My First Migraine

in #health7 years ago

I'm 41, and last night I had my first migraine. Technically, it was an aura migraine, and I had no idea what it was at first.

Usually people use the term "migraine" to describe "really bad headache." But I had no headache. The only symptom was a visual distortion.

For the first 15 minutes, it was possible to ignore the distortion. In fact, I just thought it was the after effect of looking at something bright, known as an afterimage, even though I didn't look at anything bright.

Usually, at least for me, an afterimage affects one eye more than the other. But this distortion affected both eyes. Afterimage usually subsides in a few minutes, but this got worse.

So I decided to just go to bed.

While I was trying to go to sleep, it occurred to me that this might be a migraine. I knew that visual distortions can accompany migraines.

The next day, everything was fine. I googled "migraine visual distortion" and found out that it's called "aura migraine." And I found this (uh, see Fig. 8):

Sir_William Richard Gowers 1895

That is a pretty close to what I saw, except for the bearded guy. That zig-zag "arched spectrum" is the visual distortion, or aura migraine.

I guess it was a good thing I went to bed right away. Often, this scenario is a steady progression from bad to worse, but I got off easy.

Sort:  

First Migraine in 41 years wow. Thanks Trump.

Yeah, that's going to be a great meme.

hahahaha holy shit, that was good!

I get migraines all the time. They're no fun at all. If I try to ignore it, hoping it goes away, I usually end up with terrible nausea and praying to die because of the pain in my head. Hopefully this is a one-time thing for you 'cause I wouldn't wish it on anyone.

Shared on twitter

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 10 Nov 2016 - 17:56 UTC

My First Migraine — Steemit steemit.com/health/@inerti…
@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

My wife had her first about a week ago. Turns out her sister gets them as well. I had never heard of it until a week ago.

My complete list of migraines:

Migraine Log

  1. Wednesday, November, 9, 2016, evening
  2. Sunday April 9, 2017, 2:45 pm
    1. Strawberries
  3. Saturday April 29th, 2017, 2:50 pm

I thought there was going to be a pattern so I started to log anything I could think of. Turns out, only strawberries got on the list . And I haven't had one since. So, knock on wood?

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.46 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 10 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal