#BloggingChallenge Part 1 // Day 10 // Ten Favorite Foods


Photo By: Jimmy Dean

This is going to be a weird one. I’m a picky eater, so I have some strange favorite foods.
Stripe 2.png

  1. Pasta & Peas. My favorite food of all is a dish I call pasta and peas. I don’t like tomato sauce, so as a kid my mom would set aside some meat for me when she made spaghetti. I would add the meat to the noodles and some butter, and then dig in. As I got older I started adding sweet green peas to the mix. Today the dish consists of ground beef that’s been cooked with onions and minced garlic, angel hair pasta with olive oil, and peas that have been boiled with a cracked egg salt and pepper in them. You mix them all together, add some Tony Chachere's, and you've got my all-time favorite meal.

  2. Bread Sticks. Specifically the ones from Papa John’s Pizza. Again I don’t like tomato sauce, so pizza is off the table for me. I also don’t like cheese, which adds to the problem. That means whenever we got pizza growing up I ate breadsticks. Papa John’s are my favorite, but most places do a good job with them.

  3. Bacon Burger. There is a local burger place in my town that makes the best bacon burger. It’s got a medium-well beef patty, thick-sliced bacon, and a sourdough bun. No other place even comes close.

  4. Ham & Bacon Sandwich. Another local food item. There is a Mennonite community outside of town, and they have a small shop where you can buy their goods. They also have a sandwich counter where you can order sandwiches made with all their homemade/raised ingredients. It’s the best.

  5. Blackened Chicken. I lived in Louisiana for several years, and one of the main things I took away from there is a love for Cajun foods. There is little better than a chicken breast covered in onion powder, garlic powder, and Tony Chachere's and then blackened. I eat mine over a bed of bowtie pasta.

  6. Jambalaya. Another Cajun dish. This one consists of Cajun seasoned rice and various meats. I like to put andouille sausage, ground beef, and shrimp in mine.

  7. Seafood Gumbo. This Cajun dish is like jambalaya, but it’s a soup instead of a rice dish. My favorite has various seafood like shrimp, scallops, crawfish, and crab in it. It is served over white rice.

  8. Candy. All of it. I have a huge sweet tooth. If there is candy in the house I will eat it, and most likely all on the same day. I try not to keep it around since I’m currently trying to lose weight, but you have to reward yourself every once in a while right?

  9. Barbecue Ribs. This one is on my list of foods I really want to learn how to cook. I love ribs, but they are pretty expensive. It’s tough to justify buying them when there is a chance that I’ll mess them up trying to learn to cook them.

  10. Barbecue Baked Potato. Specifically the ones from our town's local barbecue place. The potatoes are huge, covered with butter, pulled pork, bacon bits, and homemade sauce. This is a go-to for me and my wife.
    Stripe.png

Those are my ten favorite foods. I hope you enjoyed reading about them, and I hope you will give some of them a try.

Blogging Challenge Logo.png
30 Day Challenge Part 1.jpg

Sort:  

Your current Rank (78) in the battle Arena of Holybread has granted you an Upvote of 10%