Penang (Malaysia) sucks... but!

in #travel6 years ago

I don't like this island in the north-west of Malaysia. The beaches are gross, the streets are about the same (strange coincidence eh?) and traffic is nuts. There are lot of other reasons that I dislike this city but a lot of it has to do with the fact that I have been forced to go there for the past near 15 years.

That being said, there is one aspect of Penang that absolutely rules and I look forward to it every time that I am required to visit the place: The 24-hour Indian places

42132801_468148477031497_7509309382828490752_n.jpg

it doesn't matter if it is 4pm or 4 am, these places are busy. There are loads of staff there and the food is just as incredible at mid-day as it is in the middle of the night. Of course i suppose it would be a good idea if you actually enjoy Indian food for a start.

42165816_257908558260302_1033906839848222720_n.jpg

the first picture I showed is the "per order" menu, which has just about anything you could imagine on it including my favorite Tandoori dishes. These are made by a team of people that you can watch if you want to (no secret kitchen here) and it gets brought to you pretty quickly as well. The other option is the second picture, which are prepared dishes that you can have a look and choose some to be mixed mostly with rice, but can be ordered witn naan as well if you want.

Generally speaking these places don't serve alcohol but to be honest with you i never really felt as though Indian food really pairs with alcohol very well. It just doesn't seem to meld correctly, if that makes any sense.

Penang has these 24-hour Indian places scattered around the city and they are pretty easy to spot seeing as how they are the only place that is open outside of a 7-11 after 1 am or so.

My favorite thing at these places is consequently one of my favorite dishes in the world: Tandoori Chicken sets with garlic naan. It comes on a "prison tray" and you mostly eat it with your hands. There are 3 types of sauces and some onions (which work out wonderfully) and to be honest I think this is one of the most perfect foods in existance on the planet.

42059009_317382068840834_4564639492127850496_n.jpg

The price for all of this is right around $3. I mean look at that! can you believe that is only 3 bucks?

When i find myself suck in Penang, which hopefully will be never again, I always head to these places. Should you find yourself there as well one day, I seriously recommend that you head directly to the 24-hour indian places. They are easy to spot because they will likely be busy and filled with horrible furniture filled with loads of people. This, my friends, is the sign of a business model that is working and I highly recommend that you check it out if you ever find yourself on the shopping mall island of dirty beaches called Penang.

Sort:  

The good thing is that you can see the preparation of the food, if something strange happen at the precise moment of the preparation they do not have to hide it and make the dish again, that wall that prevents seeing the preparation of food has never given me confidence even in a prestigious restaurant, who knows what things they will make your dish if you don't like them.🤔

I spend last three months in Malaysia and I love their cousine!
Best kitchen I got was in Ipoh, so if you like good food I can recommend you some spots. 😉

Wow, Yamee food. I love It.

wow there are many lovely food,
it looks delicious.
well done @gooddream

...

I will hear your advice about Indian food someday. :)

I upvoted your post.

Mabuhay, keep steeming.
@Filipino

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Wao Foods looks so yummy.Indians recipe is to good.Thanks for sharing.

Ohh That's great that you loved our Indian food, There are plenty of varieties in Indian food , coming from north Indian Dishes to south Indian as well, I hope there must be more varieties so that you could taste each one of them.