Would you use your Google credentials to login to your favorite Steem apps?

in #dpoll5 years ago

Would you use your Google credentials to login to your favorite Steem apps?


login-with-google.png

A few weeks ago I published this post describing my frustration, as an app developer, with the clumsiness of having to enter a 50 character hash in order to login to a new Steem app.

I proposed a new scheme whereby somebody could agree to have his/her posting key stored on a third party server, which would allow login to any participating Steem app using his/her Google email address and password.

The posting key allows most everyday operations on the Steem blockchain, such as posting, upvoting and commenting.
It does not allow sensitive transactions, such as transferring Steems.

The login procedure would make use of Google support for OAuth2 authentication and would also work with other mainstream social networks such as FB, Twitter, Instragram, etc.
This is made almost seamless on most handsets and web browsers.

I would be very grateful if you could take a minute to answer the following question through this poll, and maybe expand on your answer with a comment.

Would you use your Google/FB/Twitter/etc. credentials to login to your favorite Steem apps?


  • Yes, definitely!

  • Possibly, but I would need to be convinced further

  • I'm not sure

  • No, I wouldn't trust storing my private key on a 3rd party server

  • No, it goes against decentralization principles

  • No, other reason

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for No, other reason.

I 'd like to remain anonymous.

Voted for Possibly, but I would need to be convinced further.

That would require a central authority or verify mechanism about the mapping between STEEM accounts and social authentication providers.

I am not sure how this can be achieved without sacrificing decentralization.

I guess trust would need to be established with the party storing the posting keys and social identities.

I am not sure how this can be achieved without sacrificing decentralization.

Is decentralization that important here?
Are you thinking about specific exploits?

Thanks!

Voted for No, I wouldn't trust storing my private key on a 3rd party server.

Voted for Yes, definitely!.

We are outgroup, as we are in crypto and Steemit...
For a regular user, all those keys are a nightmare.
I think it would be an incredibly good feature

Voted for Yes, definitely!.

Voted for No, other reason.

Steemconnect works for me + a password manager for posting keys. But I agree in that there needs to be a better solution for mass adoption.

Voted for Yes, definitely!.

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Voted for No, I wouldn't trust storing my private key on a 3rd party server.

Voted for No, other reason.

Voted for No, it goes against decentralization principles.

Voted for No, it goes against decentralization principles.

Voted for No, I wouldn't trust storing my private key on a 3rd party server.

Voted for No, I wouldn't trust storing my private key on a 3rd party server.

Voted for Yes, definitely!.

I would have some hesitation, yes. But I don't mind an easy login. The thing however is its not much useful, if I already have a steem account. Entering the key is not even that big an effort. However, it would be much useful to allow google auth to non steem users, to interact with steem blockchain. That would make a big difference in attracting more people to steem as well.

Would you use your Google credentials to login to your favorite Steem apps?

Short answer, no.

It is not comfortable for me to unnessasarily use steemconnect to log into any dApp.

It seems to me that no keys need be exchanged if a polling page could signal some JavaScript on the browser to scrape and calculate the votes in the comments (which would need to use some kind of convention like #vote1, #vote2 or something) and then display the current poll results in a Qt window.

Sharing my crypto activity with Google would be my last desperate solution. 😎

P.S. Thinking further it could be run as a cgi on a site which the page could link to and have the cgi scrape the page and pop up a survey window.