A different London 不一樣的倫敦

in #london6 years ago (edited)


Many of my friends who have been to London have told me they love the energy of the city, the culture and heritage it offers, the Englishness of it, and love it just because it's London. Sadly, there are a few who found it boring. In the past I've shown you some London Skycrapers before. Today, I want to show you a few popular tourist spots but from a different viewpoiont, a different London. I'm also going to let you in on a secret spot to see the best sunset view in London.
喜愛倫敦的朋友會喜愛它的繁榮熱鬧,喜愛它充滿傳統和文化氣息, 有或者不需要任何原因,就只是因為它是倫敦。 不喜歡的朋友會覺得它沉悶,大霧。 如果你是後者, 我希望可以通過"不一樣的倫敦"讓你改觀。 這輯相片都是在晚上拍攝 ,經過特別效果修改,從另一個角度去看平日熟悉的倫敦。 "不一樣的倫敦" 的日落照,攝於著名聖保祿大教堂附近一個商場。 下次到倫敦推薦大家到這裏欣賞倫敦的美麗日落景色。

All these photo were taken one evening, when tourists have finished their sightseeing and shopping during the daytime. Then I have been playing around with some photo editing effects, to highlight some of the features. If you didn't like London before, I hope you will like my different London.

Oh, let me take you by the hand
And lead you through The Streets of London
I'll show you something
To make you change your mind
(Lyrics from Streets of London)

 

PICCADILLY CIRCUS

If you're one of the 100 million visitors that pass through Piccadilly Circus each year, this world famous neon sign would have been unmissable. Did you stand opposite by the Shaftesbury Memorial Fountain watching in awe at the adverts on London's icon? By the way, did you know that Coca Cola has had an advert here since 1955?

This is the famous neon sign at Piccadilly Circus in London UK

Here's another view of Piccadilly Circus from the entrance to Haymarket. From here you can see the majestic architecture that has been here for as long as probably a couple hundred of years? I tried to accentuate the features from the exterior of the buildings through playing around with the photo editing effects.


Let's take a look at the opposite end of Piccadilly Circus towards Leicester Square. Still very busy at night time. In fact us Brits often say "It's like Piccadilly Circus here" to refer to things getting very busy and hectic. That's what it's like here all the time.


LEICESTER SQUARE

We're moving a bit further away from Piccadilly Circus, and have come to Leicester Square. You can still see Piccadilly Circus in the background. On the right is M&M, can you see its sign above the door? This is the world's largest candy store. Yes, you read it right - THE WORLD'S LARGEST CANDY STORE - in case you missed it!

Do you notice the Swiss glockenspiel here? If you've seen this when you were in London, have you ever wondered why it's bang in the middle of London? Kinda odd, right? Years ago, and we're talking back in the late 60's, where M&Ms is now, this building used to be the Swiss Centre. In 1984 the Swiss gifted the glockenspiel to London to promote friendship between the two countries. Tourists (me included when I was a kid visiting London with my parents) would hang around on the hour to listen to the bells chime and the figures moving around in a circle. The Swiss Centre was later pulled down but the glockenspiel stayed and was restored. It has become an integral part of this spot.


We're walking a bit further into Leicester Square now. Leicester Square is famous for the many cinemas around the square, and that's where the film premieres are normally held. There's a park in the middle of the square and every year the Chinese New Year celebrations are held here as China Town is just a stone throw away. On a normal evening, the park is a stark contrast to these glamorous and buzz film premiere evenings and the always busy Chinatown.

The park at the centre of Leicester Square, London

TRAFALGAR SQUARE

In less than 5 minutes walk away from Leicester is Trafalgar Square. Nelson Column stands tall in the middle of square surrounded by the many fountains. There are four bronze lions at the foot of the column, I still have photos of me as a kid sitting by these lions. I wonder how many other people have similar photos in their photo albums at home?

Nelson Column at Trafalger Square in London, UK

When I was playing around with the photo effects, I quite liked this outcome. I think it was the x-ray effect, but I think it made the photo looked a bit snowy instead, almost like something you would see on a Christmas card. Funny enough, the iconic red bus on the left hand side of the photo became a green bus. Definitely a different London.

Fountains at the Trafalger Square, a different London

This is the other side of Trafalgar Square, and this is the National Gallery. Behind it is Leicester Square. If you haven't been to the National Gallery before, I highly recommend you go next time you're in town. This was on my doorstep all these years when I was in London, yet I never set foot inside until two weeks before I was due to leave UK for Taiwan. I know nothing about art, but I wish had discovered it earlier.

National Gallery, London

SUNSET FROM A DIFFERENT LONDON

London probably isn't best known for its sunset views as people normally focus in its many iconic buildings. However, if you know your way around you can get to see some of the best sunset views in London. If you're familiar with some of the urban landscapes of London, you may recognise the famous St Pauls Cathedral. On the left you can see the London Eye.

You wanna know where I took this photo? I'll let you into my secret favourite spot - the roof terrace of a shopping centre. The shopping centre is call One New Change and is just behind St Pauls Cathedral. It is opened every day from 6am to midnight, and the best thing about it, it's free! So next time you're in London, don't waste money to go up The Shard.


After seeing a different London though my eyes, if you didn't like London before, I hope you will now.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://livinguktaiwan.com/a-different-london-%e4%b8%8d%e4%b8%80%e6%a8%a3%e7%9a%84%e5%80%ab%e6%95%a6/


Check out all my travel posts here on Steemit Worldmap, and also my latest project @LadiesOfAsia where we share fun and cultural diversity across Asia Pacific.

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

On a normal evening, the park is a stark contrast to these glamourous and buzz film premiere evenings and the always busy Chinatown.
It should be glamorous instead of glamourous.

I have been to London twice. Your photos brought back pleasant memories of my holidays in London.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm very glad you had pleasant memories of London. If you went back again, I take it you liked it ^_^

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Hi @livinguktaiwan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.179 which ranks you at #2790 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2785).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 337 contributions, your post is ranked at #91.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

I lived in London for 5 years,long story why, but this town is overcrowded for me. Only one thing I'm missing and you didn't mention is Camden Town and its pubs and bars. Great place where after sunset only the best people stay and party. If you know London, than maybe would recognize famous Dublin Castle pub, my favourite one. To be fair London is bloody expensive :P

You're right about London being expensive!! Camden Town is a bit off beat for me as I used to live in south west out in Surrey. I think I've only been once or probably twice

I lived in Isleworth and spent many weekends in Camden :)

Dear @livinguktaiwan,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Thanks!

I used London by mistake so ran out of tags!!

Oops, it is fine ;) We do it in both ways. One is we curate and list the story into the project while the other way is you write the story and use #archisteem tag.

Beautiful and impressive photos you really provide with those photos a different eye about London. I did not know of that world largest candy store. In any case I really like London I have been three times my last time it was 2006

Yah!!! Another winner who likes London! Luv Ya!!!

I love London. Cool effects on the photos. I like Tate and Tate Modern too. All the galleries are great.

Yes the Tate Modern is good. I haven't been to the Tate Britain though 😚