How did you hear about Gridcoin?

in #dpoll5 years ago

How did you hear about Gridcoin?


I just heard about the DPoll app on the steem blockchain today.
This is just a quick post to test it out =)


  • Advert on Boincstats.com

  • Through a search engine (e. g. google)

  • Through a friend

  • Through Coinmarketcap

  • Through Reddit

  • Through Steemit

  • Through a forum (e. g. bitcointalk, cryptocurrencytalk, ...)

  • I can't remeber

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • I can't remeber

I didn't..

Then it is high time that you learn something about Gridcoin :D

Voted for

  • Advert on Boincstats.com

Voted for

  • Advert on Boincstats.com

This was the banner on Boincstats that got me recruited:

Awesome! I think one of your banners recruited me =D

First heard about Gridcoin on Youtube:

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • I can't remeber

Voted for

  • I can't remeber

I created my Gridcoin wallet in 2017, but I don't use it nowadays.
I currently don't have any 64-bit computer.
The CPU and the Windows 7 in/on my current laptop (Toshiba Satellite A110-110) is 32-bit, and the Gridcoin Research client - Wallet Version: 4.0.2.0 (Leisure) - supports only 64-bit Windows operating systems.

Oh...I think you still can use the headless wallet on 32bit.
And I heard that somebody was able to run the GUI on 32bit aswell....

Where can I find this headless wallet?
I did not found anything about it on the official Gridcoin website.
I downloaded the linked 64-bit installer MSI, and tried to run, but the application returned with the following error message:
"Windows Installer

This installation package is not supported by this processor type. Contact your product vendor."

The full 32-bit GUI version is returning in the Denise milestone release, which is in final testing now. This also includes the new scraper/NN functionality

You should now be able to download the GUI wallet on 32 bit. Go to https://github.com/gridcoin-community/Gridcoin-Research/releases and scroll down and download gridcoin-4.0.3-win32-setup.exe

Thank you for notifying me!
I downloaded and installled it on the day you notified me (on 2019.05.11), but it is still synchronising, because I don't run the program the whole/entire day.

You can use a snapshot to get you most of the way there although it's more centralized. Here's the link and some instructions on how to use it

https://download.gridcoin.us/download/downloadstake/signed/snapshot.zip

1) Make a backup of your wallet.dat and gridcoinresearch.conf files as well as your walletbackups folder. 
2) Delete everything in your Gridcoin Research directory (Linux = .GridcoinResearch/, Windows = %appdata%\GridcoinResearch) EXCEPT your wallet.dat, gridcoinresearch.conf, and walletbackups folder. 
3) Download the latest snapshot. 
4) Extract the snapshot into your Gridcoin directory. 
5) Launch the wallet.

Voted for

  • Through Coinmarketcap

Voted for

  • Advert on Boincstats.com

Voted for

  • Through Coinmarketcap

Voted for

  • I can't remeber

Voted for

  • Through a forum (e. g. bitcointalk, cryptocurrencytalk, ...)

Voted for

  • I can't remeber

Voted for

  • I can't remeber

Voted for

  • Through Steemit

Voted for

  • Through a search engine (e. g. google)

Voted for

  • I can't remeber

I've been searching for an interesting blockchain project at the time, found gridcoin to be the one.

Voted for

  • Advert on Boincstats.com

I cannot hear.

Posted using Partiko Android