Eating at Zen X Belly!

in Foodies Bee Hive7 months ago (edited)

From my previous post, I managed to share a glimpse of how the outside of this eatery looks like. Today I would like to elaborate on its food.

Zen X Belly

Zen X Belly is actually a cross collaboration between Zen & Co and Belly and the Chef Dining who are two different cafe chains with their own respective outlets in a few places. Zen & Co leans more towards Japanese cuisine while Belly and the Chef Dining leans towards western food. Now there is a fusion of both cuisines and space in the same eatery!

I forgot to take the photo of another entrance door through Belly and Chef which has BC as its logo to represent itself.

Ambience and Seating

The seating area is divided into the more "Muji" light wooden colour for Zen & Co side and black tables and chairs for BC side. It was packed with customers and thank goodness Michelle reserved a table for us beforehand.

Food

We ordered some very interesting food that day. We ended up with 4 mains because if we come with a birthday person within the birthday month, we can have a main from their Chicken western menu for free.

Hence we ordered a Teriyaki Chicken Chop. Wow it was deliciously done. The fries, salad and chicken were just good! I could not stop myself with the chicken.

Next, I have to introduce this Salmon Volcano Rice that was highlighted in their menu with a semi-cookes egg topping. Because Josephine and I are both pregnant, we did not order a dessert to watch our sugar levels. So this was cut up into pieces as if it was a cake. The salmon were fully cooked and flavoured. I am abstaining from carbs but this made me take 2 cuts of it. It was THE BOMB!

After that, we tried Waffles with Black Chicken. We seldom see fried chicken in black so we decided to try this. The chicken was a little salty but it was okay to be eaten with the waffles. It comes with a sweet dip of maybe honey or maple syrup so this dish is sweet and savory, my kind of favourite combination. It was also topped with a fried egg and some sprouts as garnish.

Next up was the mushroom pasta! Oh boy, this was very very delectable! I have been wanting to eat a mushroom pasta and had a little craving for it and this totally satisfied me with its different mushroom texture. Some were fried while some were sauteed to be in the sauce. If you are a mushroom person, you got to try this!

Last but not least, we ordered also a Ribbon pasta in tomato based sauce to cut through the creaminess of the previous pasta. This was very refreshing and Josephine loved it very much as it also like satisfied one of her cravings. Hahaah we and our pregnancy cravings sometimes.

Then the ladies ordered cappucino while I ordered a pot of rose tea.

Cheers!

There is something on the menu I was eyeing on but refraining from - Sushi! Okay I shall wait.

This whole place was very comfortable so we spent 3.5 hours there chit chatting and catching up. Sometimes we talked about old times too.

These outdoor tables come with camping chairs. It can be quite a good experience too but we were thinking since it is outdoor it may be a bit warm. However there were large fans outside too.

Glad to have good friends to do life together with! Though we do not always meet up for meals just by ourselves, we treasure moments like this. Jappy belated birthday to me and Jo!