Phill from GCHQ - page 9

in #comic7 years ago


Cellar! sweet cellar! - Page 9 of Phill from GCHQ in which we experience Phill in his homely environment - secure, safe, and cosy - that is… until something nasty happens. Licensed CC-by so anybody can continue the story if they like :)


Read the other pages at:

phillfromgchq.co.uk


Please consider to support the comic with fiat-money on:

and

or with cryptocoins:

Bitcoins: 18gemkcGg5sWvcxRE7EZezqrpWPRfdttzJ

Steem: here on Steemit :)

Published at my Diaspora profile a couple of minuttes ago.

The page is made with Krita my favorite Linux drawing application, and is licenced CC-BY


Sort:  

This series is so great! I like the style and your humor very much! Especially all the details. I'm starting to think about how I could contribute to that. Did anyone of the steemit users build on your work yet? Also interesting to see that you are on patreon, looks like lots of artists joining this recently.

Thanks a lot for the encouragement :) I do like details. Finding the right quote by Horace or Goethe. having some real c++ code in the backdoor, finding the right house etc. I will explain some of it later - like Phill's name, but I also thought that it could be an interesting treasure hunt for the ones that like thoroughness. The problem with serials like this is that there on most pages need to be something more than just spliffy graphics to keep it interesting.

I did ask for some advice on Diaspora, so I guess that is at least one way of contributing.

As for Patreon I just opened the account for this. Right now I have taken some time of to make the comic, but of course I have to look at the economic aspects too. I actually never did try to make money from the internet before, but I like making art anonymously, and get out to a large and unpredictable audience that only know my work. So I thought it was about time I gave it a shoot. I also made a flattr-account which is a great system, but not that common.

I left some ideas at you diaspora post. Also for flattr, I used that a few times 6 years ago, but they seem to have deleted my account :-( Later I switched to changetip, where you could send btc-tips to anybody with an email-address, but they're also discontinuing their service. I hope this all works out for you, as I believe that talented people should be able to make a living out of their passion. For me steemit is a real inspiration in that sense. Keep it up!

Great, just saw the security tips. Thanks. I'll get along - I have been hustling the earth as an artist for many years, and the most important thing is to keep expenses down :)

lol. Phill has such issues, but he doesn't seem all that bad or wrong. Opensource Blockchain tech for the damn win. Bitsquare, OpenBazaar, Steemit, three safe bets https://steemit.com/steemit/@stephenkendal/the-evolution-of-social-media-and-why-steemit-is-so-important#@cryplectibles/re-stephenkendal-the-evolution-of-social-media-and-why-steemit-is-so-important-20161128t132327756z

Yea, until now I have only gotten to present the introvert, phobiac, overly defensive Phill, so I'm glad you sense something positive in him. From next page his present life is going down the drain, so I will get to show a more complex personality.

And yes, Steemit is actually what made me decide to carry on with the comic. Making a page like this takes so much longer than just making drawings, and as I wrote in the comment to @shortcut trying to get some economy into this has become my present goal. The three supporters on Patreon gives me 9.3 $ a month which is less than what I have received in Steemit upvotes. So as business-models go I have more faith in Steemit, right now.

I hate it when my TV melts!

A frustrating experience indeed, and as you will see next time, it can even be a traumatic experience. :)

Have you read any of the Charlie Stross books about a secret government department that deals with the occult? I've read a couple and enjoyed them.

http://www.antipope.org/charlie/blog-static/2016/04/faq-the-laundry-filesseries-ti.html

No, I haven't, but I read a lot, so I'll put them in the queue :)