Phill from GCHQ - page 60 - The Torc

in #comics6 years ago

The Torc - Page 60 of the cartoon about Phill from GCHQ - a free comic that I have been working on since September 2016.

Introduction to this weeks page

The long flash back that tells the story of Aleanor Knight is finally interrupted in the last frame, but before that a new narrator takes over. This time it is Gerald Cornwall who until last page simply was a kind of commentator. So the story within a story has had three narrators! It is not to be clever, it came rather intuitively.

I would have liked to go more into Cornwall's interpretation of the stone, it is definitely atypical. I know that the finding of the stone should have done a greater impression on the young historian, but the important part of the story is Eleanor, so Gerald seems completely relaxed.

Here are some beautiful Anglo-saxon stones: https://www.kornbluthphoto.com/AngloSaxon2.html

If you press the image you can see the larger image from the website

Happy reading.

Translations

Thanks to some very dedicated and helpful people the comic about Phill from GCHQ can also be read in other languages. New pages are published on their respective Steemit pages. Please follow them and support their work!

I would be very pleased if you considered supporting the comic with fiat-money on:

or with cryptocoins:

Bitcoins: 1EpzfvHpvYui8dguG2sbxk7VvcehxZGNca

Ether: 0x779f31b12862e6d750cbbcdb9a2c315b44504d83

Litecoin: LcUeDDMSzhaGwMd7m6x1qptdNZ3nrPEyiq

Bitcoin Cash: 17xXYeYrJWReqf9r2sgZf5QtigqvXeURUu

Ripple: rBENrZprLN4sjiVEi8JX5rH48k1B9GK9Gd

Steem: here on Steemit :)

The comic is, like all my digital artworks, made exclusively with open source software:


The comic is licensed as

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC-by)

Sort:  

Cool layout on this. One little thing, I think it should be 'Norns were Norse goddesses'

So, removing the the?

You had where instead of were

Ah, thanks :)

Great page again :-)

I wonder why Eleanor pinches her butt cheeks together like that in the center. She almost looks like she's flying. Gerald probably is immersed in the sight of her cleavage. Somehow he reminds me of you in this young age, while he reminds me of Vincent at the more mature age as one of the narrators ;-)

I'm glad, that you were able to publish the page at thursday again and I will see, that I can do the translation of page 59 within the next few days.

Thanks, mate! I had thought about me looking a bit like the young Gerald, but not that Vincent was the old one :) hilarious thought! Take your time. I guess I will be back on track now. I have not taken lightly to heat, and it has really taken me some time to find my old form after the infection, but now I go to the harbour every day and swim. My arms are almost falling off, but I can work and have more energy now than I have had since I started on Phill.

Hope the holiday is splendid!

Great, that's very good to hear. Maybe soon you'll be a whale, if the water does you so good ;-)

Does Copenhagen have a good swimming pool near the harbour or do you really swim in the harbour basin?

I still find it difficult to return to my daily Steemit routine, because I enjoy the holidays too much. But I'll be back on track soon.

Hopefully I will be a whale soon, especially in the crypto monetary sense!

The water of the harbour basin has for many years been clean and there is these floating wooden constructions that can be used for free.

This is the one use most often. Sometimes they are closed after heavy rainfall, because the sewer has overrun. Then I go to the beach instead. The beach is just as close to where I live but it is easier to swim in a swimming lane that is 75 m. Then you always know exactly how long you have been swimming... silly really now I think of it, but I guess it is the same with people using step counters or running apps.

When I don't feel like it I just drop Steemit for a while. It is part of my working routine and after many years trying to force myself to achieve goals and keep up routines, I have experienced that I am just as effective (and ineffective) when not worrying. It is part of my midlife zen :) Another part of that is to reuse as much as possible , so now I will use some of the text I already wrote to you as a new post about the swimming facilities of Copenhagen :)

Then I will take my daughter to the beach.

Haha, I should take a slice of your midlife zen. It's an excellent idea to turn an interesting comment into a post.

I also think the idea of a free harbour pool is excellent. The construction also blends in well with the architecture of the surroundings.

But beach doesn't sound bad either. When I was in Copenhagen once, I only saw the little mermaid...

After reading your comment, I also had to go swimming today. I went to a neat little open-air bath at the foot of Dragon's Rock.

IMG_1896.JPG

Thanks for the inspiration ;-)

It's all about recycling these days :) Yes, building the harbour pool was genious and the original has been such a succes that 4 other have been built.

Not sure where Dragon's Rock is, but sounds great.

It‘s a famous hill near my hometown (one of the seven hills). I showed it Vicent, when he visited me and wrote a series about it.

excellent work, I like what you do - drawing comics is a thankless job at times (as is most art) and this post deserves lots of upvotes!

When I was 16 I wanted to be a comic artist. I bought all the psychedelic French comics and was very interested in continuing this. Somehow I ended up on the Copenhagen Academy and read French philosophers... now I am back to the original project, maybe even going back to my childhood's Tintin. Age is not as simple as it sounds. Thanks for your good wishes :)

really lovely page * ___ * the inking and detailing are superb ! and the story and flow are also done beautifully <3 love the page layout, as well * __ * Very lovely work <3

Yay! Another page. Me like.

Also made me realise it has been something of a dream for me to actually find a torc instead of all the other stuff I have found in France 8-).

The torc would be the top!

Here's some written help on how to put it on. https://blog.britishmuseum.org/how-do-you-put-on-a-torc/

And then you can start smoking the pipe too!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.