I'd Gladly Pay Someone To Do This for Me! | Day 7 of 30-DAY #BLOGGING CHALLENGE - Part 3 | [ENG/SPAN]

30-Day Blogging Challenge-Part3A-#7.png

It's time for me to leave. Final touches applied, I'm ready to walk out the door. It doesn't matter where I'm going. I reach for my keys. That's when it hits me. Anxiety. It always has and always will. Why? because I hate to drive.

Welcome everyone. Thank you in advance for returning to visit my content for today. My answer above is in response to the question for Day 7 of the 30-day Blogging Challenge (Part 3):
What is something you hate and would pay others to do for you?

For someone who loves to travel, it's a bit ironic that I don't want to do what it takes to travel on the road to get there. I never considered that I might have a phobia about driving.

automotive-1866521_640.jpg
Image by Pexels from Pixabay

However, I've learned that some fears and phobias are in fact per of our daily lives. Some mild, others severe enough to prevent us from engaging in certain activities or avoid certain actions or animals. To be sure, a driving is included in this group. It took me a while to discover that what I was experiencing was actually a driving phobia. And the worse one: driving on the highway.

A driving phobia or fear of driving a car is given numerous names: amaxophobia, ochophobia, motorphobia, hamaxophobia, and vehophobia. It is an intense and often persistent fear of driving for a variety of reasons. This fear may also extend to riding in a car.1

Even the prospect of driving makes me cringe. I therefore try to avoid driving or any conversation that may lead to the suggestion that I have to drive myself to any destination. However, my anxiety doesn't come into play when I'm a passenger. Then I'm happy to be a backseat or side seat director. If I had to sum up what I'm feeling when it comes to driving, then the above describes me perfectly.

I was once told that in any anxiety or uncertainty about an issue, you have to discover the underlying reasons or factors that helps the anxiety rise to the surface.

According to Dr. Brian Wind, as reported in Healthline, specific circumstances exist that cause individuals to feel pressure such as, driving over a bridge or through a tunnel, driving at night, driving at higher speeds, merging into oncoming traffic, or changing lanes. He also reports that regardless of the circumstances under which you feel anxiety about driving, individuals fear something negative such as a life-threatening accident or injury may happen to them or cause them to hurt others. 1

Other causes of Amaxophobia may include but not be limited to:

  • past experiences of car accident or near accidents that leave you shaken;
  • being lost or not being able to follow map directions;
  • maneuvering through heavy traffic;
  • having watched a terrible or fatal accident in front of you;
  • watching fatal crashes on television or social media;
  • having anyone you know personally involved in an accident; or
  • not trusting your own ability as a driver or weak skills in certain areas. 1

No matter the cause, a person has to figure out their underlying reasons for the phobia.

It wasn't always that way for me. When I first received my drivers license, I was thrilled with the knowledge and feeling that I was free to go anywhere I wanted to. A new car and set of keys meant I was independent and didn't have to ask anyone to take me anywhere.

During the years of hour-long traffic jams on freeways trying to get to work on time just wore me down. It came to the point where I didn't want to go to work. Not because I didn't love my job, but because I had to drive to get there. Spending hours on the freeway going to work and returning home was miserable for me.

Of particular concern was my having to drive over bridges, causeways, at night, and in inclement weather. I'd find myself being pulled towards the railings if I looked out over the bridge at the water below. That's the effect water has on me.

I live on the Gulf Coast. During Hurricane Season we experience flooding, tornadoes, and of course, hurricanes. The flooding can produce rainfall with torrential flooding. I have been caught in several floods in which I couldn't make it home safely from work. Two events caused me to shelter in place at work.

macau-photo-agency-INI87z5uRHI-unsplash.jpg
Image by Macau Photo Agency from Unsplash

Another specific concern is driving through tunnels. It's not a feeling of being closed in. It's a feeling that I've been in this situation before in a dream and the top of the tunnel caved in. But my dream are for another day's topic. They both forge to produce a major anxiety for me driving through them.

Then came the popular "road rage" other drivers would engage in. I've experienced several incidents myself. But perhaps the two defining moments that really drove home my anxiety of driving were (i) the serious accident I was involved in; and, (ii) the near fatal one were it not for a helpful driver who alerted me danger in the form of an 18=wheeler was approaching.

Ever since those two events, I have had anxiety over the thought of driving. I never sought professional help over my anxiety. I just recognized it existed. The anxiety wasn't to the point where it became a debilitating occurrence for me such as panic attacks. I just told my family how I felt They understood and stepped in to provide assistance.

The day I retired from my career was the day I stopped driving on a daily or regular basis.

text16.png

Es hora de que me vaya. Aplicados los últimos retoques, estoy listo para salir por la puerta. No importa a dónde vaya. Busco mis llaves. Es entonces cuando me golpea. La ansiedad. Siempre lo ha hecho y siempre lo hará. ¿Por qué? Porque odio conducir.

Bienvenidos todos. Gracias de antemano por volver a visitar mi contenido de hoy. Mi respuesta de arriba es en respuesta a la pregunta del Día 7 del Reto Blogger de 30 días (Parte 3):
¿Qué es lo que odias y pagarías a otros para que lo hicieran por ti?

Para alguien a quien le encanta viajar, es un poco irónico que no quiera hacer lo que cuesta viajar por carretera para conseguirlo. Nunca me había planteado que pudiera tener fobia a conducir.

automotive-1866521_640.jpg
Image by Pexels from Pixabay

Sin embargo, he aprendido que algunos miedos y fobias forman parte de nuestra vida cotidiana. Algunos son leves, otros lo suficientemente graves como para impedirnos realizar determinadas actividades o evitar ciertas acciones o animales. Sin duda, la conducción se incluye en este grupo. Tardé en descubrir que lo que experimentaba era en realidad una fobia a la conducción. Y la peor: conducir por la autopista.

La fobia a la conducción o el miedo a conducir un coche recibe numerosos nombres: amaxofobia, ochofobia, motofobia, hamaxofobia y vehofobia. Se trata de un miedo intenso y a menudo persistente a conducir por diversos motivos. Este miedo puede extenderse también a viajar en coche.1

Incluso la perspectiva de conducir me da escalofríos. Por lo tanto, trato de evitar conducir o cualquier conversación que pueda llevar a la sugerencia de que tengo que conducir yo mismo a cualquier destino. Sin embargo, mi ansiedad no entra en juego cuando soy un pasajero. Entonces me siento feliz de ser el director del asiento trasero o del lateral. Si tuviera que resumir lo que siento cuando se trata de conducir, lo anterior me describe perfectamente.

Una vez me dijeron que en cualquier ansiedad o incertidumbre sobre un asunto, hay que descubrir las razones o factores subyacentes que ayudan a que la ansiedad suba a la superficie.

Según el Dr. Brian Wind, tal y como se informa en Healthline, existen circunstancias específicas que hacen que las personas sientan presión, como por ejemplo, conducir por un puente o por un túnel, conducir de noche, conducir a velocidades más altas, incorporarse al tráfico en sentido contrario o cambiar de carril. También informa de que, independientemente de las circunstancias en las que se sienta ansiedad por conducir, los individuos temen que les ocurra algo negativo, como un accidente o una lesión que ponga en peligro su vida, o que les haga daño a otros. 1

Otras causas de la amaxofobia pueden ser, entre otras, las siguientes

  • experiencias pasadas de accidente de coche o de accidentes cercanos que le dejen temblando;
  • estar perdido o no ser capaz de seguir las indicaciones del mapa;
  • maniobrar a través del tráfico pesado;
  • haber visto un accidente terrible o mortal delante de ti;
  • haber visto accidentes mortales en la televisión o en las redes sociales
  • que alguien que conoces se haya visto involucrado en un accidente; o
  • no confiar en su propia capacidad como conductor o tener pocas habilidades en ciertas áreas. 1

Independientemente de la causa, una persona tiene que averiguar sus razones subyacentes para la fobia.

No siempre fue así para mí. Cuando obtuve por primera vez el carnet de conducir, me emocioné al saber y sentir que era libre de ir a cualquier sitio que quisiera. Un coche nuevo y un juego de llaves significaban que era independiente y que no tenía que pedir a nadie que me llevara a ningún sitio.

Los años de atascos de una hora en las autopistas para llegar al trabajo a tiempo me agotaron. Llegó un momento en que no quería ir a trabajar. No porque no me gustara mi trabajo, sino porque tenía que conducir para llegar allí. Pasar horas en la autopista para ir al trabajo y volver a casa me resultaba miserable.

Me preocupaba especialmente tener que conducir por puentes, calzadas, de noche y con mal tiempo. Me veía arrastrado hacia las barandillas si miraba el agua por encima del puente. Ese es el efecto que tiene el agua en mí.

Vivo en la costa del Golfo. Durante la temporada de huracanes sufrimos inundaciones, tornados y, por supuesto, huracanes. Las inundaciones pueden producir precipitaciones con crecidas torrenciales. Me he visto envuelto en varias inundaciones en las que no he podido llegar a casa sano y salvo desde el trabajo. Dos eventos me hicieron refugiarme en el trabajo.

macau-photo-agency-INI87z5uRHI-unsplash.jpg
Image by Macau Photo Agency from Unsplash

Otra preocupación específica es conducir por los túneles. No es una sensación de estar encerrado. Es una sensación de que he estado en esta situación antes en un sueño y la parte superior del túnel se derrumbó. Pero mis sueños son para el tema de otro día. Ambos se forjan para producirme una gran ansiedad al conducir por ellos.

Luego vino la popular "furia de la carretera" en la que participaban otros conductores. Yo mismo he vivido varios incidentes. Pero tal vez los dos momentos definitorios que realmente me produjeron ansiedad al conducir fueron (i) el grave accidente en el que me vi envuelto; y, (ii) el casi mortal si no fuera por un conductor servicial que me alertó de que se acercaba el peligro en forma de un camión de 18=ruedas.

Desde esos dos sucesos, la idea de conducir me produce ansiedad. Nunca busqué ayuda profesional para mi ansiedad. Simplemente reconocía que existía. La ansiedad no llegaba al punto de convertirse en algo debilitante para mí, como los ataques de pánico. Simplemente le conté a mi familia cómo me sentía, ellos lo entendieron y me ayudaron.

El día en que me retiré de mi carrera fue el día en que dejé de conducir a diario o con regularidad.

Thank you for taking the time to read my topic for today. I've set out above what I hate so much that I would pay someone else to do it. Do you think I'm being unreasonable? Is it an undiagnosed phobia? If not, then suggest an alternative. I'd love to hear it. Also, is there something you'd pay someone else to do for you. Let me know in a comment below.

text16.png

Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de leer mi tema de hoy. He expuesto arriba lo que odio tanto que pagaría a otra persona para que lo hiciera. ¿Crees que soy poco razonable? ¿Es una fobia no diagnosticada? Si no es así, sugiera una alternativa. Me encantaría escucharla. Además, ¿hay algo que pagarías a otra persona para que lo hiciera por ti? Házmelo saber en un comentario más abajo.

30-Day Blog Challenge-PART 3.png

Follow my 30-Day Blogging Challenge below:

@traciyork initiative #hiveblopomo (Published Day 7 of my Part 3, 30-Day Blogging Challenge post today which I feel is an interesting read)

@flaxz initiative #iamalivechallene3 (Published my Day 7 of the 30-Day Blogging Challenge [Part 3] post today)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

B.I.S.S.-March-Sanwiteer.jpg

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.
f) Image of 30-Day Blogging Challenge, Part 3 created in Canva by @justclickindiva utilizing its free images and bckgrnds
1 "Understanding Your Fear of Driving". Healthline.com; https://healthline.com/health/mental-health/understanding-your-fear-of-driving#definition
2

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 54 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...