The suspended monorail in Wuppertal, Germany

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


When I found out about the Wuppertal suspended monorail, and that it was so near where I was visiting, I figured it would be a crime not to go for a ride. There are only a handful of them in operation in the world, and this one is the oldest electrical one. How old? How about 122 years old😀 That's pretty impressive, right?

It turns out the cost of the monorail ride is included in my train day pass, and since I had nothing else to do, I ended up riding the 13.3km ride two and and half tI message so I can see the view from both directions.

The suspended monorail is used by locals as their normal means of transport. However, due to it's unique nature, it's also a very popular tourist attraction for those visiting Wuppertal and nearby.

Come and join me on the ride!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Interesting design. A good way to save space on land so they can keep the way things are or build other structures than placing rails. Over 100 years old design.... nice. Great trip ddajie~!

Hello hello!

It's certainly a very creative system, and it runs above the river for most of the route, and then for a few stations directly above the street and all the traffic. It was so wicked cool.

I got loads of photos of the ride, will be posting about that when I get round to it. Still got loads of travel content I haven't got round to post yet

I remember riding on the monorail at Disney when I was a kid. It was such an awesome experience. I heard today that the US is finally putting some money into our aging rail system...

It would be awesome if US has a better rail system, it would make it so much easier to travel around. I was looking for drive free holidays in US a while ago and there wasn't much options

No, not really. You might be able to get away with it in one of the big cities, but outside of NYC, Chicago, and the big cities in California, you are really missing out if you can't drive yourself here and there.

Seeing something like this for the first time. Looks a bit scary, as it is suspended, while it is moving up and the passers-by walking down below it.

Most of the track runs above the river, the part you see above people going into the station building was the town center and it goes very slow at that point. It actually feels a lot better than it looks on ground

is the whole ride above a canal?
Your ride looks awesome and cool! Isn't it scary?

Most of it is above the river, but there's also one part directly above the road with cars driving underneath, that was so cool. I didn't take any video but got photos and will posts about it later

That’s so cool… yes, well done. If I knew about it and was close by… I for sure would have checked it out too.
Have a great Saturday 👋🏻😊

Thanks Jackie, and you have a great week ahead

You are welcome Pauline 😊
Thanks… tomorrow we reach Stockholm… our last days of our month long road trip we spend there 😎
Enjoy your week!
!LUV

@littlebee4 sent you LUV 🙂 (3/10)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

It is amazing that this was available over 100 years ago. A very scenic ride, I would love to ride that 😊

There's a variety of scenes from industrial, urban and rural, I liked it so much that I did the ride multiple times !!

Gosh it's almost like a floating train, I'm amazed that it's been there for so long, one would think it's a modern invention. Was it a smooth ride?
It must have been quite an experience! Imagine the engineering design that went into it, especially back in the day before computer aided programs, calculators etc!
Thank you for taking us along 😉

It's a very smooth ride as can be seen from the video, I was just resting my phone on the rail. There was a little sway as it slowed down when entering the station, that was it.

These engineering projects always amazes me when they're so old and still so efficient, absolutely fascinating.

My hubby would have been fascinated and in awe, as he was in engineering himself, but roads and stormwater, on terra firma ;) There are some brilliant minds out there!

122 years is very impressive. It doesn't look very old. Must be updated periodically. Very cool feature of the city.

These carriages are new but I believe they still have an old Imperial Carriage that is used for special occasions.

BTW, Wuppertal is very near Dusseldorf, I checked out your Dusseldorf and Cologne posts before I went

Oh nice! I hope the posts were helpful in some way. 😁

Ingenious! over 100 years old it looks like the future to me :-)

Imagine how difficult it would be to build this nowadays with everywhere so built up

122 years old!! Pretty impressive. It is attractive and interesting to look at how it works. This is my first time seeing a suspended monorail...Thanks for sharing this video...

I was actually here on the day you were in Cologne!

My regret is increasing more now 🤣

so amazing a train , 122years old 👍👍👍

It was a lovely ride 😀

This is soooo cool! I’ve never seen anything like this!

I think KM would love it, we all had a great time

Thank you for the tour, I enjoyed it very much, it was wonderful.

Hello livinguktaiwan!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 6th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by peter.goki

You receive 🎖 1.3 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 142 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START