I placed my first Silver Order - Stackitus Confirmed!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

For some time now I have been considering buying my first Silver Coins as part of the objective of diversifying my overall portfolio. I wanted to purchase around 10oz total and had been looking at the JM Bullion and SDBullion new buyer Spot Specials. I was leaning toward the SD Bullion 10oz Bar, it just appealed to me visually more than the Buffalo Silver Rounds.

But as I was browsing through the #steemsilvergold tag this afternoon I found a post that made me run, not walk to the mint pages. This Post from @mrs-v showed me a silver bar I just had to have. So long Spot Price Silver bar.... Hello Australia Silver Dragon:

This 1oz Silver bar is a cool $2.19 over spot, making it $18.73 each over at SD Bullion. So I put 5 of them in my cart and went shopping for the other 5oz I wanted to start my collection with.

Another coin I had seen recently that was offered during the weekend raffle by @thedamus was the 2018 Canadian Silver Wolf:

I am a big fan of wolves, and though this is not the nicest wolf piece I could imagine, it was the only one I found in stock on SD Bullion, so I picked up a pair of these.

Finally, the other animal we are big fans of in my household are dolphins. I didn't find a coin dedicated to dolphins, but this Silverbug Island Mermaid round is pretty cool and has a dolphin on it, so I added three of these to complete my 10oz order.

So there you have it, my first order of silver to begin my stack with. These will go nicely with the two 2017 Silver Rounds I bought, and the 13 that I purchased of the 2018 round. Add that to the 2018 Incused Maple that I won from @thedamus' raffle and I have a good 26oz of Silver to start my stack with.

I paid $35 more than I would have if I had just bought one of the Spot specials, but I will enjoy these coins way more. So that's worth something to me.

How did I do stackers? I thought about asking for opinions before completing my purchase, but I decided I really didn't care what anyone else thought, I was going to get the coins I wanted, so there. Pthpthpth and all that sort of stuff.

Hahahaha I'm excited to get these in and see them in person. I imagine a couple of the dragons MAY just end up on the trading/raffle block here on Steem at some point, as that seems to be a theme with the SSG and thus the reason I bought 5 of them. But let me enjoy them for a minute first huh?


This post is part of my ongoing bid-bot experiment. A bid of at least 20 SBD will be placed with one of the Bid Bots no earlier than 8pm Central Time on Thursday, 5/10. Keep an eye on my blog if you want to front run the bots by getting votes in before the designated vote time.

Sort:  

Interesting, thanks. I need to investigate again getting decent silver in Bangkok - gold-shops everywhere, but few silver.

BTW, notice your bidbot experiment. All my posts have a bidbot upvote at some point, but leave it for a few hours so that followers can get some extra curation rewards.

Upvoted and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

Welcome to the club man! You'll get hooked fast, it's a great and rewarding hobby.

The silver bar with the dragon looks neat mate, congratulations!