The Steemit "World Tour" - Update #1

in #follow5 years ago

Untitled design (2).png

In a recent post, I mentioned going on my Steemit "World Tour". After my long hiatus from Steemit, I felt the need to reach out to each person I followed. After that, the plan is to do the same for those following me.

This is one of those things that was procrastinated until yesterday. Just like my procrastination to learn basic Markdown styling. Am I the only one who still must open the Markdown styling guide when posting?

Capture.PNG

Anyhow, I started going down the list of the people I follow with the intent of reviewing their latest post and saying “Hello”. What I found was a little surprising. Now I figured there would be a few people, like me until a couple weeks ago, that were no longer active on Steemit. What I found was that over half (estimate) had not been active on Steemit for months. and many a year or more.

At that point, being an ADHD and Obsessive-compulsive person, I had to organize this chaos. Some time was spent reviewing each person I followed for signs of recent posting or commenting activity. You could count on one hand how many hadn’t posted in a while but were still commenting occasionally. If I felt there was no “signs of life” I unfollowed them.

th.jpg

Yes, like me they could eventually make their way back to Steemit, and if they do, I might follow them again. The unfollow is not out of spite. I just need organization in my life, especially after this last year I’ve had. I want to ensure I stay engaged with those I follow and are following me. The clutter of abandoned profiles just distracts me from this endeavor.

Another thing I found interesting was many that were no longer active had at one time been very active. A couple had made themselves out to be Steemit gurus. One that I enjoyed following was @brandonfrye.

Capture2.PNG

It seems like he just one day was up and abducted by aliens. His blog looked like he was posting almost daily if not more, then he just fell of the face of the earth. That’s too bad, his posts were always informative, and he did some contests which I liked.

One person that is still standing is @jongolson. Now this guy a Steem addict.

Capture3.PNG

I am not as into the Steem and Crypto side of what he writes about so much as the personal development. He reads a great deal and shares what he learns and will sometimes share personal examples. I could read his personal development and business posts every day.

Anyway, back to my “World Tour”. I hope to take the time to post about the progress every few days,

Untitled design.png

Sort:  

I used to do the same of going through my follow list, but it can be a bit depressing when so many have gone from Steem.

But still some do come back, resurrected and refreshed...

Yes, I am sure some will eventually come back just as I did. I did it so I can keep up easier. I still haven't gone through my followers' list. That is going to be a little more daunting I believe. Thanks for stopping by.