When life gives you lemons...and oranges...and grapefruits

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

20181215_233606_0000.png

Hey there lovelies! I’m balancing my desire to share stories about my first year off grid, homesteading in Northern Canada...and sharing all the exciting things we are up to now. To ease back in, I’m going to share what I know how to best, which is all the homesteading fun we are up to on a daily basis.

In the coming weeks I will also weave in our #HomesteadJournal with the experiences and lessons we have to share.

Today was a beautiful smelling day.

Now...I have pigs, sheep, cattle, chickens, geese, ducks, dogs and cats...so often it just...doesn’t. But today we were blessed to receive 8 cases of citrus fruit and we took the afternoon to process it all.

We are blessed to be taking part in a program that redirects food from groceries that is no longer fit to sell but is perfectly edible. Slightly bruised bananas, dairy that’s about to expire, day old breads, meats...stuff like that. This program is intended to get feed for farm animals to small farms for free.

20181214_151124.jpg

The thing about citrus is that few farm animals enjoy it. It’s not bad for any of them...they just don’t choose to eat it. With close to 30 lbs of mandarins, lemons and grapefruit to use up, my girls and I set to work to process the citrus and not leave a single part unused.

Here’s how we did just that...

First off...I’ve ALWAYS wanted to can mandarins. We try to eat very seasonally and locally. For us that means, if we don’t grow it, we don’t eat it. Or at least...rarely. To receive this many oranges is a blessing as we love them!

Today I gathered up my canning supplies and my little helpers peeled and segmented the oranges.

20181215_104312.jpg

Such happy little helpers...

I made a simple syrup with water and sugar (I did a very light syrup as the oranges are already sweet and acidic). We washed up the jars and my youngest packed the segments into the jars.

20181215_153227.jpg

20181215_153512.jpg

We covered them with boiling syrup, leaving 1/2 inch head space and processed them in a hot water bath for 15 minutes (for pints).

Next, we washed the peels (to get some of that wax off) and ripped them up into little bits. We dehydrated these in the oven for using in teas and powdering in the vita mix for a flavouring for cookies, cakes, and scones.

20181215_141039.jpg

You might be able to tell...this isn’t a wood burning cook stove (my only cooking option now that we are in the tiny hemp house)...and you caught me...I’m taking care of the neighbour’s acreage while they are in Mexico and we are processing the citrus in their kitchen as it’s much more suited to this much food at once.

Some of the orange peels (and the bits around the end) are being packed into large jars along with lemon and grapefruit skins, then covered with vinegar to make a spray for cleaning the bathroom, and disinfecting surfaces (it makes a decent glass cleaner too).

20181215_141805.jpg

The grapefruit were juiced and the juice was combined with sugar and boiled to make a citrus concentrate that I am canning. I can pull this out, add water, and we will have a lemonade like drink later in the winter.

Again...the peels are added to the cleaning solution jars.

20181215_164600.jpg

The lemons were washed of the wax in warm water with some soap.

20181215_142009.jpg

They were then zested, cut and juiced.

20181215_143854.jpg

20181215_143955.jpg

20181215_152614.jpg

20181215_160312.jpg

20181215_163526.jpg

The zest was dried in the oven just like the peels.

The rest of the skins were packed into the vinegar jars.

20181215_164628.jpg

The lemon juice was canned, for 10 minutes in a hot water bath, as lemon juice concentrate.

In the end, we have 24 jars of mandarins, 3 bottles of lemon juice concentrate, 2 jar of grapefruit/lemonade concentrate for juice, a jar of lemon zest, and many jars of dried orange peel (still in the oven drying).

20181215_201956.jpg

20181215_201938.jpg

20181215_202009.jpg

20181215_202016.jpg

When we are given such a blessing, we want to make sure we do it justice and I think by preserving and using every last bit, we have done just that.

When life gives you citrus...can it!

Until next time, from my home fire to yours, hai hai.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Hello @pennsif! Why, thank-you! I'm excited to be back and interacting :)

Very cool! sounds like y'all had a busy, productive Saturday! That s a whole bunch of citrus, what a blessing :)

Hello! It was a busy day indeed! It truly is a blessing. Having oranges for the summer will be so lovely!

Oh my gosh, you are back!!! So glad to see you here, and excited to hear about your adventures. I love this, and also enjoy finding a use for all those peels! There really are so many things to do with them. Thanks for sharing these ideas! And seriously.. so glad you are back ❤️

YAY!!! I am sooooo happy to be back. I've missed My People here so very much.

I'm excited to tell about all of it...the challenge is what to share first...like the time the house tipped over...the time I had to chase a Jersey bull through the forest with a gun...spraining my ankle during the big move...living without refrigeration...MY OH MY...the stories will be fun :)

I can't wait to connect more in the coming weeks!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Yummy citrus!! No kidding the house must have smelled wonderous!!! Good for youuuuuu homestead family ❤ thise jars of juice and canned mandarins will be such a treattttt! Did you take all the skin off the mandarin segments (like the commercial canned ones) or can you process them with that skin on?