Movie Review: Shooter [Warning: Spoilers]

in #realityhubs5 years ago

220px-Shooter2007Poster.jpg
Source

My Ratings:- 8.5/10

Shooter is a 2007 American action movie, directed by Antoine Fuqua based on the 1993 novel Point Of Impact written by Stephen Hunter. The movie stars Mark Wahlberg, Danny glover, Michael Pena, Levon Helm among others.
IMG_20190828_115348_529.JPG
Source

Plot Review.

Bob lee swagger (Mark Wahlberg) a former military man, leaves a self imposed exile to help colonel Isaac (Danny Glover) track down an assassin who's trying to kill the president, Isaac gives him the list of states the president is planning on visiting soon. Bob then goes to those various cities to check out where the president would be giving his speech and the best position which the sniper assassin would be able to use in assassinating the president. Little did he know that he was the assassin due to a set up. The president wasn't assassinated as planned but the Ethiopian archbishop was, bob wasn't supposed to make it out alive but he did due to the plans to kill him also failing. After making it out with injuries he now has a long way to go because he's a wanted man for the murder of the archbishop, he now has to find a way to redeem his self and prove his innocence.
Shooter is a movie with twists and turns with conspiracies and mysteries that are very convincing, the movie puts you in the shoes of bob lee swagger and gives an impressive view of the mindset of what it takes to be someone of the character of bob. I thought the movie could have done better without some characters like Elias Kotea's and Kate Mara who had little to do through out the movie.
IMG_20190828_115512_734.JPG
Source

Cast Review

Mark Wahlberg plays the role of Bob Lee Swagger who did a wonderful job of portraying a veteran who is detached and has no respect for the government whatsoever, he brings the character to you brilliantly. I remember when people used to call mark the next Bruce Willis, to me he was better, and he showed it in this movie. Mark did a really wonderful job in this movie.

Michael Pena plays the role of Nick Memphis, the funny FBI agent who was like the only person on scene where the assassination took place who believed in Bob's innocence a little bit, may be because he didn't kill him. Michael was pretty much the same Michael as he as always been in all of his movies that I have seen which is the funny guy, which he's really good at and he gave the movie the extra comic part it needed.

Danny glover played the role of Colonel Isaac, I remember this movie being the first Danny glover movie I will see in which he gets to play the bad role which he did beautifully well. I love the fact that he was so convincing in his role, I wasn't able to suspect anything fishy in his role as I believed every thing he was saying to bob lee in the movie.
Kate Mara's character as the widowed wife of bob's beat friend was annoying but she did good and the borderline psychotic agent of the government jack Payne which was played by Elias Kosteas which seemed a little bit over the top too, I felt the last two characters wasn't needed too though.
IMG_20190828_115613_650.JPG
Source

Final Analysis

Shooter is an entertaining filled with action film with a great beginning and development with great ending to the movie too. I mob the fact that the movie was so unpredictable because at the onset of the movie I was thinking what's this movie going to be about, seeing that the movie started with war kind of scene, so I was thinking is this going to be a war movie as I didn't read anything prior to me watching this movie.
The movie is blessed with so much mysteries and conspiracies which is one thing I love about movies.
IMG_20190828_115701_851.JPG
Source

The movie's sound track was excellent, I really enjoyed the music in this movie because for me it was well melded with the action on screen there were no negatives on this part.
Over all, shooter delivers an entertaining thrill ride that is not dumbed down. If you are looking for an intelligent action movie with lots of thrilling actions, mysteries and conspiracies sequences to boot, shooter is your movie and it will not disappointment.

Official Trailer:-

Sort:  

Hello @iamowomizz!

Glad to see another good contribution from you again. I can see you also included the "My Rating" suggestion as you were informed in your last contribution. Kudos!

However, this post has some proofreading issues and I'll advise you read through your posts before publishing to avoid such mistakes.

Also, there was an issue with paragraphs, although I can see it is much better than your last post. Going through your posts before publishing will enable this is also avoided.

Nice work from you. I am looking forward to your next contribution!

Thanks for contributing to the realityhubs community.

Yo can read our posting guidelines to improve your contents.

Do you have any questions? Chat with us on Discord.

[RealityHubs Moderator]

Hello @iamowomizz!

Glad to see another good contribution from you again. I can see you also included the "My Rating" suggestion as you were informed in your last contribution. Kudos!

However, this post has some proofreading issues and I'll advise you read through your posts before publishing to avoid such mistakes.

Also, there was an issue with paragraphs, although I can see it is much better than your last post. Going through your posts before publishing will enable this is also avoided.

Nice work from you. I am looking forward to your next contribution!

Thanks for contributing to the realityhubs community.

Yo can read our posting guidelines to improve your contents.

Do you have any questions? Chat with us on Discord.

[RealityHubs Moderator]