Many people have screen addiction but don't admit.

in Hive Learners2 months ago

screen.png


Banner created in canva

Any type of addiction is bad. Usually, when people think of addiction they associate it with chemical addiction, such as sugar, alcohol, and drugs in general. But other types of addictions bring some type of pleasure to the brain without ingesting any type of substance. Screens are one of those. Screen addiction is a problem that has risen more and more after the online world has been accessed everywhere, from desktop computers to smartphones. One of my problems during high school was about screen addiction.


image.png

We are talking about the late 90s, switching to the 2000 era. Computers started to become popular with the internet, that time was dial-up. The first time that I entered the virtual world was a new world that I couldn't imagine. I started to spend nights chatting with people online and playing the first online RPGs available. I started to go to sleep very late and my school used to start at 7:30 AM. I was so addicted that I was being online hidden from my parents. The result was that my school grades dropped a lot since I was sleeping at school during classes.

I learned about the consequences and saw that to be healthy I had to stop, especially when I see the time moving very fast. That is the key point, establish a time that you will stop and you will stop even if you need a bit more to achieve the big boss in a game. Another tip is to stay busy with life. Focusing on real life is important, now that I have a family and two kids, I don't have time for this type of thing anymore. When I have free time, I am already tired and ready to sleep. But I know that I tend to get addicted to screens.

Once in a while, my wife travels with the kids to visit family, I stay alone and I see video games as a way to entertain myself. But at least now I know my potential to be addicted. I see that I spend more than a couple of hours playing, I decide to stop because I need to maintain my routine of sleeping and feeding while not working.


image.png

Kids nowadays are exposed early to screens in connection to the internet. Kids under 10 years use smartphones and tablets to many different types of content, which creates addiction early in their lives. Different from me who started the addiction while a being a teenager. It is more difficult to control when kids grow up with this problem because it is difficult for them to distinguish that it is a problem that is occupying their lives too much when they need to be doing something else, like interacting with friends and family in real life. I think all of us can be exposed to the screens but knowing that like any other hobby, it needs to have a small amount of time dedicated to allow the real things in life to be explored.


Banner created in canva

image.png

Qualquer tipo de vício é prejudicial. Geralmente, quando as pessoas pensam em vício, associam-no ao vício químico, como açúcar, álcool e drogas em geral. Mas outros tipos de vícios trazem algum tipo de prazer ao cérebro sem ingerir nenhum tipo de substância. As telas são um desses. O vício em telas é um problema que tem aumentado cada vez mais depois que o mundo online passou a ser acessado em todos os lugares, de computadores de mesa a smartphones. Um dos meus problemas durante o ensino médio foi o vício em telas.


image.png

Estamos falando do final dos anos 90, passando para a era de 2000. Os computadores começaram a se popularizar com a internet, naquela época era discada. A primeira vez que entrei no mundo virtual foi um mundo novo que eu não conseguia imaginar. Comecei a passar noites conversando com pessoas online e jogando os primeiros RPGs online disponíveis. Comecei a dormir muito tarde e minha escola costumava começar às 7h30 da manhã. Eu estava tão viciado que ficava online escondido dos meus pais. O resultado foi que minhas notas escolares caíram muito, já que eu estava dormindo na escola durante as aulas.

Aprendi sobre as consequências e vi que, para ser saudável, tinha que parar, especialmente quando via o tempo passando muito rápido. Esse é o ponto chave, estabelecer um horário para parar e parar mesmo que você precise de um pouco mais para derrotar o chefe final de um jogo. Outra dica é ocupar-se com a vida. Focar na vida real é importante, agora que tenho uma família e dois filhos, não tenho mais tempo para esse tipo de coisa. Quando tenho tempo livre, já estou cansado e pronto para dormir. Mas sei que tenho tendência a ficar viciado em telas.

De vez em quando, minha esposa viaja com as crianças para visitar a família, eu fico sozinho e vejo os videogames como uma forma de me entreter. Mas pelo menos agora sei do meu potencial para ficar viciado. Vejo que passo mais do que algumas horas jogando, decido parar porque preciso manter minha rotina de dormir e comer quando não estou trabalhando.


image.png

As crianças hoje em dia são expostas precocemente às telas em conexão com a internet. Crianças com menos de 10 anos usam smartphones e tablets para diversos tipos de conteúdo, o que cria vícios cedo em suas vidas. Diferente de mim, que comecei o vício enquanto ainda era adolescente. É mais difícil controlar quando as crianças crescem com esse problema porque é difícil para elas distinguirem que é um problema que está ocupando muito de suas vidas quando precisam estar fazendo outra coisa, como interagir com amigos e família na vida real. Acredito que todos nós podemos ser expostos às telas, mas sabendo que, como qualquer outro hobby, precisa ter uma pequena quantidade de tempo dedicada para permitir que as coisas reais da vida sejam exploradas.


Banner criado no Canva

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

the problem is, you can't stop people for being 24hr in front of their phone

You received an upvote of 42% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

 2 months ago  

People are used to spending time on their Steen nice one, Weldon, thanks for sharing

 2 months ago  

No doubt, the early exposure to screens also contributes to the amount we've been spending.
Unlike others, I accept the fact that I'm addicted but rather than just admitting, I'm looking for ways to reduce the addiction


Your post was manually curated by @Shiftrox.
banner_hiver_br_01.png

Delegate your HP to the hive-br.voter account and earn Hive daily!

🔹 Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting! 🔹

 2 months ago  

As crianças hoje em dia são expostas precocemente às telas em conexão com a internet. Crianças com menos de 10 anos usam smartphones e tablets para diversos tipos de conteúdo

Isso é uma triste realidade, no meu caso meus 2 filhos já são viciados em televisão e celular, apesar de que sempre incentivo eles a brincarem com seus amigos de verdade, sem celular e sem nada, mas é complicado, as telas são viciantes e equilibrar elas não é algo fácil.

!LOLZ !DHEDGE !BBH

@gwajnberg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @shiftrox. (2/20)

What does a thesaurus have for breakfast?
A synonym roll.

Credit: reddit
@gwajnberg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of shiftrox

(2/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

Obrigado por promover a comunidade Hive-BR em suas postagens.

Vamos seguir fortalecendo a Hive

Metade das recompensas dessa resposta serão destinadas ao autor do post.

Vote no @perfilbrasil para Testemunha Hive.

Congratulations @gwajnberg! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2024

I've had it before, but I can quit anytime... Says the screen addict! I think we all are to an extent.