Woes of my Model F

in #ibm6 years ago

Originally I was going to post an awesome how to disassemble and restore a Model F Keyboard.
Anyone not familiar with the Model F, it is the keybard that came with the IBM PC 5150,
the computer that changed the world in 1981.

mf.jpg

These keyboards go for a few hundred fully restored. They have a full buckling spring that makes a loud "clack"
and by far IMO is superior to any cherry gaming board produced today. This is the Rolls Royce of keyboards.

Anyway,
I had a key that wouldn't register. On the advice of the Vintage Computer Club I disassembled it and cleaned it thoroughly.

BEFORE:

DSCN1786.JPG

AFTER:
DSCN1789.JPG

This story should have a happy ending right??? ... WRONG.

After reassembly I noticed the space bar just wasn't working correctly. I took it apart again and to my horror....

modelf.jpg

I broke the capacitive buckle spring assembly.

I searched google for a replacement to no avail.

If anyone knows where to get one I'd be much obliged.

Sort:  

Wow what a change...love it

The beauty that is found in Classics - Older I get the more beautiful they become. I will ask around and find out if I know of any