Coffee Tasting Experience And Review | Kena Kopi


image.png

Line_Break2.png

My journey visiting coffee shop finally comes to an end. This coffee shop and roastery review will be the last of my coffee shop journey in this city. Thankfully this coffee shop does not disappoint me. Today, I am going to take you to my fun day tasting coffee and learning about coffee.

kenakopi1.jpg

Did you know? Philippine used to be the fourth-largest exporter of coffee beans in 1880, and due to coffee rust in that last of 1880 decade, it never finds its way to recover from the glory days.

I wouldn't know that fact if I hadn't read this book titled The World Encyclopedia of Coffee by Christine McFadden and Mary Banks. I spotted this book in this coffee shop and roastery called " Kena Kopi." Among many coffee shops that provide books, this is the first time I went to a coffee shop with this book. Today is also the first time I don't stay in a coffee shop to do writing work. Instead, I was engrossed in reading the book.

kenakop3.jpg

I was not compelled to take out my laptop mainly because the interior is not remote-work friendly. So, even the vibe itself is telling. You come to this place to get a cup of coffee while discussing something with your colleagues or friends. Even my Grab driver said that Kena Kopi was meant for the business or entrepreneur crowd instead of a regular visitor like me.

kenakopi2.jpg

This cafe is located on the city outskirt inside a gated residential place. Unlike many cafes in this city and the ones I have reviewed, this is the only place that provides books for visitors to read. Sadly, some of the books were dilapidated.

kenakopi5.jpg

I found the seating quite interesting. You will not run out of a power socket. However, the place is relatively small, and for those who have overstimulation problems, this place may not be suitable. Usually, when I go to a cafe and restaurants, I can already estimate how much time I spent in that cafe. A place where I spent lesser time indicates that I feel uncomfortable and making me anxious. In some worst cases, a higher dosage of my anxiety medication won't help me. When that happens, I will leave immediately and will never return.

kenakopi6.jpg

In this cafe, they also have a rooftop. A design like this seems to be the common theme of coffee shops these days. I imagine the rooftop to have an exciting view, especially during a starry night. But, in the morning or midday, it can get quite hot. But even it was hot; there were some people on that rooftop when I took pictures.

kenakopi7.jpg

Line_Break2.png

kenakopi9.jpg

Since it was my first-morning coffee, I ordered a cappuccino. I was not expecting a friendly barista in this place, so I was surprised. The barista was quite chatty and was ready to answer questions about the beans they have. In this cafe, not only do they serve the classic menu, but they also their specialties coffee.

Honestly, I did not know that this coffee shop offers coffee tasting experience until I asked the server about the coffee on the display. What piqued my interest was this local coffee which was grown from the hill nearby.

kenakopi8.jpg

After the server asked me to wait, I was greeted by the friendly barista. He explained some coffee on the shelves and asked me if I wanted to do coffee tasting. He also told me that there are two types of coffee, the one for espresso and the one for drip coffee. Since I only have dripper tools, I asked to be directed into the beans that is used for coffee dripper.

kenakopi11.jpg

But before that, I'd like to remind everyone that behind the coffee we drink there are hard worker farmers and they are the major part of this coffee industry. By buying local or even supporting business that donates to these workers, you are supporting these people to make ends meet.

Now let's get into the coffee tasting experience

coffee tasting 1.jpg

Tasting your own coffee at home versus tasting it at the roastery has different feels to it. At home you can buy beans and grind it yourself.But if you don't know the knowledge of grinding you might have the wrong body for the coffee that you used to consume. During this the tasting experience, the barista was asking me how I'd like my coffee done. He was using v60 for this anjasmoro classic originates from Wonosalam Jombang. He was more than welcome to show me the grinded beans so I can smell it because in those bags, they are still beans.

coffeetasting2.jpg

When I smell the coffee, the most apparent smell was brown sugar and earthy smell.

coffeetasting3.jpg

Remember about the previous discussion on coffee and mug? I suppose this place doesn't do their homework on it.

When I tasted the coffee, it tastes the same as advertised on the bag. It has orange, lime, and brown sugar taste. The orange and lime was more apparent than the brown sugar one.

coffeestasting4.jpg

In the end, I bought one of this. The barista was asking me if I want all the beans to be grinded. I said yes! though he said that he's afraid about aging. I told him that I can finish a bag of that in less than a month. So, I am not definitely concerned about it. Besides in my home, there are two more persons who are into coffee.

So, that's it. My journey of visiting coffee shop in this city ends here. I know that I have probably only covered a few but those were the one that I filtered based on my preferences and rating from outside sources.

Let me know in the comment section if you have ever tried coffee tasting!

Line_Break2.png

~ Mac

Line_Break2.png

Mac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, Mac enjoys learning art and exploring new hobbies.
Sort:  

Super review! It looks like a lovely little place. I really like the simplicity of their decor.


ll.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER

Thanks for visiting and commenting!. Their decor was simple for sure. They also integrate many ethnic element which was interesting to see. I enjoyed my visit but I would not put it on my top 3 list. Have a great day!

Yeah, perhaps not top 3 for experience - but still held its own kind of unique charm?


ll.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER

Buen provecho, saludos desde Venezuela

Saludos ! Qué tengas un lindo día!

Igualmente

 3 years ago  

Hello @macchiata I was just getting used to reading your coffee reviews, sorry this is your last one :(
That's an interesting fact, yet not surprising that Philippines was the 4th largest importer of coffee many moons ago.
I like the idea of having a library in a coffee shop. It's good to know that there're places that still promote the reading of books and not just WiFi.
One thing for sure, it doesn't look like your typical Coffee Shop. It's always nice to walk in on something new :)

I got told there are more interesting places in town though they're not my style. But, I decided to make this one the last as I need to focus on something else for now. Plus, I am expected to travel again in the coming weeks. So, I'll probably reviewing the coffee shop in another province soon. I'd be happy to read more coffee shop reviews from other as I'd love to see the coffee shop in another countries. Hopefully, in the future I can have my own coffee shop :D and a creative space.

 3 years ago  

Oh, wishing you safe traveling journeys!
It would be brilliant if you got to operate your own Coffee Shop. Don't give up on your dream.
All good wishes :)

It looks like such a lovely and chilled place!
Love the description of the coffee and I would so love to smell them!

As much as I hate the taste of coffee, I absolutely adore the smell of grinding beans!

What a great review and it sounds like it a nice little place to go back to where you will be welcomed with open arms and a gorgeous cuppa to go with it!

Do you prefer teas? if so, let me know your favorite. The place was not as unique nor comfortable as other places I had reviewed but that was alright according to me. Glad to see you visiting and reading my review :) have a great day!

Unfortunately no. I am only into chocolate- not sweet chocolate either.
And I'm not into hot drinks- sometimes in winter I will have a chocolatechai latte, but mostly will still have an iced chocolate in my hand regardless of how cold it is...

In fact I make my own chocolate sauce on raw sugar and raw cocoa powder with just hot water and have every morning with different fresh fruits as a smoothie, so today was chocolate/Orange/mango and I think tomorrow will be either chocolate/mixed berries or chocolate/pineapple...I also use banana, apples and today I got some fresh passionfruit too- infact I pretty much use most fruits anyway. and that's my breakfast every day to give me the big Vitamin C hits, aswell as the caffeine hit. and other than that, I really only drink water- 2/3ltrs a day.

When I get to the Philippines or you come to Melbs, I will make you one of my special smoothies and then you will fall in love too! 😃

Great to see you again Mac! Take care and stay well ok.
XXX

"Chocolatechai latte" I wonder how you make this one! since you sound like you're totally into chocolate, you should post in this community too! chocolate and coffee blends really well ;) talking about chocolate, that makes me want to make hot cocoa + a bit of espresso.

Always love to see you around!

looks like a nice place to unwind :) thank you for sharing!
126142317_733047824288474_7710528549971745009_n.jpg
https://d.buzz

You're welcome! thank you for commenting. Looking to see around more :)

very cozy =)
I would like to drink tea and get some inspiration here =)

Oh yeah, definitely a place to get an inspiration!

 3 years ago (edited) 

Hello @macchiata
Red and Yellow Pen Illustration Class Flyer  Coffee Alert.jpg