On Being a Cat Mom

in #freewrite5 years ago

Weekend Freewrite -9/28/2019 - Single Prompt Option

my cat Mowe.jpg

my cat Mowe

I've always considered myself a dog person, but since we live in an apartment building, we never considered owning a pet. Not uncommon in my neighborhood though are cats that have no owners. They roam around freely and are like tenants of the building.

November of last year was when I started on my declutter project. I had an old yamaha organ placed outside the apartment, waiting to be picked up. I was donating it to a church organization that runs a second hand bazaar. It took a while before said furniture was removed. Before then, we discovered four little kittens that were born there. Mommy cat was a neighborhood cat that my mom fed occasionally, esp. when she saw that it was pregnant. Imagine our surprise when we saw the four kittens. We named them Inni, Mini, Miny, and Mowe.

Inni, Mini, Miny, Mowe.jpg

four little kittens -- Inni, Mini, Miny, Mowe

To make the long story short, the kittens (now cats) chose us to be their adoptive parents. We've bought them collars and fed them regularly. They live outside our apartment, as they prefer to roam around freely.

Early last week, we noticed some change in one of the cats. Mowe is a gray and white cat and is the smallest of the four. Although we love them all, she is my personal favorite. I was a bit alarmed to notice she had loss of appetite and didn't seem to be in the best of health. I hated seeing her in such a helpless state. Good thing that there's a vet clinic nearby. We brought her in for a visit last Sunday.

It turned out she had fever, and the doctor gave her a shot. Some medicines were also prescribed. I really had a hard time giving her medication, getting some scratches here and there. It was all worth it, as Mowe seems to be in great health once again. She is, however, a bit wary of me at the moment. Nonetheless, I'm happy she is doing fine. Now I know what's it like to be a cat mom.

rsz_12me_avatar_created_from_bitmoji.png

I created this from Bitmoji app on my mobile

iSupportSteemTerminal.gif

I'm on Steem 'coz of:

My main affiliate program ===> ClickTrackProfit

Documenting my life's journey:

My main blog ===> Fresh Start

I started a series since October 2018...

'Coz I like Tumblr ===> I Am Raincrystal

Sort:  

God thing that Mowe it's fine rightn now. :)

yes, indeed. It's a good thing. I feel relieved. ^_^ Thanks for dropping by.