How strong are the RC costs changing?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I'm working currently on an exact calculation of RC costs for the beem library. I will write an Utopian post about the new features when Utopian has recovered.

The script is creating a signed operation and calculates the exact RC costs that would have been charged when broadcasting the operation. As the calculation is accurate, we can see the smallest changes.

I calculated the RC costs 600x for

  • my last post
  • a transfer: {"from": "holger80", "to": "beembot", "amount": Amount("0.001 STEEM"), "memo": "Test"}
  • a vote: {"voter": "timcliff", "author": "holger80", "permlink": "rc-costs-do-not-depend-on-compute-time", "weight": 10000}

First results

RC costs for a post

rc_comment.png

RC costs for a transfer

rc_transfer.png

RC costs for a vote

rc_vote.png

Conclusion

All RC costs are going down right now. But the RC costs for a post/comment are almost constant.

I will continue to work on the new rc module for beem.

Sort:  

Things seem to be stabilizing quickly, I’m curious how our voting power will be effecting aftwards

Voting power (now called mana) is already stabilized. An unfortunate side effect of the hard fork was users voting mana being reset at 0. Other bugs kept many from voting the day after the fork, during which time their voting mana replenished at the normal rate, to somewhere around 20%.
Many interfaces were still showing the old pre fork VP %, and upon the first vote by a user, updated to the actual 20% amount... but it did not drain voting mana at a greater rate than normal.
If you’ve ever left Steemit open a while before voting on a post, you may have observed that post jump a large dollar amount not attributable to your vote. While for a moment it seems like you gained super powers, the truth is that click interaction just refreshed the counter and you saw all the activity that had occurred since last refresh. In the same way, people simply didn’t see the decline HF20 brought to their voting mana until they placed their first vote post HF. Otherwise, voting has been working completely normally. Some folks are waiting 5 days to vote, I’ve simply cut my normal vote percentages in half and will recharge more slowly, but not have to abstain from interaction.

Wow thanks for the detailed explanation! :)

Very interesting data, thanks! Was trying to check how to extract such numbers myself - the answer is beeming at me.

That's some good news!
I'm really confused as to what is going on.

I am also confused what changes made after hf20

I’m wondering if the RC prices are just going down because everybody is just waiting for their shit to recharge...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hm that's pretty interesting. Normally, in crypto land we're sad when charts are going down, but in this case: looking good.

But anyway - great job, holger! Keep us posted!

I feel like there should be a different cost for authoring content and curating (commenting). I would accept higher authoring costs to let smaller accounts engage in more commenting,
Not letting small accounts comment, I will feel will have a negative impact on onboarding new people to the platform,

I agree with you about comments and newbs, but feel I should point out that commenting is authoring. Curating is voting, not commenting. I just hope that new folks and small accounts are able to satisfactorily engage with the community. If they're not, they won't wait around for their mana to recharge.

On a purely technical level they’re the same thing though. A “post” is simply a top level comment. The RC system is theoretically designed to measure resource usage more accurately, so it won’t make a non technical distinction like that.
Try not to worry much yet. I have faith. @holger80 has started doing some tracking showing costs of actions are falling. It’s a dynamic system that needs input & time to calibrate, hence the warning pinned to the top of Steemit and the posts talking about equilibrium needing to be reached. I’m interacting as much as possible and hope others do the same, as I think it will actually help the RC system stabilize & normalize costs sooner.

I thought one reason for changing the system was to prevent spamming - so making comments cheaper would be counterproductive for that.

One thing I can not find anywhere - what is the recharge rate for RCs? 24h to 100%?

5 days to 100%

Thanks!

Mine seem to be replenishing pretty much in line with my voting power(mana); so perhaps it’s 20% per day as well.

I'm fairly certain this is correct. I think I read it somewhere, and my experience has been the same.

When you have time I would appreciate new data post 10x on this thanks for the share.
I noticed the recharge rate is great right now though so it seems to be a lot better than before can you run a simulation for a 6 SP legacy account that was delegated and a new user with a token burn and how effectively they can interact :)

What happend at the ~900sec, ~1800sec and/or ~2650sec moments?

Your post help me about Rc costs

You do an incredible job, kudos!.

Very useful. Thank you.

Thanks for the charts! Looking good :)

Very interesting to see! I’ve been refreshing Steemd and keeping an eye on the estimates there but they don’t update frequently. It was disappointing when all the estimated costs climbed overnight.
Does the system need more data (current activity) to calculate? If so that would leave the most expensive element, comments, as the last to normalize as it’s the activity people can participate in the least number. Thanks for the info, resource, & glimmer of hope!

This is a really good information to know, it is proof that RC adjust with real data and normal usage.

Good news!

Posted using Partiko Android

and for someone that has no idea what are you talking about, what is expected numbers of comments, posts and upvotes for a new account with 15SP?

Haha it's like 2 comments every 5 days. Something's gotta give.

i found out that we are waiting for equilibrium and than all will be fine. hope that is not just a guess and that has some calculations in it or we can say hello and goodbye to new users.

Yes, the newcomers can say hello in the first comment and good buy in the second comment...😀

made my day xD

Lol. . Not sure if I should laugh or cry

Thanks for some data on issues that have been somewhat opaque for me. I hope to get a handle on how Mana recharge rates are working soon enough to not shoot myself in the foot, stab myself in the back, or fall down on my face too often.

great feedback, I've been noticing commenting staying fixed myself as well in my testing. Very good timing on this as well :)

Why did they choose such huge numbers for RC ?

RC are basicall VESTS satochis, 1 VESTS -> 1 million RC

I have vague idea of how VESTS work but why not a 1 to ten ratio for VESTS/RC, for example?

cutting the last 9 digits seems usefull. I will use G RC for now.

Usefull post, thanks for your great informations!

When I did the calculations yesterday, okay not so detailed as yours, I was surprised of some of the costs at the moment of writing my article.
Was also surprised (and maybe not) that commenting and posting did have the same cost. Around 25,000,000,000 Mana. You can see the complete list in my post. Will not put the link here, but you can find it easily on my blog.
Cheers,
Peter

commenting has a slightly higher RC costs than a post in fact, as the authorpermlink is taken into account.
As the authorpermlink is zero for a post, a comment with the same lenght would have a slightly higher RC cost.

Nice work here, this is interesting to see. I hope you keep updating this.

Hey, @holger80:

Interesting that this would show that the posts/comments are more constant while the cost per vote is not. Mine is far from scientific, but the numbers I've pulled suggest exactly the opposite, and that it depends on where the comment is as to how much it actually costs in RCs.

Certainly not doubting your data. Just trying to reconcile it with what i think I'm seeing, which is more stabilization with vote costs and wild fluctuations in comment cost depending on comment level.

Congratulations @holger80!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 2 with $ 71,75

If it's costing "mana" to vote, then why would we vote on others posts ? It's weird.

Because of the curation reward.
Mana is regenerating, so giving out a vote does not costs in terms of STEEM or SBD.

Appreciate the communication. Have been haunting Discord channels for information during Hardfork 'blackout'. Your updates are most welcome. I don't know anything about coding, so translation into real language helps. I have voted for you as witness and am looking for others who seem to know what they are doing and are also helpful. I will upvote this post probably tomorrow because am still waiting for VP to strengthen.