Phill from GCHQ - page 22 - Gwendolyn Knight

in #comics7 years ago


Gwendolyn Knight. Page 22 of the cartoon about Phill from GCHQ in which Phill finally meets Gwendolyn Knight.

The page is made with Krita my favourite Linux drawing application, and is licenced CC-BY. There might be some typos that I will have to fix later. Hope you enjoy it :)




Please consider to support the comic with fiat-money on:

and

or with cryptocoins:

Bitcoins: 12gswuLmsRiKnUhkPMTXuR4VXUiuSifegJ

Steem: here on Steemit :)

Sort:  

I love that knot-work. How long did that take? Not sure phantomed is a word.

Of course, "phantomed" is a word:

  1. it has been used by @katharsisdrill
  2. it will be used soon by ghost writers

Well it did take a while. I though about it as production value... but really it was because I had a hard time getting back to work after being ill, and the Celtic knot-work was a good, meditative task.

As for the words. I just put it up without my normal proof-reader and English expert had okayed it, and I normally just write along - confident that he will catch errors and un-Englishness. I will have to do it later. I have decided for Thursday and I am going to keep it that way. But please write if you find any errors. I just had some of the friendly people at Diaspora to do the same - one of them found that Lay's Crips are called Walker's in Britain. That's an error on page 19.

I think you do really well when English is not your first language. I can read some other languages, but writing is another matter

Well, thanks. I come from a country of only 5 million people, so most of us can speak English, and many also another language.

So, what is your "other language(s)", in addition to Danish and English

Many Danes can speak German, especially in the western region. I speak a very ugly German, but can read it. Then there's quite a few that can speak French, Italian, or Spanish. I speak a very basic Italian, and some imbecile French, I need dictionaries to read it.

And then we can speak the other Scandinavian languages, which are very close to our own (that is except Finnish which is completely foreign to the Western Scandinavians). Norwegian and Danish are practically the same language, and Swedish is close, but with a divergent vocabulary that can be a bit confusing.

The beautiful Slavic languages are very seldom mastered by Danes, even though they are our southern and eastern neighbours. And as I said Finnish is also a hard language to learn for Danes.

Most Brits only speak English. I might be one of those if I hadn't spent time in Germany and had to learn German. I did that and French at school, but never took to them then. I have a lot of respect for those who speak another language fluently and I work with a lot of people who do.

So, what about Welsh? Do you have a consultant for that?

i am actually impressed that you know another language. English-speaking people seldom can. At least the ones I have meet. But why bother when the whole world tries to learn your language?:)

I must admit that the Welsh bits I have found on the internet. I do try to check with different sites on the Welsh Gaelic language, but the swear-words of Gwendolin is not the hardest to translate, especially not when the nice Welshmen create whole internet-pages with swearwords.

Anus poilu de la mort!

Haha, already at it. I haven't gotten to compliment you for the many last pages, but it's a great job.