Cat Facts

in #radiator7 years ago (edited)

Cat Facts is a fork for Freakazoid that uses Cat Facts API responses to STEEM as bot replies. Unlike Freakazoid, this bot works without having to register for an API key.




This bot will automatically reply to posts and comments that reply to and mention the bot. The replies are provided by the Cat Facts API.

The main reference implementation of Cat Facts is @catfacts. For example:




Install

To use this Radiator bot:

Linux
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install ruby-full git openssl libssl1.0.0 libssl-dev
$ sudo apt-get upgrade
$ gem install bundler
macOS
$ gem install bundler

I've tested it on various versions of ruby. The oldest one I got it to work was:

ruby 2.0.0p645 (2015-04-13 revision 50299) [x86_64-darwin14.4.0]

You can try the system version of ruby, but if you have issues with that, use this how-to, and come back to this installation at Step 4:

Setup

First, clone this git and install the dependencies:

$ git clone https://github.com/steem-third-party/catfacts.git
$ cd catfacts
$ bundle install
Configure

Edit the config.yml file.

:freakazoid:
  :block_mode: irreversible
  :account_name: <your STEEM bot name>
  :posting_wif: <your STEEM bot posting key>

:chain_options:
  :chain: steem
  :url: https://steemd.steemit.com

Edit the support/reply.md template (optional).

Run Mode

Then run it:

$ rake run

Cat Facts will now do it's thing. Check here to see an updated version of this bot:

https://github.com/steem-third-party/catfacts


Upgrade

Typically, you can upgrade to the latest version by this command, from the original directory you cloned into:

$ git pull

Usually, this works fine as long as you haven't modified anything. If you get an error, try this:

$ git stash
$ git pull
$ git stash pop
$ bundle install

If you're still having problems, I suggest starting a new clone.


Troubleshooting

Problem: Everything looks ok, but every time Cat Facts tries to reply, I get this error:
Unable to reply with <account>.  Invalid version
Solution: You're trying to reply with an invalid key.

Make sure the .yml file contains the correct voting key and account name (social is just for testing).

Problem: The node I'm using is down.

Is there a list of nodes?

Solution: Yes, special thanks to @ripplerm.

https://ripplerm.github.io/steem-servers/


Tests

  • Clone the client repository into a directory of your choice:
    • git clone https://github.com/inertia186/catfacts.git
  • Navigate into the new folder
    • cd catfacts
  • Basic tests can be invoked as follows:
    • rake
  • To run tests with parallelization and local code coverage:
    • HELL_ENABLED=true rake

Get in touch!

If you're using Cat Facts, I'd love to hear from you. Drop me a line and tell me what you think! I'm @inertia on STEEM and Discord.

License

I don't believe in intellectual "property". If you do, consider Cat Facts as licensed under a Creative Commons CC0 License.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

when i saw picture I thought will find informations about cats lol.. anyway thanks for sharing

nice foto lol @catfacts

Cats do not think that they are little people. They think that we are big cats. This influences their behavior in many ways.

I Love this one

Kittens remain with their mother till the age of 9 weeks.

absolutely;)

Most cats had short hair until about 100 years ago, when it became fashionable to own cats and experiment with breeding.

All you have to do is mention @catfacts. ;)

In just 7 years, one un-spayed female cat and one un-neutered male cat and their offspring can result in 420,000 kittens.

çok ilgi çekici

Cats should not be fed tuna exclusively, as it lacks taurine, an essential nutrient required for good feline health. Make sure you have the proper Pet supplies to keep your cat happy and healthy.

hi sir help me

About 37% of American homes today have at least 1 cat.

Yes, taurine is a vital nutrient, and is found in many cat foods.

A cat’s brain is biologically more similar to a human brain than it is to a dog’s. Both humans and cats have identical regions in their brains that are responsible for emotions.

ahahah you are right.. thanks for upvoting my comment.

You don't even have to do that. Just tag a post with cats. If it upvoted posts, it'd be tolerable. But it's pretty obnoxious to spam every cat post on Steemit.

spam cats ahaha

I agree with you!

Aha, but even if using cat as tag/topic it will bring it over. :D

Oh Kittyfacts, I hope you have not gone away...I greatly enjoy @catfacts

I thought this post was going to be about cats!

More facts, @catfacts!!

Siamese kittens are born white because of the heat inside the mother's uterus before birth. This heat keeps the kittens' hair from darkening on the points.

@catfacts please!

According to a Gallup poll, most American pet owners obtain their cats by adopting strays.

HAHAHA AWESOME! They just educated me on one of my posts! So if I am in a bind at a cat convention or a zoo I will just @catfacts in a comment.

A cats field of vision is about 185 degrees.

THE MOST SHITTY BOT OUT THERE!

Spamming my comment section 20X times

Probably because the author edited their post 20 times. :D

lolz are you stupid or something=?

I posted my post and got 3 comments in 60sec..

After this, every comment made by other folks this shit bot came... Feel free to check my last Caturday blog... But I have a feeling you don't care, maybe you will next week when I get like 30, 40K of SP and will have some extra % to put that bitch on downvote watch ;)

Stay awesome:P

No need to become rude :)

"Probably because the author edited their post 20 times. :D"

YES I AM EDITING A POST WITH 2 PHOTOS, 20x times...

Btw I was making a joke, while stating the FACTS! I'm not butthurt...

But seeing it screwing things up not just on my posts, makes the thing a little more annoying... But otherwise, I could care less if the damn thing never works...


PS: Another joke.

Yeah, it seems like there might be a bug in my script. But you're so rude, I don't feel like troubleshooting the problem. Enjoy.

Rude? lolz Dude get yourself checked... Did you ever hear of humor?

Whatever, I will have a blast here if you do something about it or not... I'm just stating the FACTS. Maybe you shouldn't be so butthurt and make your BOT better for the sake of cats... Ciao

some people are always rude... I am not rude I nly want to ask if you would consider a witness vote for me. Your vote can change my life. Check my witness profile. I really hope you vote for me if you have a spare one left.. and I would be so thankfull

kesinlikle öyle

OIt won't take long for many to hate your API

YOUR PRODUCT IS A SPAM BOT OVERLOADING MY MESSAGES AND MESSING UP ALL POSSIBLE HUMAN FEEDS. lEAVE @whoib alone and stop using the key word cat for spamming

Very nice and good information!! Thank You @catfacts

In ancient Egypt, when a family cat died, all family members would shave their eyebrows as a sign of mourning.

Oh kitty facts, I hope you have not gone away. Tell me it is not so...

If you are in for cats fact,then you have to bring real fact about all cat species @catfact

My favorite cat animal

I like cats..& i love a low cats

The first true cats came into existence about 12 million years ago and were the Proailurus.

interesting @catfacts

People who are allergic to cats are actually allergic to cat saliva or to cat dander. If the resident cat is bathed regularly the allergic people tolerate it better.

thank you u p voter

amazinggggggggggg

Sudah kami upvote dan follow jika om berkenan di upvote balik y om

Wait really you are so cool and amazing work.

Cats, just like people, are subject to asthma. Dust, smoke, and other forms of air pullution in your cat's environment can be troublesome sources of irritation.

I like cats. They are generally all around very cool and awesome, @catfacts!

All cats love fish.

Unlike other cats, lions have a tuft of hair at the end of their tails.

grrrrrrr..... @catfacts being such a kitty-catty cat... not gonna chase after her though, I'll just wait 'til she comes to me! :D

Or, it might be a bug. :D Right @catfacts??

Cats have about 130,000 hairs per square inch (20,155 hairs per square centimeter).

Must be a node acting up, then.

silly kitty @catfacts! lol

guess she's still "playing" hard-to-get!

she is a she, right? I wouldn't want to be accused of misgendering her and causing irreparable harm to her poor psyche! :D lol

This is the most shitty bot out there... Spamming with info yeah, is it cool to post 3 comments in 3 minutes=? Plus leaving 15+ comments at total? I love cats, but if I ever get enough SP, this kitty is going into -rep state 4 sure!

Take care:))

People, just like cats, are subject to fits of irrational behavior and occasional tyrannical whims. Despite this, people make loving pets and most cats find them well worth the trouble to keep around.

There are more than 500 million domestic cats in the world, with approximately 40 recognized breeds.

A cat can jump 5 times as high as it is tall.

what about the speed when running? @catfacts

There is a species of cat smaller than the average housecat. It is native to Africa and it is the Black-footed cat (Felis nigripes). Its top weight is 5.5 pounds.

Can i get @catfacts if i dont understand the coding stuff?😿

Purring does not always indicate that a cat is happy and healthy - some cats will purr loudly when they are terrified or in pain.

Yes that's true. I had a cat who was bitten by a dog. I took her to the doctor and was giving her medicine. I couldn't understand why she was purring while she was in pain. Then I found out that purring can help her heal fast. It is Amazing

If they have ample water, cats can tolerate temperatures up to 133 °F.

Whay!?!? No way!!!

Cats have about 130,000 hairs per square inch (20,155 hairs per square centimeter).

You Are An Excellent Steemian. This post has received a 4.00 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @steemthat. SteemThatBotMoreIGrow .


Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow! And The Price Of Steem Will Appear! @steemprice steem

$1.051 USD/STEEM
Volume: 3.9886 BTC, 15089 STEEM / Average Price: 0.00026433
Last Updated Tue Sep 19 01:40:04 2017

Hello @catfacts!

Many cats love having their forehead gently stroked.

hahaha

Cats hate the water because their fur does not insulate well when it’s wet. The Turkish Van, however, is one cat that likes swimming. Bred in central Asia, its coat has a unique texture that makes it water resistant.

Nice post! Sorry to be off topic but i was wondering if you had a tutorial or ruby setup for a bot like @randowhale or @booster. Where it votes ever 2.4 hours. I think i have seen you post it before but i can't find it.

hahh, so many fun commands to try now!!

i love cats is my dream

In 1987, cats overtook dogs as the number one pet in America (about 50 million cats resided in 24 million homes in 1986). About 37% of American homes today have at least one cat. ^_^

steady,,, i love to be your friend ,, help me friend ..

are these bots you're creating intelligent, ie, are they capable of learning?

Plz follow me , m following to upvote eachother easily

I am always on the side. i already upvoted.. follow me: @akhterhossain

Cat fact API can't believe this

I taking into consideration cats. They are generally all as regards every single one cool and awesome @catfacts

Tabby cats are thought to get their name from Attab, a district in Baghdad, now the capital of Iraq.

When the subject is keds, the flowing water stands for me.

There is much information to learn

I have never mentioned your bot, nor have I tried to use it. It just likes to show up when I make posts using tags related to cats.

I would really prefer if it would stay off my posts. Is there a way to do that?

Hey, I let my cats rule the house. Everything belongs to them. People that try to keep them off tables and furniture and counters are just fooling themselves.

But this is a bot. That you, a human created. It's not a cat.

I'm sure there are plenty of people that actually enjoy your bot. But there are clearly people that don't.

Please respect the people that don't want your bot on their posts and don't troll them with it. I'm sure there's a way to do that.

The largest breed of cat is the Ragdoll with males weighing in at 1 5 to 20 lbs. The heaviest domestic cat on record was a neutered male tabby named Himmy from Queensland, Australia who weighed 46 lbs. 1 5 oz.

While many cats enjoy milk, it will give some cats diarrhea. I'll

Cats eat grass to aid their digestion and to help them get rid of any fur in their stomachs.

Choose me to be your Friend in this Steemit ..FRIEND,,mrazi.

All I have to do is mention cats ?!

Good morning. Have a nice day. Thank you

Took me 2 responses before I decided to investigate and realized I was talking to a bot! Haha. Got me real good. :)

Here's the comments:https://steemit.com/steemit/@dean101/musings-11-i-have-400-steemit-followers-really-celebrate-with-me-and-win-some-sbds#@catfacts/re-dean101-catfacts-re-dean101-catfacts-20171227t161654487z

Not every cat gets \high\" from catnip. Whether or not a cat responds to it depends upon a recessive gene: no gene"

Giving out free votes to the little guys, I hope you appreciate.

Giving out free votes to the little guys, I hope you appreciate.

That explains your weird comment on my post. It is actually a both. Your reply may not makes sense but it earns. Kudos to that.

Is there any way to resteem this?

Nice pic and good bot ! I follow you ;)

Touching, naughty, wise, playful and many other words that can be said about cats and cats. They come to our house and become family members. They say that the cat is absolutely independent and does not care about its owners. But this is perfect nonsense and a phenomenal lie. The cat knows perfectly well who lives with her in the house. And she certainly loves her owners. Of course, not as people do, but loves, misses, rejoices when you come into the house. She does it completely in her own way, but we understand this.

This is so cool!!! Nice post and nice work programming.

There are 2 pages
Pages