Garbage sorting in Japan

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

A major stressful chore during my long stay in Tokyo last year was compartmentalising my garbage. 😂 I remembered how the building management emphasized on this house chore during key collection on my first day. And, I went blur 😨at this instruction sheet.


Even in the apartment, this instruction note is already laminated and pasted on the kitchen wall above the dustbins to remind you over and over again. The first few days were stressful especially since I had a lot of rubbish as I settled down. Admittedly, I even cheated a couple of times by bringing my small pack of rubbish to throw in the school general bin. 😝

However, with practice, I soon ease easily into the role and appreciate the recycling efforts. It’s amazing but sometimes I’ll grin with pride after throwing in the washed, dried and crushed water bottles in the clear garbage bag. Every little efforts of recycling counts and we can all do our bit starting from our own household! As such, do make an effort to compartmentalism your garbage if you are staying in an Airbnb in Japan. It is really a very important issue for the neighbourhood! Of course, it will be even better if you can bring the good habit back home! Well, I did for a short while... maybe I should start to do it again in Singapore. 🤗

Below is a youtube video that teaches you how to do the cleaning and sorting of garbage before throwing them away. And don't just dump all the trash altogether! Apparently there are different collection days depending on the type of garbade.

The Japanese had been doing this for years and the habit is instilled in children since pre-school. Similar to other etiquette and good manners, there is much for us to learn from the Japanese.

Do you have any funny encounters with your garbage in Japan? Share with us here!


I would really like to hear first hand experiences from those living in Japan.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://jrvacation.com/garbage-sorting-in-japan/

Sort:  

恭喜你!您的这篇文章入选 @justyy 今日 (2018-07-13) 榜单 【优秀被错过的文章】, 回复本条评论24小时内领赏,点赞本评论将支持 @dailychina 并增加将来您的奖赏。

Congratulations! This post has been selected by @justyy as today's (2018-07-13) 【Good Posts You May Miss】, Steem On! Reply to this message in 24 hours to get rewards. Upvote this comment to support the @dailychina and increase your future rewards! ^_^

This is awesome. I wish it were like that in my country. Noone cares about our enviroment.

I don't live in Japan , but i liked this system .. i was put all the trash together!! I must change my way.

Yes, the Japanese are big on recycling. I once saw a FB post that said they separate their trash into 15 different categories. Can you imagine that? I am here in Spain at the moment. They are also quite big on recycling but they only have 5 categories - paper, plastic, cans, bottles and organic waste. So, it's a lot easier here compared to Japan. :-)

@jrvacation, good sharing! Japanese is doing good practice in recycling in proper way. We should learn more to love and appreciate our planet!:)

The garbage classification is important.
I keep a rule,too :)

I totally agree on your first few words haha! We have to get used to sorting the trash for the first few days before we got used to it. ☺ Totally new to my system, since I don't usually segregate here in SG. It was a nice practice by the Japanese though.☺

I like the system in general, but it is overly complicated. Even Japanese themselves often have trouble understanding it and cheat more often than not. I am friends with one of the old guys who patrols the trash stations around the neighborhood, and he is constantly complaining that "everyone" cheats and how he always has to reopen bags and re-sort things. heh. But the idea is nice anyway, so that is something. ;)

i found it quite interesting that the garbage sorting isnt that particular in osaka vs tokyo. at least now for me ahahah


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.