ARE YOU READY?

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

I resumed at the University as a freshman exactly on my birthday many years ago. My father called me to his room when I was about to leave, after many discussions, he asked me a question I can never forget; are you ready for this next phase of your life? I answered shabilly because I wanted him to pay me so I can leave. It was my second year I got to know the importance of that question, I wasn't ready because my results were poor as a reflection of unreadiness.

imageSource


Readiness means being prepared for what's ahead. An athlete like the picture above have to be ready before running. Exactly why the umpire screams On your mark, Get ready before screaming Go. This is applicable to real life, on-your-mark stage sets us to shake off the past, be determined and focused. The get-ready stage is when you prepare whether to win or lose, this holds the major decisive factors ahead of us before we face reality.

Major Factors Surrounding Being Ready

  • Focus: Focus allows us to place our eyes on the goal. On the track, an athlete faces forward which is the finish line. This is the time to let go of all distractions and worries and be fixed on where to go. This is also the time to forget about the past and be concerned only about the future, which is where we are going.

  • Determination: Determination is making up your mind to get what you are focused on. Focus works with determination to get what we need. A determined person is a focused person. I am determined to be the best means I have no option than to be the best.

  • Planning: Yes, planning is important to being ready. A good planner tends to calculate the stages ahead and how to beat through despite the challenges. To be ready, you need to plan ahead.

I see these 3 as the major factors surrounding being ready. They both work together to prepare us for the world ahead. If you have a new job, be ready. You just got admission, be ready. For the challenges ahead, be ready. Only you can motivate yourself to be better. Only you can plan your life, stay focused and be determined.

As the conclusion of my story, I drew a plan and changed my focus to leaving school with a better grade without an extra year. I planned on meeting people for help, tutorials and many more. I was so focused and determined to the extent of staying back in school during major holidays. I eventually finished well and was among the 5 best graduating students in my department.

Dear reader, kindly be ready so you can actually win and write a success story like mine. If I can do it, you can do it too. Thank you.

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

This is quite familiar to my story. I must say this is why most people fail, they refuse to plan and prepare for the tasks ahead. Thanks for this piece.

#bigwaves