Baby Yoda- Isn't it adorable?

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

baby yodaB.jpg

Mandalorian is my favorite part of Star Wars franchise. I got into star wars quite late, I watched the first one when I was 17 (III) and my favorite characters were the robots (R2D2 and C-3PO). I only watched the rest few years ago, mostly because the newest ones came out.

This is a spoiler free post and I'm not great at objective reviews. This post is 100% subjective :)

I watched a Ted talk a few years ago and it really resonated with me. It essentially explains how a father was looking for good strong role models for his young daughter and son.

I don't care who is the main character, I care if there are cool side characters with personalities that experience development through the story. I really liked Rose Tico and was disappointing she didn't get more character development and not to mention Finn. Also I'm kind of tired of romance in movies and shows (the End Game did it really well tho). This is partially why I prefer kids books, they're packed with action and stories and romance is never a defining characteristic for a character.

baby yoda process.jpg

The book that finally got me interested in Sci-Fi is the Hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy and again my favorite character was a robot- Marvin the Paranoid Android. Somehow the robots tend to show more emotions than their human counterparts. Since the books I'm much more interested in sci-fi and the last audiobook I finished listening to was 2001: A Space Odyssey.

Book recommendations are welcome :D

Mandalorian is epic because it doesn't rush things and isn't too serious. We get to see the environments more and get to know characters slowly just like reading a book. Hints and secrets aren't revealed in just an hour and the show overall is very relaxing to watch. I highly recommend it, even to anyone who hasn't watched any Star Wars at all (or doesn't even plan to watch). You don't need to know anything to watch the show and enjoy it.

The show has awesome sets and lot of details. I can't believe they almost made Baby Yoda digital D: Moreover, the women side characters are all badass, the mechanic was really funny and the Mandalorian blacksmith is cool and mysterious. Moreover, the gender choices don't feel forced and each character has unique personality.

Getting back to Baby Yoda

It's technically not a baby Yoda, since Yoda is a name and not a species type. However, it really sounds cute and has gained traction, the creators don't mind it being called Baby Yoda.

Even though it's 500 years old, it's actually still an infant. I love how much detail they put into him. The gender still wasn't revealed, but I'll just use him instead of it. Baby Yoda is so adorable all the time I couldn't help but make exclamations and reactions all the time, and my partner found that really funny.

I love how well they portrayed how impressionable kids are. Seriously, is baby Yoda seeing a bit too much violence? Also he is really great at deescalating conflict. Last, but not least, he's stubborn and always curious, I really relate to that and it melts my heart. Also those ears along express so many emotions it's incredible!

I hope the initial gif shows well how I drew it, and if you have any questions, feel free to ask them :D

I try to use mostly full opacity charcoal brush and I sometimes change the brush for final details. I did the rough color composition first then blurred the whole image to get quick smooth blending. Over it I painted the crisp details.

image.png

This post was inspired by the daily drawing challenge. However I feel like it's a little late for me to join, what do you guys think? Should I try catching up or just post whatever themes are left. Or do you want more of 30min sketches (or maybe combine the 2)?

image.png

This is a quickie I drew today (around 15min), the cover image I drew a while ago around the time Mandalorian came out. It was an art study that took around 3h to draw.

image.png

How often do you relate to movie characters and what kind of characters?

Sort:  

If they didn't want it to be called Baby Yoda then they might have needed to reveal its name (and optionally gender) at some stage XD

wouldn't surprise me if they called it Baby Yoda from the outset themselves XP

And now I've got that Baby Yoda song stuck in my head again -_-

 4 years ago (edited) 

wouldn't surprise me if they called it Baby Yoda from the outset themselves XP

hahhaa you're probably right xD
Awww, from the show or is there some other song? :D

I don't know, I didn't watch the show. It was this one anyway.

 4 years ago  

Lol I haven't seen this before, a bit weird tune for me xD

I only know about it because it was on something or other that my daughter is on so it got played in the house for a while.

is old XD

 4 years ago  

my daughter is on

Haha, that's definitely a way to put it. When my siblings were small, whatever they were "on" got played a million times :D

Omg baby Yoda is so cute, and you made it look so good!👏🏼

 4 years ago  

Thank you very much ^-^


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
 4 years ago  

Thank you! ^_^

Cool artwork @kristyglas🙂

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D

Omg what a beautiful baby yoda, I would like to have a baby yoda for me, is very cute! 😍

 4 years ago  

Aww thank you ^-^ and yea I love how well they animated baby Yoda :D