Ozark Season 2 part 2

in #tv5 years ago

This covers episodes 4, 5, and 6. While I have tried my best to make this a generic review process there might be a spoiler or two in here.

For those of you that don't know, Ozark is a crime-thriller (i guess) on Netflix starring Jason Bateman. It is also directed most of the time by Jason Bateman. If follows Marty Byrde (Bateman) in his quest to launder money for the Mexican drug cartel. He is constantly facing problems from all angles. The local thugs, the cartel representatives, the FBI, and even his own people turning on him.

Season 1 was extremely interesting as character development was going on and a few people became key players and a few people dropped off either by dying or by hopefully being written out of the plot (like the preacher man, I hope he is gone for good)

Ozark-Grace-1489517.jpg

It's not that he was a bad actor it was just a dumb character and the focus on him was the ONLY time that I felt this series had used "filler" instead of an actual story. An entire episode was dedicated to the back story of this dude and by the time it was over we were like... "yeah, so what?"

Season 2 has carried on in much of the same way as the end of season 1 and the start of season 2. No matter what situation Marty gets himself into, it seems to always go awry. Any time something starts going his way, something makes it go bad. Then Marty and co fix it and then something else goes bad, and I am starting to see a pattern here that means that the show might be running out of ideas. The episodes are starting to become predictable is what I am trying to say, and that is never a good thing.

One excellent thing that remains is that the acting is really top drawer (except for the occasional slip up by Laura Linney of all people.) Julia Garner plays Ruth Langmore and before this show I had never seen her act in anything before. She is absolutely phenomenal and if she doesn't win some TV awards I'm gonna have to assume the awards are rigged.

Ruth-Langmore-Ozark-season-2.jpg
her and Jason Bateman's performances are really the only reasons you need to watch this series

So I have to say at this point that I am getting a little frustrated with the show because it seems to me that every episode is just a re-hash of the last and some of the occurances are just plain dumb given the people involved.

SPOILER the Snells are exceptionally protective of their poppy plants and just security in general, but Wendy is able to stop in the Snell's lit front yard within view of their front porch and drop a dude off who is carrying an extremely visible flashlight to go and burn their crops but nobody sees anything or tries to stop him? SPOILER FINISHED

That is just one of the increasing number of situations that just seem like lazy writing. The show better get back to their original glory in the next few episodes or I may lose interest altogether. It is still good, don't get me wrong, but it is slipping.

So, the score so far

EP's 1-3 = 7 / 10
EP's 4-6 = 6 / 10

6.5 / 10

Sort:  

"The show better get back to their original glory in the next few episodes or I may lose interest altogether."

Exactly!
This show started of on a high level in season 1. And it when downhill.
So far in season, nowhere near the high level of the first season.
I find it really hard to continue watching.

i bought some XRP recently because of the constant reminder your name game me. :)

sounds interesting I probably give it a try

Sounds fun I probably give it a try,too.He's very good looking!