Splinterlands - Spidey Senses Tingle for Octopider? (Weekly Post)

in Hive Gaming3 years ago


image.png

This week's monster the Octopider. A high mana but strong range attack monster that is a rare reward card. The match I will show is impressive as my lineup end up beating out my opponent where they used a Cornelius. For those who do not know Cornelius is a neutral legend in the Untamed series. A very highly popular card that fits well at the end of the formation as it has high range attack and self heal.

image.png

Battle Using Octopider

The match format was very restricted in regards to use of splinters. Only death splinter was allowed but the mana count went all the way to max at 99. The rule sets were silent summoners and even stevens. Without summoner abilities I basically my Contessa L'ament as I had one at max. Not surprising my opponent would use the same.

Formations

I started off with Dark Ha'on followed up with Mech Goblin, Phantom Soldier, Prismatic Energy, Boogeyman, and finished off with Octopider. I was focused on a magic formation as 3 out of 6 of my monsters were magic. Also the fact that I wanted to use up as much of mana as I could in the match.

My opponent also went with Dark Ha'on as their tanker then follow up with Elven Defender, Grim Reaper, Mantoid, Tower Griffin, and finished off with Cornelius. What was different in both our formations was my opponent lean more toward range attack monsters instead of magic. 4 out of 6 monsters had range attack.

In regards to levels we were close but I would give the lead to my opponent. They had a level 8 rare and level 3 legend while my highest legend was 2 and rare at 6.

Round 1

image.png

After round one both sides remain intact.

Round 2

image.png

By end of round two it is clear that we were still evenly match as both side's Dark Ha'on got knocked out.

Round 3

image.png

By the end of third round it was clear I had the upper hand in the match since I was able to take out Elven and Grim Reaper. This had more to do with magic attacks than just because I had stronger monsters as I was able to bypass toughness and go straight to health.

Round 4

image.png

By the end of round 4 it was clear I was the winner as my opponent only had Cornelius left. Range attack can not attack at the front of the formation. Game over for my opponent.

Conclusions

Magic attack monsters were better than range monsters as this battle shows. What is interesting to note is that my opponent's Cornelius had no way of defending against magic attacks while I still had my magic monsters ready and willing to attack. The Octopider did its job at the rare by complimenting the magic monsters in attacks. Octopider was fast as it got to hit right after Prismatic Energy.

I would not say Octopider was the stand out in the battle as much as the combination of the magic monsters I put in on Phantom Soldier, Prismatic Energy, and Boogeyman. Those three was a lethal combo against my opponent. While my Mech Goblin was a good tanker as it held off several attacks.

If you are interesting in watching the battle here is a link.

Until next time thanks for reading!!!

I have plenty of other cards for rent! Just go on peakmonsters and check out the market place and if you are curious what I offer here is a link:

mawit07 rentals

If You have yet to take part in playing this great game called Splinterlands please click on my referral link. It is free but in order to earn real assets such as cards and token you would have to invest in a starter deck or purchase game cards. Join the discord to learn more. Good luck!


THANKS FOR READING! CONTINUE TO PLAY SPLINTERLANDS!


Sort:  

I guess your summoner was more of a fetter given so many ranged attacks!

@tipu curate

I am always happy coming out with a win. Thank you for the upvote ;) !LUV and !PIZZA in return.

Connect

Trade


@revisesociology! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @mawit07.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Hi @revisesociology, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @mawit07. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

Hi @mawit07, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @logicforce. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM