Crossing the taurus mountains in Turkey by bike (part 4)

in Pinmapple6 months ago

The view I am waking up to, once more, pays for everything. My sore bum, my endless struggles the day before and the very short night I have behind me.

The lake turns red and blue, glowing in the light before sunrise.

We cycle along the last bit of this huge lake, that we completely underestimated in it’s size and length. Crossing a few more herds of sheep and cows.

Back on the main road on our way to todays “breakfast-village”.

As we arrive we can not find any bakery, but instead there is a market unfolding along the streets.

We park the bikes and I walk through the stalls, wondering what breakfast should consist of today.

First stop is in the entrance of a house, behind a corner a few women are sitting on the ground, making fresh “Gözleme”. One is rolling the dough. The next one fills it with either potatoes or cheese, meanwhile the last one cooks them on the fire.

What are they talking about? It is a pleasure to watch them in their repetitive movements, they flow, naturally, it looks beautiful, while the smell makes it impossible for me to forget, that I am very hungry.

As I continue to buy some fruits, a man on a stall asks me about the travels I am on, where form where to? When I want to pay for my few nectarines and peaches, he nodes hands over a fifthy lyra note and tells me the fruits are on him. Surprised, I thank him, as he walks away, wishing me a good continuation.

On the next stall I try to buy some apples, but when the guy sees my little bag with only four apples in it. He looks at me strangely, asking if that’s all I want, laughs and tells me to take the apples and go, without paying for them. I have to laugh too. Was I ever welcomed like that, by complete strangers?

I end the tour with some tomatoes, which I finally get to pay for, partially. Because she still fills up the bag some more after I already gave her what she had asked for.

Breakfast tastes delicious, that day. “Gözleme” tomatoes, fruits and coffee.

Then I change my breaks, from worst to bad, because I don’t have any new set of spare break pads. Luckily I kept the old ones, because I notice the current ones are completely used and we are still at 2000m altitude, that we will decent all the way to sea-level in the next two days.

More endless cycling through surreal mountain landscapes follows until we find ourselves on an endless straight line through a valley. On both sides, the peaks reach high up and we know that sooner or later we will have to cross one of them.

As cycling is turning into an endless repetition, meditative and physical, one meter after the other, strawberries disturb our flow.

On the side of the road are lots of little huts, mostly women are selling huge amounts of strawberries.
We stop and eat. She gives us a whole bucket, probably one kilo. Turkish don’t seem to have any understanding for people buying only one hand full of fruits. Luckily, because these are the best strawberries I have ever eaten.

In October!!!

More cycling, followed by a break, scenic views with unmissable traces of humans.

To round up this day full of fruits, I enjoy the one ever returning snack; Banana and peanut butter.

Before setting off to cross one last mountain in the dawn of the day.

Where we will put up the tent, we don’t know yet. All we know is, it has to be behind that mountain.

Thank you all for passing by, have a lovely day!

All photos and words are, as usual, my own.

[//]:# (!pinmapple 37.39473 lat 31.50462 long Crossing the taurus mountains in Turkey (part 4) d3scr)

Sort:  

Always a pleasure to read your trip reports. If it was me I doubt I would have the energy to put a post together. Well done. Pedal on!

Thank you, very nice to hear that!!
...I write them after, then it's actually really nice to go through it all again by writing:)

What scenery!

Banana and peanut butter

I love it! And I eat it (with the baguette) here, in Da Nang City, Vietnam, very often. 😀

Thank you!!
Aah yes, sometimes I add the bread underneath too:)

Great journey, I love it :) ❤️ Having a vehicle like a bike to move from one place to another is the most comfortable, and it allows you to improve yourself every time. Those landscapes are very beautiful, I'm happy for everything you are experiencing. Keep it up 💕

Thank you😘
Indeed an awesome vehicle, so much freedom on where to go with it, and you get some free exercises at the same time😁
❤️

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you😊🌸

Wow, top photographs 📸

Banana and peanut butter, two of my favorite food, but eaten together?
Maybe I'm missing out on something 😄

I would say yes😁 ...perfect combo, in my opinion😊

Congratulations @kesityu.fashion! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with this rare badge

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - October 2023 Winners List

😊🐝💛

We're glad to see you're happy, @kesityu.fashion! Keep up the great work and continue to create amazing content. 🐝💛

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2047.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

That's awesome news, thank you😊🙃

Upvoted by the Cycling Community

Share your rides, bicycle, maintenance, news or any other cycling related content!

image.png

Supporting the Cycling Community

You can help the Cycling Community to support cyclists on Hive by delegating Hive Power or following our Curation Trail (via https://hive.vote: @hive177745)
You can select the Hive Power you like to delegate here:
25 - 50 - 100 -250 - 500

Check out our Discord Channel too!