Week 11: Wed. October 27, 2021 - Taking Time For Self Care - An Epiphany | Wednesday Wellbeing Club (Until 11/24/21)

in Self Improvement2 years ago (edited)

Wednesday Wellbeing Club-Logo.png

Welcome back everyone to my participation in the Wednesday Wellbeing Club. Just wanted to let everyone know again that I'm alive and thriving this fourth week of October. Only about three weeks left in our wellbeing intiative. I want to share with you my progress in Week 11. I've been feeling better this week in my body and spirit.

The Wellbeing Club is hosted by @shanibeer over in the Natural Medicine Community. The Club kicked off its initiative on Wednesday, August 11. You can join in any time by reading about it here: Wednesday Wellbeing Club | 11 August - 24 November | Week 1: Wednesday 18 August 2021. The Wednesday Wellbeing Club is about making changes you desire for your overall health. Then, you work toward your goals that you set.

By adopting the Club's Rule of Fives as my guideline, I was then able to tailor it to fit my health agenda. The ability to create my own Rules and work within the Club's framework is easy. That way, I'll be able to fully maintain my wellbeing plan.

Here is my Rule of FOURS for each week:
  • Lose 2 lbs.;
  • Enjoy 4 x 30-minute sessions of physical activity (either indoors or outdoors);
  • Eat 4 x (1/2 cup combined) - portions of fruit and vegetables each day;
  • Get 4 nights x 8 hours sleep.
  • Carve out 4 x 30-minute sessions offline either with family or self-indulgence quiet time.

text16.png

WHEN THINGS GO WRONG

Over the past few week, I've had to return to revisit @shanibeer's previous post in which she provided tips on how she handles issues when things go wrong and how it affects your wellbeing. @shaibeer is currently attending to offline matters and will return soon. Good luck to her in her endeavors, and hope all is well. We miss you!

pxfuel.com(13).jpg
Source

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

Let's see how well I did in Week 11:
ActivityGoalWeek 11To DateOn Target
Weight-2 lbs. week-.5-7.75-8.25 lbs. lost. slight movement in positive direction
Physical Activity4 (sessions; 30 min. each)/week3no strenuous exercise; only light walking
Eating4 x (1/2 cups each; fruits/veggies) per day4on target
Wellness in Sleep4 nights x 8 hrs.4on target
Offline Wellness4 events4Took 3 days offline

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

Wellness: Taking Time For Self Care

I restarted three offline projects recently. I had previously placed them on the back burner for over a year. This week, I decided to take another look and tackle them. However, after a day of mulling over exactly what I wanted to do in the timeframe I allotted for these projects, I realized I couldn't complete all of them. I didn't have the tools or resources.

Relying on family members sometimes is a bit frustrating for me. I realize that not everyone works at my pace. Besides, I had to realize too that what's important to me is not always at the forefront of others. They have their own agenda to tend to.

I had to rely on the advice in order to assess the situation and decide which direction I wanted to go with a project. A couple projects I abandoned and placed on my 2022 list. I decided that if I couldn't figure out my end goal, then I'd table it until I got a clearer strategy. In the past, I've started projects only to abandon them.

I'm trying to become better at the planning stage so I won't be left with unfinished projects that looks like a total disaster than when I started.

Also, I needed to take some time for myself on another matter that's been tugging at me for quite some time. Over the years, I've amassed a small library of research materials that has now threatened to overrun my available storage space. I wanted to see if I was still passionate about my quest to become a professional genealogist.

Having a lifelong dream heading down one path is admirable. I spent over twenty years pursuing and collecting material for my family history. However, I was a bit disheartened when I realized I no longer wanted to pursue my dream of becoming a professional genealogist. That moment was my epiphany.

At this stage in my life, I realize I no longer have the energy nor desire to devote my time to this area of research. I decided to train my children and pass it on to them to carry forward for the family. I realized that at certain stages of your life, your interests change in what you're passionate about pursuing.

Taking care of myself mentally and physically is my primary concern and goal.

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

See you next Wednesday everyone for Week 12 of the Wellbeing Club. If you are participating in any lifestyle change program, I'd love to hear what you are doing or your program that works well for you.

WEDNESDAY WELLBEING CLUB JOURNEY

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

@flaxz initiative: #alive and #aliveandthriving (Published my Week 8 Wednesday Wellbeing Club progress report post today)

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

image.png

SaturdaySaversClub-Footer1.png

B.I.S.S.-March-Sanwiteer.jpg

LMAC-Banner.jpg


SilverBloggersLogo.jpg

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines
f) Thumbnail Image created by me in Canva utilizing one of its templates and other images in accordance with my Annual Pro Subscription.

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

Sort:  

This is interesting. I like how you narrated this because every single thing you said shows that you are on a journey of self-discovery and you've already known a whole lot of things about what works for you and the things that doesn't work.

About the aspects of being a professional genealogist, I would say that it doesn't matter as far as you are happy doing whatever you are involved with at the moment.

I like the idea behind this well-being club.

I got to your post through @dreemport

Hello @kenechukwu97. Thank you so much for visiting my article. I appreciate you kind words about my journey. Yes, any time you undertake to improve whatever area of your life you feel needs it, you discover a lot about yourself. It's how you handle your setbacks and achievements that define how your journey will evolve and eventually be fruitful.

The hardest part of my journey in this well-being club has been to lose the amount of weight I set as my goal. My diagnosis of Type 2 Diabetes needs constant attention to adopt a certain lifestyle. At first I was resistance. Now I see that the diagnosis isn't going to change. I'm the one that has to change in order to live with this underlying condition that is the basis for all other medical ailments that affect my well being.

Thank you for your insightful comment and engagement. Look forward to talking with you again.

Take care, have a good start to your weekend, and stay safe.

!LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@kenechukwu97, you've been given LUV from @justclickindiva.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/5)

Thanks a ton.

have a good start to your weekend, and stay safe.

Lol... And it's just few minutes to Friday. 23:55 over here. I'm super excited to be getting these kinds words at a time like this.

My weekend is going to be good and I know that yours will be filled with happiness.

As for that aspect of embracing reality, that's pretty much what I'm doing. The career path I thought I would be facing is currently not feasible and I don't see myself getting into it irrespective of whatever the pay may be.

I've chosen a different career path. Hopefully, it will be a good one for me.

Heheh... Time check, 2 minutes to Friday.

Enjoy ✌️

Some start planning for the weekend on Thursday if they seek to travel; especially if they've taken the day off for Friday and have a long weekend. During the holidays here in the U.S., we frequently do just that. I believe in starting early, lolol

Hope your new career works out for you. Good luck.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 78 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7


Hey @justclickindiva, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hi! We all change as we grow older. that is the best part of being older!

this other post should help you with formatting if you wanted to know more.

https://hive.blog/tutorial/@carrieallen/ultimate-markdown-tutorial

Hello. Thank you so much for visiting. I appreciate your kind words.

What particular formatting do you see is an issue. I created and formatted my post in PEAKd, utilizing tables. What front end are you utilizing to view the contents?

ohhhhhhhhh sorry, I use Hive.blog that must be why.

I was wondering why nothing was centered and I know you have been here forever :D

sorry, my mistake

You know what. I don't think it should matter what interface you're viewing, they should all be the same, shouldn't it, in terms of viewing the content.

I'll have to look into that and ask PEAKd Support team if viewing from another front end skews how one sees the information. That's truly disheartening if that's so.

Thank you so much for alerting me to this. I'd never known unless someone brought it to my attention.

Have a good start to your weekend and take care.