Day 5 of my first vacation in 3.5 years

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY10 months ago

I used to travel a lot but then I got a dog and became extremely attached to her and don't ever want to leave her alone or with other people. So my amount of time going for some R&R has diminished to the point of nothingness in the past 6 years or so.

For various reasons this recent vacation of mine needed to happen and needed to happen now, and thankfully there is a couple who are looking after my Nadi in their house with a garden during the 12 days that I am gone. This trip has seen me travel to Thailand to visit some old friends and mostly do a bunch of drinking and reminiscing. Day 5 was basically a travel day, but I wanted to showcase how much of an absolute shithole Pattaya is and why unless you are looking to just hang out with hookers all the time, you should just avoid that place.


signal-2023-07-12-223625_010.jpeg

Basically, this is every street in Pattaya. The advertisements reach further and further above the streets, there are zero sidewalks aside from the beach road, and you are constantly dodging traffic and various hawker stalls that set up on the street encroaching further and further into the road until the police come by and tell them to back up a bit.

Down each of the roads that come off of this, and every other road in this city are a bunch of "beer bars" or colloquially known as "bar beers" where the sort of industry they are involved in is quite obvious.


signal-2023-07-12-223625_011.jpeg

We did a little walk around on our one and only night to at least have a look at what this place looks like at night and while I lived in Thailand for a very long time and was aware that Pattaya is all about the red-light districts I had no idea how extremely widespread that this was. We tried to do some math real quick based on the amount of girls we saw working in this bar and that and the fact that there are hundreds of bars and estimated that there has to be 10,000 prostitutes here or something insane like that. One street called Soi 6 has about 100 bars on it and each bar is essentially the same thing: There is music that is WAAAAY too loud playing to compete with the noise coming from the 99 other bars on the same street and there are a dozen or so scantily-clad young women shouting "hello welcome" at anyone and everyone that walks by.

I didn't take pictures of this because of a couple of reasons: There are security that get really upset if you do so and even though I don't participate in this industry I do not look down on the people that are doing it and therefore see no good reason to accidentally expose them. They are just trying to make some money and it isn't their fault that this is their best option in life.

So we hung out and walked around a lot and quickly found out that this is basically the only thing that this city had to offer. One of my friends is traveling with his wife and the other 2 aren't really interested in "paying for it" the same as me, so we stuck with our original plan of getting the hell out of there the very next day.

Therefore day 5 of my "vacation" was filled almost entirely with travel and well, that is never fun even if you do go VIP like we did.


photo_2023-07-13_11-26-27.jpg

The VIP taxi that we booked to take us to our flights in Bangkok was actually one of the nicest taxis I have been in anywhere in Asia. When an agency uses the word "VIP" it is almost always a lie but in this one instance we had a huge Hyundai minivan with tons of room for all of us as well as individual climate control. We were not expecting something this nice for our near 2-hour journey to Don Muang Airport and while being in a car isn't exactly my idea of a vacation, it was much more enjoyable than walking the disgustingly dirty streets of Pattaya.

The journey was about as enjoyable as you can expect from a 2-hour taxi followed by 1.5 hours in the airport followed by a 1.5 hour flight followed by a 40 minute car ride on the other end. So yeah, it was kind of brutal and I am likely just going to stay put here in Phuket for at least a few days. By the way I am in Phuket right now and I once briefly lived here years and years ago. Although there are many more people here than I would prefer there be, it is an absolutely lovely island so in the coming days you are likely going to see me complaining a lot less than I normally would do.

The Day 6 report is likely to be much more pleasant than the ones that I have regaled you with up to this point.


photo_2023-07-13_11-33-03.jpg

The people looking after Nadi send me daily picture updates of her status and well, I wish she looked happier but don't worry little buddy. I'll be back soon and it is unlikely that I will leave you alone for this long ever again.

Sort:  
 10 months ago  

We go down to Pattaya a couple of times a year for Hash events and I agree with basically everything you have said out it. The place is a dump and has such a bad reputation I would be nervous to tell anyone about it. I think this is why a lot of people that live down that way say that live in Chumpon instead even though we all know damn well that they live in Pattaya.

I guess every country has a place like pattaya, such places are usually found in the slum in my country (who are we to judge), I am happy you are having fun on your trip, enjoy, it is obvious that Nadi misses you also.

 10 months ago  

It's the world's most prevalent occupation probably. I don't judge them either, they are just trying to get by in life just like everyone else. The problem with Pattaya is that this appears to the be only reason for its existence at all. I really can find no other reason why anyone would ever travel there. The beach is horrible especially when compared to some of the other extremely lovely beaches that exist all over this country.

When we really went to the crowded streets or cities, it is really expected to seen this girls working in the bar. For me, its to sad they joined this kind of work.

 10 months ago  

Yeah, it is sad but I think we also need to understand the economics of what is driving this. The average uneducated person in Thailand can expect to make around 5 to 6 thousand THB (baht) per month. These "working girls" can make that in a couple days in this line of work.... but based on what I have seen it appears at though it is an extremely competitive line of work.

Yes that is true. They have no choice but to join that kind of work because of their different reasons maybe.

I did not visit Taiwan, but my friends did. I've heard the people are peaceful and helpful. It's a unique place.

 10 months ago  

I have also never visited Taiwan. This is in Thailand. Although I have been hearing that Taiwan's tourism has been hit pretty hard lately because of fear of China.

I intended to speak about Thailand :) Thailand was the country I have heard a lot.

 10 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

At least you are ending the trip in a nicer area. It probably feels a little good to be back in the area where you used to live. Even over here VIP services aren't what you would expect them to be.

 10 months ago  

The word "VIP" has been abused to the point where it doesn't really mean anything anymore.

Absolutely!

I didn't realise how bad this place was as most places at least have something to offer, but apparently not in this case. Looking forward to Phuket though as I know they have some beautiful spots.

 10 months ago  

Yeah, Phuket is a lovely place but unfortunately it is crowded as hell and traffic is a nightmare.