Should Steemit Be the Front Page of the Internet?

in #steemit7 years ago

Of course, the short answer is: yes

In the past, I would go to reddit.com just to see what's going on. But increasingly, I've opted to just go to steemit.com instead. But here's what I see on trending at the moment:

  1. contest
  2. chainbb
  3. steemit
  4. bitcoin
  5. beyondbitcoin
  6. cryptocurrency
  7. art
  8. steemmag
  9. news
  10. motocross

Compare that to reddit.com:

  1. r/fun
  2. r/worldnews
  3. r/BikiniBottomTwitter
  4. r/gaming
  5. r/funny
  6. r/news
  7. r/Whatcouldgowrong
  8. r/BetterEveryLoop
  9. r/evilbuildings
  10. r/pics

So which one looks more interesting to the mainstream? I don't know. It's a subjective analysis.

In the steemit example, 4/10 are STEEM-related. In the reddit example, 0/10 are reddit-related.

In the steemit I would estimate 4/10 would relate to general appeal. In the reddit example, I'd estimate it's closer to 8/10.

So, the question, "Should Steemit Be the Front Page of the Internet?" I still say yes it should, but we might have a long way to go.

Of course, this is just a random sample on a random day with my own subjective estimates. I'm not sure if this is a problem either. It'll be interesting to see how this looks in one week, after #HF19.

Sort:  

I think steemit will largely expand the features proposed, i know some great update should come Q3 and Q4 , so wait and see.

100% agree
Great @inertia steemit should be front page and top of the scale.

yeah I'm watching who all is doing the HF, interesting indeed, good post, dunno what to think, jenkies!

I would say NO. Not until it makes things that should be very simple, like uploading photos and chatting much, much easier. I took weeks to get my wife interested in being on Steemit and cryptocurrency, but after a couple days on steemit she's about ready to give up. She is usually very far ahead of me in her ability to use social media sights, but she is very frustrated by steemit already. If she is having trouble with it how will many people who aren't that social media savvy handle it? Whether you like it or not, at the moment facebook is the standard and steemit isn't even close yet and I like steemit and I'm saying this. If the people running steemit are intelligent enough to make coins and use crypto they should be able to improve the sight much faster.

If the people running steemit are intelligent enough to make coins and use crypto they should be able to improve the sight much faster

I totally agree on that without the intention to offend the steem devs. The focus seems to be on steem not on steemit at the moment which is good in one way, because every building needs a good basement, but it scares off people on the other hand as steemit is not that usable for newcomers... If you check the numbers of accounts and the active accounts per day you'll see that a lot of those new accounts are inactive after a short time. So the question if their current focus is good or not seems valid to me :)

As inertia said: We might have a long way to go ..

When I suggested investing in crypto's to my wife, it led to a week of intense fighting and I mean, really close to ( some bad shit). It took me a month to get her interested in this space and now she's ready to quit and what can I say to her to convince her if it remains this challenging?

People, including developers, should not be offended by the truth.

I wouldn't say that Steemit is trying to be or necessarily even compete with Facebook; but you are right that the greatest area to add value in the near future, if not already, within the crypto space is to improve user experience. There's a lot that goes into that, though: it took the general public years and years to figure out what the Internet was and to embrace it for its possibilities beyond email and instant messaging. People had to overcome their lack of knowledge and get used to new ideas. The same thing applies here: We're all bringing our expectations from more established tech into this new sphere and it's going to be a bumpy ride until we all figure it out.

I'm really hoping steemit takes off in the next year or so! In a world full of fake news, it's so easy to start reading in circles making minimal knowledge gains. Next thing you know, you've read for 4 hours about something that isn't even useful, shoutout mainstream news. Steemit is the place to be

Is the overall sentiment for #HF19 positive or negative? Still learning about it.

There is very positive support from the largest stakeholders. Take a look:

https://steemd.com/witnesses

Can't be the front page of the internet without much larger user base... maybe someday :)

Its a good place to be for sure;

I agree, it's the best platform right now. 👍

If we give it enough time , it should be front cover of everything ! Success is worth waiting on

I think that would be nice Yes. However in its own time is healthier. If we rush it, it could get too large too quick and it would not be as beneficial or effective. Nice post.

Steemit will be a winner in all social media .
Just need some time .

Haha I'm new here but totally agree steemit is one of the best site I've found this year. Way way way better than twitter :)

Yes it could, some things that could be better is when creating the account, another suggestion would be when promoting a post the coins could go to an account and use that coins for advertising on google, tv...

Great post. It reminded me how much I don't care about mainstream media and topics of interest to the general population. I think you're right, Steemit needs to be front page because I perked up with all of the cryptocurrency topics on the list.

Me too. Hopefully that won't lead to some kind of "forever niech" scenario.

Hi @inertia, good post! I'm a new Steemer and just joined the platform. I would love it if you would take a minute to look at my latest post and click the follow button if you enjoy my stuff. Thanks a lot.