Splinterlands: Adapting & Reacting To Recent Changes.

in LeoFinance11 months ago

png_20230709_074015_0000.png



The new changes to Splinterlands have kicked in, this meant a vivid change to the splinterlands.com UI as well. So collection Power does not matter anymore and it's been removed from the .io UI

Every change comes with uncertainty and perplexity. It's how it's been on Splinterlands, it's going to be difficult to see changes that would be directly beneficial to everyone.

But most of the time, the changes are targeted towards improving the game economically, and of course, helping players to see a redefined purpose as to why they should hold rather than sell.

A Case For SPS

SPS has come under heavy criticism for not having any solid use case, and integrating it as a prerequisite for maximum rewards in the different leagues came as a surprise

although it's been written in the whitepaper that this might happen, I guess, a lot of players are too caught up in the bear market to begin to adjust to owning more SPS to have their maximum rewards.

So, I won't say this is a bad change, it's actually a very good change, howbeit, it is being implemented at the wrong time.

Nevertheless, there's the provision to actually rent SPS which is a cheaper option, but what is the assurance that the reward would pay for the cost of renting, seeing that the whole market is just trying to recover from the bear?

For me, I've never sold any SPS, I've staked all my SPS from December 2021, however, I could have joined a Guild to increase my chances of owning more SPS, or probably buying more of it during the bull market.

I feel a change like this, should be announced a year before, to give people the opportunity to accumulate the SPS they'll need, to play in their respective league.

In fact, most of the changes that need financial requirements should be implemented in the bull market.

i.e. if Chaos legion was released in the bear market, I don't think it'll have much success or traction than it got.

People need money to be in the system, so I think it's important to look at the timeline to implement changes that require money and see a large demograph of what the players are willing to spend,

it's more than just having whales being the only capable ones. That said, it's a good change, the timing and the general unwillingness might just be an issue.


Screenshot_20230708_032514_Chrome-01.jpeg



Away from this, the new Changes to the UI have been decent

At first glance, it seemed totally confusing and unrelating, in fact, players will now have to adapt to how to buy SPS to stay competitive

but overall, I like the new "item" format, you can now click on a card to reveal it's abilities, or even check it's gold format, rather than have them separately. It's easier to join cards now, the simplicity makes it quite better, but I've had to actually take a deeper look to understand this.


Screenshot_20230708_170457_Chrome-01.jpeg

20230709_074721_0000.png


So it's been another successful outing in my Guild

Although I didn't do well per se, winning 3 games out of 9 is a poor performance. In my last Guild outing, I won 6 out of 8 matches, so the luck wasn't on my side this time.

I completely misplaced a lot of my strategies. However, I am still happy that I got some decent SPS to keep staking, I have close to 3.7k SPS, so I'm way off my mark, but I just have to organically depend on growing my SPS, since resources are difficult to come by.

The wait for my first legendary gladiator card continues, I've been buying and opening gladius cases for over 3 months now, and the wait continues. I'll have to analyze my rewards at the end of the season to see if there have been any significant changes. Till next time.



Interested in some more of my works?



Is it Easy To Make Money?
Nigeria: A Unique Business Market & Industry
Virtual Bank Apps In Nigeria: An Experience Of Gamification
How To Find The Next "BIG" Meme Coin
Personal Finance: Achieving Intentional "Saving" Goals
Playing The Survival Game: Human Nature In Introspection

png_20230102_074302_0000.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Alpha

Sort:  

I’m not bothering myself, my sps is too small to matter anyway 😝 I just brawl for fun mostly these days

My SPS is small too and it can be fraustrating as well. I brawl as well and I'm still playing ranked battles. No pressure for me, I'm just accumulating as I can.

I think if I stick to the Silver league for most of the season, I should earn better SPS rewards for ranked battles, I am yet to make sure that I am correct with that thought though because as for getting the required amount of staked SPS for the gold league, it will take time for me.

I'm also sticking to silver. It seemed as if after the anouncement, the game got even more harder, but as for SPS, haha the likes of us will probably just keep going until we have the resources to actually afford to buy the required SPS to compete.

I am surprised the Silver league has been nice to me battle-wise and as well as the Focus rewards, am staying there until the last day. I can't deal with the headache of the gold league now.

Hahaha two days ago though, I pulled 16 SPS in a silver chest. The one of today, was straight up mediocre.

I guess, a lot of players are too caught up in the bear market to begin to adjust to owning more SPS to have their maximum rewards.

A lot of people don't even look at the whitepaper of any project to begin with. So that's that.

People need money to be in the system

I agree with you on this one, a lot of time I think the players should be allowed to decide. It's a decentralized game so I think a little poll or vote wouldn't hurt.

it's more than just having whales being the only capable ones.

Yep another case for me to not play Sl yet. A lot of people who are in it keep saying if you don't have a lot go money now it's quite hard to make any decent returns from it. How true is that?

I'm way off my mark, but I just have to organically depend on growing my SPS

You have to have an amount of staked SPS before you can join a certain league?

People don't truly check whitepaper, except a few, so I've heard a few players, arguing on Twitter about this. One of them argued that no one actually checks whitepapers and that it was a sudden move to pull, even if the SPS requirement was there in the white paper.

You have to have an amount of staked SPS before you can join a certain league?

No, you need a certain SPS requirement in whatever league you are to compete for maximum rewards in that league. It's a new change that's buzzing on splinterlands.

!1UP Good work!


!PGM !PIZZA

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO tokens

remaining commands 0

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Thanks for the curation

There have been a lot of changes and I agree that the changes tend to benefit the whales right now. I think they are trying to force people to have some skin in the game to earn at maximum potential.

Well, it's not wrong to have skin, just that resources might be too hard to come by. We're neck deep in the bear market and only beginning to recover, so I basically think it's not a good time.

I agree that it's not a good time. People are already leaving the game due to the rewards not being rewarding enough.

Exactly, it's actually not a good time to implement the change, I sort of feel that they've should have made the announcement long ago, and given people the time to slowly accumulate SPS.

I'm not sure why they removed the collection power requirement as it would at least prop up the card prices. Quite a big change. For a sustained price increase beyond 5c, I don't think this will be enough.

I think they removed it because the focus in now on SPS as the main determinant to earn rewards, well, I agree it might cause some significant changes in the price of cards in the market, to be very honest.

Am a newbie in the game still confused about it

It's a learning process, splinterlands is time, commitment and resources

Congratulations!
Your post has been manually curated and reblogged.

You can follow our curation trail on Hive.Vote

If you want to support us and the authors we vote for you can upvote this comment or delegate some Hive Power to our account. Thanks!

Propose a worthy post by mentioning us in the post or in a comment.

We reblog curated posts, follow us if you wish to see them in your feed.

You are really dedicated to it since you have not sold any SPS since December
Please can you teach me how to check the price of a card?
I was gifted one and I don't know how to check the price...

Go to splinterlands.com, click on item, then click on cards owned by me. Click on the cards you were gifted, explore, you'll see how to sell it.

1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @underlock!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@leo-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@curation-cartel(13/20) tipped @josediccus

This kind of thing should be done, it will benefit the old users, they will also like to see all the new things and because of this, new user's also coming.

Congratulations @josediccus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Collect Badges and Prizes - Thousands of HIVE, Tokens or NFTs to be won!

It's great to see your dedication and perseverance in your Guild despite the challenges you faced in this outing. Winning 3 out of 9 games may not have been the result you were aiming for, but it's important to remember that every experience is an opportunity for growth and learning.

Your focus on accumulating SPS and organically growing your resources demonstrates a wise approach to the game. It may take time to achieve your desired SPS level, but your determination will eventually pay off