Hi, I'm Anthony

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

I'm a software developer in Northern California, originally from L.A. I mostly work with Ruby on Rails.

I heard about Steem pretty early, but I ignored it. At the time, I was interested in Bitshares, but they were in the middle of some kind of drama having to do with dilution. I dismissed Steem at the time because just I thought it sounded lame. So yeah, I was clearly wrong about that.

I used to blog, but I didn't feel like it was going anywhere. My focus was on the eminent economic collapse. You could say that my interest in economics was due to Ron Paul. I got into Liberty Dollar, then it fell apart. Then I got into Bitcoin. And now I'm here.

I have a lovely wife I don't deserve and three kids, two boys and a girl. If we were a TV family, this would be our opening credits:

Favorite Quotes:

"Give us clear vision that we may know where to stand and what to stand for, because unless we stand for something, we shall fall for anything." - Peter Marshall
"The economists are as confused as the general public, but they are confused in a far more sophisticated way. They turn confusion into a science." - Gary North
"We are living in a time in which the fundamental religion of our era has been faith in the redemptive power of the State. Whenever there is a crisis, citizens call upon the State to bail them out. They are convinced that the State has a separate existence which enables it to intervene into the affairs of men, thereby improving the life of almost everyone under its jurisdiction." - Gary North
"Reformed Theology has always been interested in continuity, but continuity must reflect the results of exegesis." - Willem VanGemeren
"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy." - Benjamin Franklin
"Rebellion to Tyrants is Obedience to God." - Benjamin Franklin
"Every constitution then, and every law, naturally expires at the end of 19 years. If it be enforced longer, it is an act of force, and not of right." - Thomas Jefferson
"Tyranny is defined as that which is legal for the government but illegal for the citizenry." - Thomas Jefferson
"I preach salvation all of grace, and damnation all of sin. I give God all the glory for every soul that is saved, but I won't have it that God is to blame for any man that is damned." - REV. C. H. Spurgeon
"In faith, unity; in doubtful matters, liberty; in all things, charity." - St. Augustine
"I freed thousands of slaves; I could have freed more if they knew they were slaves." - Harriet Tubman
"Hate begets hate; violence begets violence; toughness begets a greater toughness. We must meet the forces of hate with the power of love...Our aim must never be to defeat or humiliate the white man, but to win his friendship and understanding." - Martin Luther King, Jr.
"[N]oncooperation with evil is as much a moral obligation as is cooperation with good." - Martin Luther King, Jr.
"The Counter-Economy is the sum of all human action that is forbidden by the State, in whole or part." - Samuel Edward Konkin III
"The Lord gave us two ends - one to sit on and the other to think with. Success depends on which one we use most." - Ann Landers
"There is no state or corporate evil that is not the result of personal sinfulness." - Rev. Emmanuel Charles McCarthy
"Government is the great fiction, through which everybody endeavors to live at the expense of everybody else." - Frédéric Bastiat
"How can our children learn to abhor aggression when we teach them in a system built on it?" - Dr. Mary J. Ruwart
"The crowd was scattering away then, but Laura stood stock still. Suddenly she had a completely new thought. The Declaration and the song came together in her mind, and she thought: God is America's king. She thought: Americans won't obey any king on earth. Americans are free. That means they have to obey their own conscience. No king bosses Pa; he has to boss himself. Why (she thought), when I am a little older, Pa and Ma will stop telling me what to do, and there isn't anyone else who has a right to give me orders. I will have to make myself be good." - Little Town on The Prairie, by Laura Ingalls Wilder
"It is difficult to get a man to understand something, when his salary depends upon his not understanding it." - Upton Sinclair
"Some have brains ... and some haven't." - Winnie-the-Pooh
Sort:  

Welcome! I got to meet the creator of the Liberty Dollar at PorcFest this year. It was pretty amazing. ~~~ embed:746035902082842628?lang=en More people should know about Bernard von NotHaus. twitter metadata:bHVrZXN0b2tlc3x8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9sdWtlc3Rva2VzL3N0YXR1cy83NDYwMzU5MDIwODI4NDI2Mjh8 ~~~

BernardvonNotHaus.jpg

Yeah. I can certainly credit him for educating me about alternative currencies.

welcome to steemit! enjoy!

Hey Anthony, welcome to Steemit!

Hi Anthony,

Welcome to botland, where everyone who posts is a bot!