Snow Inukshuks of Nunavut - A Community Easter Contest

in Black And White4 years ago

I have the privilege of living in a very unique spot, up in the arctic circle of Canada. With the Corona crapshow still in full effect, our hamlet decided to carry on with Easter festivities but to do it in a way that still allowed social distancing. One of the more prominent activities was creating easter themed snow scenes. There were a bunch of houses that participated, and I'm afraid my camera froze up from the -30 wind before I could photograph them all. Here is what I captured.

Easter bunnies

With more bunn friends

Egg-head got a heart hat!

Beautifully carved easter bunny

Happy snowman with Maqivvia (Easter) Written in Inuktitut syllabic (I think)

Easter egg decorated with stones and a Snow Ulu, a traditional Inuit knife.

A tiny set of inukshuks. Notice the saw handle in the background. That is how they carve out chunks of hardened snow.

A more familiar snowman, with seals and a polar bear for companions.

A silly snowman lounging lazily. His chest is colored purple.

Smol Squirrel and egg

Inukshuks are also known as Inuksuit by the Inuit.

Arctic Hare

The hollowed out egg to the right of the bunny had a bunch of plastic eggs inside it.

Sadly, this is where my camera died and the weather has taken a bit of a turn with gusts of 65 km/h knocking most of the remaining scenes over or eroding them away with the snow blown as hard as a sandblaster.

Thank you for taking the time to look through my photographs. I use a Nikon P900 in the Black + White Effects setting since the white on white on white is really hard to photograph quickly. At least for someone new to photography it is.

lacking  Edited.png

Sort:  

Hi! @lacking.
You're right you have the special privilege to live there.
I enjoy a lot your photographs
Have a nice day!

These are some really cool photos, and I'm super impressed with the skill of some of the snow sculptures! Very awesome!

Oh, I love the snow bunnies! These are all such amazing sculptures, especially considering the weather conditions up there! Hope you stay safe & warm!

They must carve them out of a whole chunk of hardened snow and slowly shape them by hand, because it's definitely not warm enough to mold the snow into shapes lol It goes hand in hand with their traditional rock carvings too :D

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

These ice and snow sculptures are so lovely! I was complaining about the cold in Montreal and that we got snow in April, but when I read your post, I realized that it can always be worse. ;-)