How rendering my videos dropped from 2 hours to 14 minutes

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


It's been well over a year since I made a video on Hive, long over overdue.
Jailed in Alcatraz.png

In the past year and a half, I've been making quite a lot of videos, but they're all on YouTube targetted at a specific audience hence I don't post them on Hive. I'm making this video because thanks to the black Friday deals, I bought a new laptop this week, and want to thank the Hive community for supporting me with the purchase. Whilst I didn't actually withdraw any Hive to buy it, it's the thought of knowing I earned something on the platform that helps to justify it.

I spent his weekend playing with my two laptops, cleaning up files in the old one before I transfer them over to the new one. Then I've had to make sure all the apps and programs work on my new laptop, especially since I got quite a few that are Hive and crypto related from recent years. It's such a tedious process.

The difference between my old and new laptop is remarkable as you'll see in the video. The biggest difference is the time it takes to render a video and this was the main reason I bought it. Previously a 10 minute video would take me nearly two hours to render. I couldn't wait to see how long it wold take on my new laptop. Today, this three and a half minute video took me less than 14 minutes to render!!!! I'm really impressed!! And now this means instead of having my dinner whilst waiting for my video to render, now I can only have my cup of tea!!!!

The other thing that I will be busy with this weekend is to work out how the Ledger works. I never really felt the need for it in the past as my crypto portfolio is so small. As I was browsing for Black Friday deals this weekend I saw this on offer at £38, so I figured it was time to get one. Knowing how stupid I am with tech stuff, this might take me a while to figure out. In fact, if you want to know how stupid I can be sometimes, check out the end of my video!!
20211127_155731.jpg

Have a great weekend everyone!!!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Nice team work!

I was just saying to my friend this morning, I really need a new lap top, mine is so slow, also had it for quite a long time, to long actually. It's so nice to put a face to a name, you are so beautiful @livinguktaiwan enjoy your new lap top. Thank you for shearing.

Now you're making me blush @artywink!! Thank you for your kind words!!

I been thinking a long time about getting a new laptop as I'm not awfully fussed about it, but it's getting to the stage where I'm constantly running out of storage, the battery has gone, my husband broke the keyboard so I have to use an internal one, plus it frequently hangs when I use resource intensive apps, so I finally decided to bite the bullet. 😁

Mine is so sensitive, I have only to breath on it and it starts misbehaving, Lol! Have an awesome week.

Ohhh.... That sounds kinky 🤣🤣

You enjoy the rest of your weekend as well, and stay safe ❤️

That's great news, congratulation for your new laptop! 😊

Really Cool. Finally shorter time for work. BTW Happy weekend. 🤗🤗🤗

Yes, am already enjoying the efficiency! Thanks

excellent video there, Hope the new laptop opens the door for you too possibly create more video content. think you made A tiny mistake editing the video unless this is two parts but other than that fantastic work!. Great post!

!PIZZA

Oh no!!! I uploaded the wrong version!!!! urgghhh!

I sorted out the correct video at last! Had to upload to my alt and decline rewards, not that anyone votes on it anyway.

So back to my post, yes, I'm enjoying my new laptop it's been ages since I got a new one, bit like an early Christmas present 😂

what's your alt? I would like to see the video :) and glad to hear you are liking the new laptop

!PIZZA

the one at the top of this post is the correct one now, I replaced it with the wrong one. Thank you so much for your support Chris.!!

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!
@livinguktaiwan! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@chris-uk(1/10) tipped @livinguktaiwan (x2)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

hi beautiful friend, can you translate into Indonesian for me 🤟🥰😁

Congratulations on the purchases! It's honestly my first time seeing you on a video. <3

It's been ages since I done a video on Hive, actually come to think of it, the last one might have been last February which would make it pre Hive!!!

Awesome!!

Hello Pauline, it's amazing to see you on video. Congrats on your new laptop! 😊

Thanks Erne, it's nice treating myself every now and then. Hope you are well!

Congratulations on the new laptop and Ledger. That's exciting. Sounds like it's going to save you a lot of time going forward. The ledger is pretty straightforward for the most part but you're not alone in feeling stupid when it comes to crypto so don't feel bad. I have to Google videos on how to do everything pretty much every single time I update a wallet or do anything crypto related. Lol

What would we do without Google!! Sounds like you got yourself a Ledger as well. I'm hoping the little gadget won't be too complicated, we shall see...

Yeah I have had mine pretty much since I got into crypto. They are pretty easy to use I think. Very user friendly overall

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

I read the title like, finally, she withdraw some Hive and enjoyed the loot. I have a similar look about how I consider Hive rewards, where HBD is pegged to USD. I don't withdraw the tokens, haven't done so in years now, but it helps to mentally cushion some expenses I do on life as the other source of income. Congratulations on the new laptop!

The only time I withdraw a big chunk previously was the powerdown from steem, it sort of felt right to do it. Tbh, if i withdraw an amount that doesn't significantly change my life or pay for an important expense, I'd rather continue to stake it. It will make a difference one day, maybe like for my home care when I grow old. Damn, the thought of that sounds so depressing!!

I like to powerdown and slosh the hive earnings with HBD and Vice versa. Those short term back and forth gains are nice to help stack up while on the platform. I do see staking here long term as a nice back up fund for retirement too. It's just awesome that HBD has 10% APR right now. This is the financial hack most people on the 3rd world need.

Awesome and congrats on the new laptop!

Oh wow. So glad to see you in video. Hope you could see you more of you on video now.
Congratulations 🥳

Thanks. Hopefully, it's less painful to make videos now

Same-same
Even though I did now power-down or sell Hive, I was just happy and who knows indeed ;p

Congratulations on your new toy :D

The price has gone down a bit, so I'm thinking I've missed the boat. I dunno, I'll see.
But I guess it's nice to withdraw some to treat yourself every now and then

Still better than where it was before this climb
So okay lah :D

Congratulation on your new computer. I like this computer brand; it's quite durable. I hope it will help you be more successful in your work.

It was either Dell or HP as they do pretty good ones. Mac would be too expensive and I'd never buy the China brands (even though this is made in China ☹️ )

Thanks for dropping by!

Dell is always my favorite choice because the price is reasonable and the use is also quite good. As long as it fits the job criteria, I don't think it's necessary to buy an expensive one.

Opening up a new laptop from the box is always a great feeling isn't it? I recently bought a drone and got the same sensation. New toys! lol. Great post as always matey. Hope you're keeping healthy and well. :)

A new drone!!! Yeah!! When are you going to share stuff with us???!! You haven't posted for absolutely ages. How's life for you anyway?

Busy my end my friend. I've finally managed to complete the purchase of a woodland. The market has been incredibly competitive there, but I own one now. It's a rewarding feeling. But that and life in general has kept me flat out. I've got a slew of posts material saved to get out, just gotta get the time. But I still pop on and look at my favourite content creators when I can. I always pop by your blog of course as I enjoy the content. :)

Congratulations on your new laptop :) I hope it gives you many years of service :)

I hope so too!

I'm in the same boat. It gives me peace of mind, and at some point next year I will cash out to help me start a company so I can sponsor my own visa in Japan :-D  好久没有看你的时评,youtube最近都不给我推荐你。。。

Plenty of opportunity and time to go to Japan, I believe they still close their border?

I think it's open if you wanna do the 2 weeks in a hotel...which in Japan is...expensive!

I'm happy to see this post, so encouraging with your beautiful smile😊