Your Favourite Quote (30 Days Blogging Challenge - Part One)

Image edited with Canva

LET SLEEPING DOGS LIE

I'm not the kind of person who post motivational quotes or proverbs or any type of quotes at all on social media. Some people are obsessed with things like that. Some people look for a quote for every situation they face🤦🏾‍♀️. But I'm not like any of those people. I don't allow quotes or sayings to affect my thoughts. I personally think that some of these quotes are contradicting each other. But there is one quote that manage to make sense to me, have meanings which I can conveniently apply in “the real world”. And this particular one (the one at the top), speaks to me a lot. It doesn't mean much and it has a very straightforward meaning, but there's just something about this quote that makes it keep ringing in my head.

“Let sleeping dogs lie” means “Don't go around looking for trouble if trouble hasn't come look for you”. Don't ignite arguments. Imagine entering an environment (maybe one you're familiar with) and you know that there are a lot of dogs there. And there's this particular dog that chases you everytime you go there😂. But when you get there, you realize the dog is asleep. If you're not crazy or a psychopath, you'll try to avoid waking that dog. You won't go and start stoning the dog (unless you're not in your right mind 🤦🏾‍♀️). People will always react like this if they find a dog sleeping, but those same people are the busybodies causing trouble everywhere they go. Sometimes staying on your own saves you from a lot of trouble. Sometimes silence is the best answer. You don't have to reply when you know full well that it's going to cause trouble.

But then some people are just bent on starting an argument at the slightest chance they get. I live around a lot of quarrelsome people and sometimes I wonder if they derive joy from causing fights. I noticed that most of the things they quarrel about make no sense at all. The funny thing is that the ones who start quarrels like that are the ones who end up getting beat up if they fight😂. So why cause all that trouble if you're still the one who gets beaten up? What do people actually gain from their quarrelsome ways? Why do they continue to walk in those ways when they end up loosing teeth eveytime? Do they just do it to prove a point? These questions always run through my head when I see people exchanging words. This reminds me of Beat it by Michael Jackson. It really doesn't matter who's right. Just avoid throwing punches, avoid loosing teeth, avoid fooling yourself and walk away because it's better to loose an argument than loose teeth (or body parts). I'm very particular about loosing teeth because not everyone likes people who don't have complete set of teeth😂. Funny enough, I only realized the meaning of this song a few weeks ago when I was listening to it. It made a lot more sense to me.

One of the worst things a person can be is a busybody. Stay one your own(AVOID LOOSING YOUR TEETH😅) and LET SLEEPING DOGS LIE. I hope this quote spoke to you (I mean all of you) the way it spoke to me.
This is my 3rd entry to this challenge, I know.... I'm very slow, but I have books to study, but I am committed to the challenge, I look forward to the day I finish this though, I just hope I don't spend 5years on this challenge 😂😂😂, okay I'm just joking. Thanks for being patient and taking out time to read to the end. See you in the next part of this challenge.

Thanks For Reading!

@golden06
© Copyright,2021

Sort:  

Staying out of trouble is the noblest of all decision an individual will make. Hence, it's fine to keep at arms length with any disturbance to your personal life. You have chosen a simple but delicate quote. Thanks for sharing this beautiful proverb and thought.

Thank you very much for your kind response to my post. I do appreciate. Thanks for stopping by.

wow, your content is so interesting as i feel like reading more and more. It pays to let the sleeping dog lie than buy a trouble that may hurt you in the long run. Well done @golden06, hope to see more of you here and do have a wonderful day.

Thank you very must for the lovely comment. Like you said, it really pays to just ignore, honestly, there is no gain in buying trouble. Thank you so much for reading, I will do my best to always write something new. Thanks for reading.

Congratulations @golden06! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!