Ulog #21: Our Trip for the Brother's Graduation

in #ulog5 years ago

So we drove up from Kuala Lumpur for about 4.5 hours to reach Sg. Petani, a small developing town of the state of Kedah, up north the Peninsular Malaysia. It is my 2nd trip up north consecutively for 2 weekends. I am amazed how I have made it so far too.

image

Seeing the family is so worth the long traveling journey. @littledrummerboy rarely gets to see my parents though he does sees my siblings once in a while and he is "friends" with them especially with my youngest sister.

My mom wasn't too well and had been coughing quite badly so she was wearing mask and stayed away from @littledrummerboy a bit to avoid spreading to him. He took quite a day to warm up to my parents because he really sees them occasionally. He was able to play and read books with them only at the first night right before bedtime.

image

This hotel we stayed is called the Big Banana Hotel. @littledrummerboy called it the Banana shop, haha. It is super affordable, RM 84 per night and it is situated at a new township area with cinema behind and also food shops everywhere. Hence, that was rather convenient. It has water dispenser and a common pantry area and also an ironing area. Pretty good, if you ask me for this price.

image

image

We went really slow for two days because the little boy missed his nap on our way there, yes he didn't nap at all along the 4.5 hours. I managed to meet my granduncle, my late grandma's younger brother who is 85 years old this year. They were anticipating my parents with 2 tables of relatives for this meet-up. I wanted very much to go but I decided not to, so I don't tire myself up before the long trip and @littledrummerboy was also rest-deprived in the beginning.

image

At night, the dinner was specially planned to celebrate my dad's 62nd birthday. It was just a great time because we could finally take a complete family photo together. I could tell my dad was very happy and pleased. I was blessing him to grow old with grace and joy too.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Then, we met at night for my brother's studio photoshoot at 10PM. Yeah it was at that odd hour because my second sister who resides in Singapore with her husband just arrived on that day and they have just got back from their trip from Europe and Dubai. The photography session was fun because the photographers were fun and very relaxing. We ourselves took some photos while waiting for my brother and his girlfriend to get ready with their graduation robes. They were having a super long day because of the Hippocratic oath ceremony and rehearsal for the convocation. They came back right before the birthday dinner. @littledrummerboy had so much fun with my brother-in-law who played ball with him the whole time, entertaining him. So, there is a new-found friend! Most of us were holding the roles of flower bearers for the graduates, as you can see.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Finally, it was the day we purposed ourselves here for - The Graduation! It was my first time paying a visit to this university called Aimst University which is a medical university. My youngest sister is studying there as a pharmacy student while my brother has graduated from dentistry after 6 years. I am so proud of him for enduring this long journey and able to make through it. There were sooooo many people but thank goodness for my youngest sister who knows the way around the campus to lead and guide us while the brother enjoyed his last time with his coursemates and friends too.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

After that, I had to part with my family and our time together seemed to be so short. My parents were going to fly back to Kuching and start work on Monday while we headed off to Penang Island.

Nevertheless, I am thankful for a great time with them though short! Now that I am pregnant, it is harder for me to fly back so I am happy to be able to attend my brother's convocation to see them this round.

I will be writing and posting more about my Penang trip. That will be featured in next ulog, stay tuned!!! I haven't been writing much because I want to enjoy time with the family as much as I can though I have been taking photos to document the moments.









created by @zord189






Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! @happycrazycon
This post has been selected for 7 Tag Curation Project| Monday (#ulog)

The goal of this curation project is to support those who make good and useful contents. We hope it will help people and encourage those content creator who,want to spread knowledge and share his idea.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

What a nice family meeting! Your uncles don't look like 85 years old! :) What's their secret for such a long life? :)

That's so great that you got to visit with your family!! Most of my family is a far drive for me as well. I miss them. I really wanted to go visit them for the upcoming thanksgiving holiday, but my truck has some problems I need to fix and I don't want to risk breaking down on the drive across the desert. Hopefully I'll get to see them soon. Congratulations to your brother for graduating!! Dentistry is a really good profession.

Hi @happycrazycon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.600 which ranks you at #5701 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 11 places in the last three days (old rank 5690).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 276 contributions, your post is ranked at #131.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

We are lucky enough that my son does get to see his grandparents regularly. It must be tough to not have them nearby.

It sounds like you had quite the journey! I really enjoyed seeing the pictures of the murals on the wall. Is there a story behind them?

You have such a lovely family! You and your sisters are so pretty and your child is simply adorable! This sounds like quite a wonderful trip to see family again, and I wish your father many more happy birthdays. I am older than he is, so you should entice him to come to Steemit, too, as I am sure there are stories he could tell us! Thanks for sharing this adventure and reunion with us!