GETTING MY GARDEN READY FOR 2019. MORE SPACE TO GROW MORE VEGETABLES.

in #garden5 years ago (edited)

Its all go for my garden 2019. I want so many things changed as need more room as want to grow more. My garden is long but not very wide but its big enough for me to potter in. I started my garden a couple of years ago using an old wooden coffee table but silly me didn't get it ready for the wet weather, I should have varnished but kept putting it off until it collapsed this year, thankfully after the season ended.

GARDEN 2018

garden.jpg

The garden was nice and clean as it was the beginning of the Spring so didn't have a carpet of leaves that have blown of the lovely Cherry Blossom Tree that stands over my garden. Love it in the Summer, Hate it in the Autumn.

I now have a new smaller table that I have given a good coat of yacht varnish, its going to go in the same place just for my flower pots. I have also bought a new seat for the garden so varnished that too. They are ready to put in there right positions but only after the garden has been swept and cleaned once there is no leaves left.

NEW TABLE & SEAT

garden 2019 3.jpg

I have thrown away the old table and sorted out all my pots, just got to wait a few more weeks before we tidy the rest of the garden up. The leaves can be very slippy so I can't go out until they are brushed up.

garden 2019.jpg

I have been emptying pots,cutting plants back and looking after my fruit tree's, I have also wrapped Groot up with weather material to stop the frost getting in, Groot has his coat on ready for the bad weather coming.

garden 2019 2.jpg

I need to get my plans sorted for next year, do some pot shopping as i need big deep pots for my vegetables, if i shop now i should catch the sales and hopefully get a few bargains. I am going to make a list of what i am growing and do some research about them. This will keep me busy over the Winter months.


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

The long planks of the table, rested on a pile of bricks, the slave could do that bit, on the sunnier back, back garden, over winter the wood will keep the snow off the top of the plants, fit a " frost cloth" curtain that you can lift during the day and lower at night to keep the warmth in.
Or, just use the long planks to store the pots on and another collection under, using the same bit of garden twice.
Go real rash, buy some treated wood from your DIY shop.

I'm thinking of buying a shelf unit or once i get my new shed i can use that for storage:)

I was thinking of the Back Backyard hat you don't use, except for future fish tanks.
the more shelves you have the more space you have to grow things, and store "stuff" under.
the slave could 'acquire' the bricks cheap, and it is moveable as you change your mind.
try not to "build yourself into a corner", keep things changable so you can change your mind next time.

I am starting to make plans for that. Glen is no good with wood or electrics but v he could build me a brick shelf haha

You are working hard on your garden, but I think the joy to watch the plants grown up is really something great. Well done, dear Karen! ^_^

Thank you, I love to watch them grow, I get excited when i first see them popping through the soil :)

I love your cute little garden. So beautiful and love the way you have it all organized.
So lucky to have the table collapsed after the season was over.

Thank you, It hung on for as long as it could, I really should have varnished it as it was perfect for my garden, now I have to find somewhere to store my things as they used to go on the shelf under the table :)