The Calm And The Storm | A collab with @barbarabezina!

in OnChainArt4 years ago

The Calm And The Storm.jpg


The Calm And The Storm
squirterer and Bárbara Bezina
Digital Art
2020




As promised, @barbarabezina and I made a work together. This all started when she invited me to do a collab with her sometime in early August. Of course, I said YES as I have been a fan of her art since the first time I've seen her here on Hive (former Steem), that was probably back in 2018.

The first time I've seen her, I immediately fell in love with her photographs and photomanipulations cos I see myself in her works, you know? I have been a very big fan of photographs like hers, especially back in deviantArt days where I obsess over Cristina Otero and Valentina Kallias' works. Hahaha! She reminded me of my teenage years where I take fine art photographs a LOT.

So yeah, you could imagine the excitement when I was gonna collab with her!


A bit about the process

Like any other collabs, one sends something to the other and the other does something to it until both are satisfied with the results. We didn't have any concept beforehand, we just send what we would like to work on and think about the concept later.

My usual process is opposite to that. I think of the concept first and I only do spontaneous works sometimes... so this took me quite some time to think of what to send to her cos I want it to be the best. LOL.

After a long month of waiting (cos I got super busy as well), she sent me her photograph (in Portrait orientation) and that's where I got my idea! I took a pic of myself and covered my eyes so it feels "balanced" as she was covering her mouth in the photograph. Edited it to blend it to her photograph and combined the two. I then painted over it and then she did the same.

After we were satisfied with the look, here comes deciding the title. I don't know, for some reason, I felt "The Calm And The Storm" was perfect to it. Probably cos she looked very calm and I purposely moved myself around to have that moving effect haha. She felt it was a great title as well and the rest was history. <3




We minted it on KnownOrigin and we received an offer of 2 ETH ($704.10 at the moment)! We will end the auction 24 hours after the bid has placed (so no stress for both the collectors and artists).

I didn't expect the amount of the love and attention it got though so I'm also really glad about that although I already am really happy with the work itself! But yeah, those love from others made me even more happy!


I'm really so glad about the result and the overall work with @barbarabezina. She's an amazing artist and I'm so thankful for this moment. <3

YOU ALL SHOULD FOLLOW HER!

<3

Sort:  

❤️

 4 years ago  

I love this

You are so funny when you "push" people to follow me Haha
It has been so nice make this beautiful work with you 💗

 4 years ago  

Hahaha! That's what I am! 🤣 This was a great experience as well 😍

Intriguing work and interesting to read about the process of your collaboration.

And good for you to receive biddings, too. I'd say: why not do it again ?!?

 4 years ago  

Thank you! Yes we will soon :D

It's nice when artists collaborate!

Found you from Ras. Your work is fantastic. 😀