF21 did not happen. I am likely to small of an account to benefit from the increased curation, so I will still continue to post at my randomly scheduled times with my random stuff. I doubt that my post will increase much beyond what I try to average three a week, but I may think about trying to increase that number a little bit.

I do not see myself down voting, just because it is free, the down vote system is broke and I won't play that game, at least for now.

But I will stay, where else am I going to go, to facebook? I think not. To linked in, not a chance to telegram, not in a million years. Weku? why? same as steemit, one of the other copy-cat block chain places? Why. So I'll stick with steemit. It will be easy to see when I am done with steem block chain, when I take the time to learn how to cash out. ;-}

The steem block chain has no real issues, steemit has issues and some of the front ends have issues, but the chain remains the same, it works.

Hey, @bashadow.

A very logical and succinct summary of the state of STEEM. Still nowhere better to go, despite every attempt (it seems) to alienate creators. I don't think there's really an intent on everyone involved's part to get rid of those of us who aren't deep pockets, but man, the landscape keeps changing. That's all I know.

re: only let me pick one

Yeah. Sorry. I chose that option over the multiple one this time since it seemed to fit. At any rate, you got to elaborate with the edit. Annoying, but in my mind, your thoughts were worth it. :)

Voted for

  • I'm waiting around to see what happens, and then make a decision. Too early to say otherwise.

Let us see how it kivkstart first but I believe it will be great

Hey, @adedapo-glory.

Well, I truly hope you're right. It would be great if it did what's it's said it will do. Bring on the big SP curators. Short of that, it's business as usual.

Voted for

  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep possting, and hope for the best.

I'm long haul, but I am not taking Steem the token very seriously these days... I still love the blockchain and am having fun with the Tribes.

I think there might be a day Steem holds value again... but we aren't there yet.

Hey, @whatsup.

It is kind of a bittersweet feeling these days, isn't it? Holding, but finding the fun and enjoyment where you can for as long as you can. It's somewhere between hope and stubborn.

At the same time, there has been a rush of innovations from the community, and Steemit might eventually catch up after all the under the hood tinkering. I don't know what's going on anywhere else, but I like the idea that there has been some movement after well over a year of waiting, HF20, and now waiting some more for HF21.

Voted for

  • I'm waiting around to see what happens, and then make a decision. Too early to say otherwise.

Hey, @deathcross.

I hear you. It's definitely one of those things where a full commitment is tough, considering if things get really bad really quick. And, it does mean giving things a chance to work one way or the other before staying or bailing, so I believe there's a positive attitude to the idea of waiting and seeing.

Voted for

  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep possting, and hope for the best.

Hey, @axdx.

That seems to be the consensus. Hold on for the long haul. That's pretty much where I'm at. The only thing is keeping up with the posting while I'm working the hours I am. I'm managed it so far, but it can be a battle at times. :)

Voted for

  • I'm waiting around to see what happens, and then make a decision. Too early to say otherwise.

Not waiting I intend to do more elsewhere plus via planet.
It is not social media if you can not socialize with people because of SP lack.
The fact steemit.inc is leaving the sinking ship says a lot too.

Hey, @wakeupkitty.

When you say via planet, do you mean palnet? I haven't heard of planet, so just making sure that's what you meant.

Low SP/RC is an ongoing issue that may or may not be addressed at some point with RC delegations. Who knows when, though, and who will try to make a go of it while that finally comes around.

re: sinking ship

Are you referring to Steemit's ongoing powering down? Or did I miss an announcement? :)

Yes, I mean the site palnet.io
It looks the same as steemit once was. At the moment you can post there and here by using the tag #palnet.

If you did not sign in yet do so. Same key as steemit key.
Have a look at your wallet too. Might be there are tokens for you.

If you now post and use the planet tag that post will show up at two different sites. Steemit and Palnet.
So you can earn twice with it steem and pal.

Palnet.io will keep the old rewards 50/50 which makes it more interesting to be there.

I mean: as long as Steemit inc keeps selling their steel this will not be a good sign to users/investors etc. There are way more unused as used accounts here.

💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • I'm waiting around to see what happens, and then make a decision. Too early to say otherwise.

Hey, @russia-btc.

It's really not a bad stance, I don't think. I'm in it for the long haul, I think, but I'm also in it to earn, and If I can't do that, I'm not sure curation is going to satisfy my desire for creating and posting. So, there are definitely circumstances that would make me rethink my position.

I try to supervise and do posts - so I don’t worry much 👋 @glenalbrethsen

Voted for

  • Other (please elaborate).

I am a test account so I will find out how hard it is with less SP to engage and grow here.

Hey, @wakeupkitty.pal.

Just answered you on your other account. I like the idea of a test, though. We really need some real world experience and data, especially if it's not on a main account, so that the main account can be used to report out what's happening on the alt. Otherwise, the alt might not be able to do it.

Voted for

  • Other (please elaborate).

Tribes are just fine! ;) So I transfer some of my AFIT & AFITX / STEEM to tokens :)
Steem-engine will stay anyway. We'll stay as an overlay to this blockchain. It's supportive. Some new thing may be invented at any moment :)
Networks are born more than babies nowadays :)

Hey, @trayan.

re: networks

That's probably true. :)

re: STEEM-Engine

Well, it's pretty much aggroed and yabapmatt, which I guess isn't that materialistically different from anything else interacting on the blockchain. But it does mean a dependence on a non-decentralized governance (I thought the double negative sounded better than just centralized. :).

I think some kind of innovation will be born of all of this. It's just a matter of sticking it out to be there when it happens.

Voted for

  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep possting, and hope for the best.

The new post promoter and post booster feature of the eSteem Surfer 2.2.0 looks promising. This gives me a new hope about being active as an author on the Steem blockchain.
I boosted one of my posts with 200 eSteem Points (ESTM), and the post currently (2019.08.15, 15:33 CEST) have a pending payout of $0.49.
To see the contrast:
Nowadays I usually/mostly earn between $0.02 and $0.40 with my posts, and some of my posts even struggling to reach the payout threshold ($0.02).

Hey, @xplosive.

Interesting. I've dabbled a little with the browser version myself, but haven't been able to kick Steemit to the curb completely. With any of the other blogging front ends. Regardless, it sounds like the new features helped. I guess the test would be how often that occurs, and how often you can afford to do it (how do you acquire the esteem points?).

Voted for

  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep possting, and hope for the best.

Hey, @d-zero.

Seems to be the runaway favorite here. Which I think is best for STEEM, if people who have stuck it out this far are still willing to do it afterward. That's a good solid base on which to build on if there's ever a turnaround in price, which will probably do more to bring the masses here than any other thing.

Yep. the community is the #1 thing we have on STEEM. EOS already has beaten us in terms of tech. But they don't have much important DAPPs. Even when the community gets negative on STEEM they are still offering solutions and criticisms to devs. That alone is a great Beta/Early Access opportunity that DAPPs on STEEM get.

Voted for

  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep possting, and hope for the best.

Thanks, @loler555.

That's my attitude going in, too, although I can see it quickly changing to a wait and see right after the HF. :)

As it is, though, I've got enough invested in time and money that I can't just walk away from it, and I like posting enough that I want to keep doing it as long as it is feasible to do.

Yea I can see some improvements they are trying to make... I think they are trying to make bid bots less profitable. The changes may however remove some of the incentive to be an author on the platform...

Posted using Partiko Android

I believe it's going to take those who are behind and supporting the EIP to step up and curate like they've never curated before. Otherwise, yes, there will be less incentive for authors.

Whether the intent really is to make bidbots less profitable is yet to be seen. If authors feel they need to use bidbots even more to get their posts out there, it will only increase the bidbots presence here. Which means the downvotes will come into play to discourage the authors from using the bidbots.

What I can see happening just as easy as anything else is that scenario: no significant increase in curation (or at least not enough to compensate), authors running to the bidbots, or self-upvoting more or something—but the downvotes increasing, so basically authors will end up being the penalized group. Eventually, that probably affects the bidbot owners if the downvotes actually happen.

However, I'm hoping for the best outcome and the least amount of pain, preparing for a scenario like the one I outlined, and expecting that things will probably end up somewhere in between.

Voted for

  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep possting, and hope for the best.

Hey, @suntree.

Seems like you're in the majority here, and I think that's the best place to be on this one. Not that I don't understand how any of the others feel. I've been all over the place with STEEM in the nearly 20 months of posting, commenting and curating. Lately, though, I guess I've just come to the point where I want to post and earn as much as I can so that when STEEM's value finally rises, I'll have something worthwhile. :)

Voted for

  • Who cares about HF21? I want SMTs!

Hey, @vimukthi.

You and bluerobo! Well, I'd like to see SMTs too, even if they do a quarter for STEEM that they say it will, it will be worth the wait.

That said, I don't really want the EIP, so I kind of have to care about HF21. :)

SMTs and SCOTs take care of what EIP is supposed to do and they do it with much elegance and without pushing one size fits all solutions. But I do think potential problems of EIP could be kept minimal of SMTs/SCOTs become huge to a point where they can rival STEM earnings for most users.

The SPS was long overdue. All they had to do was look at Dash and go "We want one of those". I'd prefer o see more DAPP development and less marketing with SPS. (I want STEEM prices to be low for as long as possible. STEEM could easily hit $100 IMO)

Easily. It's all there, just gaining pressure, or energizing, or doing whatever the heck it is crypto does while it's undervalued and percolating. With all the underpinnings, versatility, speed, scalability, cost effectiveness, free transactions and so forth, the roof gets blown off hard. A little less distraction and a little more focus will help in the interim I think. :)

Voted for

  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep possting, and hope for the best.

Hey, @erica005.

Yep. Keep on posting. I'm heartened to see that the majority of those who have answered the dpoll are taking that particular stance. With all the back and forth and not so favorable outlook on the EIP by at the rank and file (the proponents of course feel it's essential and moreover, we're dead without it), it's good to see people ready to hang in there even if HF21 makes things harder.

Voted for

  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep possting, and hope for the best.

Hey, @siphon.

I'm not sure how I missed your response, but I apologize for not replying sooner.

Long haul seemed to be the answer for most respondents, so you're in the majority and I think rightfully so. That brings hope to the blockchain. :)

Voted for

  • I'm in it for the long haul. I'm going to keep possting, and hope for the best.

Hey, @fredkese.

Don't know how I missed your response earlier, but thank you for making it. Your answer seems to be the runaway favorite, and I think that's a good thing. I know it's nowhere near representative of all users on STEEM, but I'd like to think that the numbers would hold the higher they rose. :)

Too early to know what will happen after the fork

Voted for

  • Who cares about HF21? I want SMTs!

Hey, @bluerobo.

Cutting to the quick as always, eh? :) I threw that one in especially for you. And maybe one or two others. :)

Voted for

  • I'm going to concentrate more on curation, since I think I can make a go of it that way.

Hey, @maxer27.

Missed this earlier. Sorry about that. I do appreciate the response, though. Not too many chose this one, but I find it to be a honest assessment of what could be the potential new circumstances after the hard fork. There may be more of us doing that than currently think we will now. :)

I'm staying to see how it plays out. Even a train wreck can be fascinating to watch ;)

Will probably try my hand at a re-focus on curation but will be very cautious and probably won't post anything remotely controversial until I see how the free downvotes are playing out.

Hey, @buggedout.

Hey, thanks for the response. Always a pleasure to hear from you.

There's certainly been quite a bit of testing going on compared to last time, so it will be interesting to see if we get another halting of the chain, or most of locked out, or just what will actually become of all of our votes with the new curve.

re: downvotes

Yeah. That will be interesting too. I think the best case scenario is, there's no significant change (in other words, not an increase in unwarranted attacks that escalate into STEEM-wide freeforalls), other than there's not penalty for doing it five or some times a day. :) In this case, a slight bump up in the inanity from the status quo is probably a win.

Congratulations @glenalbrethsen!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 8 with 50 comments

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Hey, dpoll.curation.

Thank you, as always. Very kind. Thank you for curating and thank you for having dpoll in the first place.