Lately I have been getting much more interested in blindfold games.

in The Chess Community2 months ago

That is I have found it more interesting to play without seeing the pieces on lichess.
I have also played a blindfold simul (3 boards) at my local chess club, with some of the scholastic players, I managed to do that quiet well I won 2 games and drew one.

I do not remember the games, well I do remember one game that was rather short, maybe that makes it a two board simul?
The game I do remember where I had the white pieces went like this
1.e4 d6 2.Nf3 Bg4 3.Bc4 - setting up the common trick with Bxf7+ winning a pawn - 3.-Bxf3 4.Qxf3 Nc6?? 5.Qxf7+ Kd7 6.Be6#

This was played while I had two other boards running, though if I had been sighted I wouldn't play such a cruel mate, but I wanted to end the games as quickly as possible to make the overall requirements lower so I played the mate.

I have also done a lot of blindfold games on lichess, I might share some of them, while I do higher share of blunders while not seeing the pieces I find it more fun. Also I have a blind account on lichess, which has a lower rating so I play a different class of players.
I have been working my way up to about 1500 on my blind account (yes that is the starting rating), I just don't always remember where all the pieces are, so I just loose some games on account of blundering something.

Sort:  

Wow, not bad! I am wondering if I would keep a rating of 1500 on a blind account. I should try it out, a good memory exersize!
How to play even blindfold in Lichess?

On lichess when you are in a game, if you go by the hamburger menu, there is a blindfold option

2024-07-10_22-26.png

Congratulations!


You have obtained a vote from CHESS BROTHERS PROJECT

✅ Good job. Your post has been appreciated and has received support from CHESS BROTHERS ♔ 💪


♟ We invite you to use our hashtag #chessbrothers and learn more about us.

♟♟ You can also reach us on our Discord server and promote your posts there.

♟♟♟ Consider joining our curation trail so we work as a team and you get rewards automatically.

♞♟ Check out our @chessbrotherspro account to learn about the curation process carried out daily by our team.


🏅 If you want to earn profits with your HP delegation and support our project, we invite you to join the Master Investor plan. Here you can learn how to do it.


Kindly

The CHESS BROTHERS team