Albarracín - and how we got there

in Pinmapple5 months ago (edited)

I am writing my first post in 2024 from a hotel room. I hope you all had a nice time during the last days of the 2023 year and welcomed the new one with a smile, good thoughts and optimism. We spent our last day at home, in family, the three of us. My son and I were playing music, we practised some pieces he will need this year for an exam and all in all it was so nice, to spend the hours together.

IMG_20231231_223416.jpg

Also, we have done a raffle. We took three pieces of paper and each wrote a city where we could go together. The only rule was to choose a destination in Spain, that we could go to by car. There is no time to travel to a different country as by Friday we have to be back at home. I have a gig in the evening.

So, I wanted to visit Cuenca, my husband Teruel and my son Zaragoza. The little pieces of paper were closed, put into envelopes and put into a hat. My son had to close his eyes and pick one. And what luck for him!!! It was his paper that came out. He was the winner!

Although we visited Zaragoza just two months ago (husband and I) it was now our son's wish to go there. And the luck was on his side. We booked the hotel the very next day after browsing a bit on booking, and here we are now, in that hotel in Zaragoza, until Thursday.

IMG_20231231_223519.jpg

However, we didn't come directly from home here to Zaragoza. First, we visited a village that is not so far away from the destination we reached this afternoon. We made a little detour to a beautiful village called Albarracín.

The road that connects the highway and this village was a bit challenging, full of serpentines. The young man was protesting, as he was not feeling so well with those curves, but in the end, it was worth taking this detour and visiting Albarracín. Let me show it, at least those parts of the town we could see during our stay.

IMG_20240102_172559.jpg

The first impression was that we were in a fairy tale. Because of the houses. I could imagine the tales of the Brothers Grimm for example, and place the story here, in this environment. Very old, stone houses with small windows, stone pavements and narrow streets, stairs all around.

IMG_20240102_173233.jpg

We got a map of the town from a tourist office and the lady who worked there said that it would be difficult to find a place to eat. The village is small, there are a lot of people who have come and reserved the table in the restaurants.

IMG_20240102_172149.jpg

One of the tasks was not to get lost (but we did haha, one boy wanted to go up the stairs, the other down the street and I was in the middle - using the opportunity to take a photo 😁). The second task was to find a restaurant and book a table.

IMG_20240102_172307.jpg

Passing this wall, and one or two more streets, we arrived at the main square. There were some stalls, but unfortunately, they were closed. I suppose it was a Christmas market as the stalls were decorated in that way.

IMG_20240102_172832.jpg

Anyway, our goal was to find a restaurant. We saw this taberna, but it was full. Full. Sitting outside would be out of mind (not for the people in the photo, they found it fine, but it was cold). Just a few minutes later a group of people who finished their tapas left and we entered.

IMG_20240102_172655.jpg

La Taberna restaurant was so cosy inside. The waiters worked quickly, we got a table, ordered and enjoyed our meals when they arrived.

IMG_20240102_172453.jpg

This was the garlic soup, which my husband ordered. I had a vegetable cream, and then as a second course, we had tenderloin, potatoes, roasted paprika, chicken with tomato, ham and bread.

IMG_20240102_172407.jpg

A nice reminder on the wall. We don't have wi-fi. Talk with each other.

IMG_20240102_172432.jpg

We warmed up with that lunch and got energy, so a further exploration of the village could happen. Though it was cold...

There were some guided visits, but we went on our own.

IMG_20240102_172236.jpg

Streets going up and down, a good exercise for sure, to lose the calories we just got. The food was tasty but we noticed the cuisine is suitable for these lands and cold winter days. I mean, with more calories, that for sure are needed here.

From the main square, there were some nice views toward this part of the town and this church with the blue roof on the tower. But later, we went toward it and saw the even more interesting houses.

IMG_20240102_172625.jpg

I loved these balconies, made of wood. This is a charming place, and if you have a chance to get to this mountainous part of Aragón, it would be worth visiting Albarracín. Now I see why it is also proclaimed one of the nicest villages in Spain.

IMG_20240102_134047.jpg

Like in a tale, I say you. Just look at these stone towers.

There were some really narrow streets that when I looked toward the sky, I could see just a little, thin part of it. The roofs were so close one to another. It was dark in those streets, btw.

IMG_20240102_172736.jpg

Another interesting detail was the view through this passage, to a stone house between two streets. How old it could be? I didn't check but my take would be a few centuries.

IMG_20240102_173117.jpg

In the map we got from the lady in the tourist office there was a marked path to the old walls of Albarracín. The sky was so cloudy already, though we had umbrellas (in the car 😂) in case it started raining. The path was going uphill and in zig-zag, and in one moment we decided not to continue with this activity.

IMG_20240102_172848.jpg

This was the place where we turned back toward the village again. I know it would be cool to climb all the way up to the top of the walls, but maybe next time, with nicer weather and fewer clothes (we had several layers of clothes because of the cold).

IMG_20240102_173002.jpg

The walking back gave also some really charming views. We were happy and it was the important thing. Two hours of driving to Zaragoza still waited for us and it was time to set the GPS. My husband said his phone just switched off and didn't want to give signs of life. It happened with my phone too 😱. They died.

The only phone that still worked was our son's iPhone.

IMG_20240102_172921.jpg

Already in the car our phones also came back to life. We realized it was too cold for the batteries, as there was no other explanation for why it happened. Anyway, we arrived at our next destination from where this post was written. This is an interesting way how to start the new year :)

I wish you all a happy, lovely new year, and to travel a lot!!

IMG_20240102_173027.jpg

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

Suddenly I found myself walking in a place that transported me to another world, I love it!!!! Especially the views from the top, the little streets, the houses, the buildings, everything!

But above all it's clear to me that there is no wifi, that we have to talk to each other! hahaha Thanks @mipiano!❤️

No wi-fi, no working phones in the end - something happened in this fairytale 😁

Best of all.... you communicated with the fairies... I love that!

I wish you many adventures in Zaragoza and... Cuenca doesn't seem to be on the way, does it? And so everyone will be satisfied.

This place, Albarracín, is very interesting, it really looks like something out of a fairy tale. I also got lost in Santiago hahaha.... Because the GPS was not working well.

Thank you. Cuenca will not happen this time but it is not forgotten and crossed :))

I hope to see and read about the whole Santiago story. Have you arrived home?

Yes, last night at 10. Very tired but happy to see Chanel and Yin. I think they love each other more.
Of course you'll see the whole story, as soon as I manage to get out of bed.

The young man was protesting

I can relate sooo much with your sun! I had a terrible time as a child when we had to travel on the notoriously twisting roads of Crete and it didn't stop until I became the driver!

Beautiful place, it was worth the detour. Although, if it was so cold to kill the batteries, I would have thought it twice before I get out of the car :)

Happy New Year, best wishes to you and your men :)

The same thing as my with husband. It changed just when he became a driver.

It was strange that both our phones died, just our son's not. Another reason he could mock us 😂

Happy New Year, and for @traisto too 🥂🎇

This reminded me of some trips I took when I was younger. Not like a raffle but for sure the destinations where a few and we could picked them by voting.

Nice thing to write a first post from a hotel room. I bet it's something you already do very well.

Beautiful photos.

And before I forget, Happy New Year, my friend! 🥳

Happy New Year, @bertrayo 😇

I usually take my laptop with me, so that's why I can write it :)

A hug to you! 🥂

Clever woman as usual! :D

Emjoy your holidays!

College Football Sport GIF by RightNow

Thank you 💻😋😇

Waw, what a charming village. All these earth colors, stones, stairs, balconies,... Just lovely.

You could have stayed there for a couple of days more

!LOLZ
@tipu curate

I have kleptomania.
When it gets bad I have to take something for it.

Credit: reddit
@mipiano, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of ervin-lemark

(1/1)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Charming, indeed ✨

If our paths lead us here again, it could be an option to stay for more time :)) 🏰

Really beautiful streets. I hope to visit Zaragoza soon! I'm living in Tenerife, and haven't traveled to continental Spain yet.

And we haven't been to Tenerife yet 😅

Happy New Year @acont, I hope you can visit continental Spain this year ✨

Heh, a raffle - what a classy way to choose the place to go to :)) Of the three, I've only been to Cuenca so far. We stayed in this Airbnb apartment with an amazing view.

Albarracín is truly intruging too ;)

Oh, y Feliz Aňo!

Once, with friends, we flipped the coin to decide which hiking path to take. It happened in Chulilla, another beautiful little gem in Spain.

Thank you for the link to the apartment on Cuenca. I am not giving up on going there one day 😁

Gracias, y Feliz Año igualmente 🥂

That's even more of an adventure, at least when you're in a mountains you don't really know :)

Happy New Year 🎉🥳🍾🥂 all the best wishes for you guys!
What a cute and charming place. Good you visited too.
The houses do look like to come out of a fairytale.
Thanks for sharing 😊👋🏻

Thank you Jackie, Happy New Year to you too 🥂✨
May the traveling activities for everyone continue in 2024 too!

Thank you so much ☺️
Yes… let’s continue to travel… a lot hahaha 🤣

How beautiful and charming, just as you say it looks like something out of a fairy tale. Happy new year 🥂

May you have a lovely new year @ceciliajess 🥂 ✨

Seems like Zaragoza is destined 😉

Hahaha, videcemo 😂

Oh what a nice way to start the year , traveling with the family. I loved that town it has beautiful architecture, I see some cool arches maybe in some of those I can find a portal 😅

I'm waiting for the next experience in Zaragoza, now you can performe the tour guide role for your son , as you were there short time ago 😂😂
Happy Year for the piano's family 🤗

Yep, now I can be the guide 😂 though the weather forecast is not great.
Rain for tomorrow ☔

If you stay without internet connection, or your phone just decide to die without a reason, you know that you found the portal and arrived at Albarracín 😂

Jajajaja maybe you take the portal to Cuba because that is what happens here most of the time 😂😂😅😅😅

@pumarte ! Look what I have found in Teruel two days after Albarracín:

IMG_20240105_231206.jpg

I think you were there 😱

Jjajajjaja I went through the portal! 😂😂😂😂

You did!!! 😱

Albarracín is beautiful, it's a pity that it was cloudy because the colors change to more dull. So you will have to make a future visit with more light and time to go through it. 😃
Jo, no sé si mañana estaré en condiciones. 😩

Yeah, it was cloudy... And the weather forecast is not nice for tomorrow either, and you are sick :/
But let's stay positive and hope you get better and the sun comes out 🙏

Now I see this comment. 😅🤦‍♀️😂

That looks like the perfect place for me. I love these old, medieval places and it's just perfect for my brick and stone addition. The fooooooooood woul be also to my taste 😜

You would love it, that's true. The weather was not the best, but we don't regret having this little detour 😇

Nice beautiful village and Nice photos Happy New Year friend :)

Thank you and the best wishes to you too 😇

How lucky your son was 😂 what a beautiful town. I liked the no wifi sign 😃. Enjoy the beautiful Zaragoza 🤗.

He was lucky, definitely. And he got the city we just visited in November... But we are not complaining, it's the company and not just the destination what matters 😇

I wish you a Happy New Year @mipiano!

Thank you @triplug, a happy one to you too 😇

You're welcome!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You had a fantastic time with your son and that’s a great way to start a new year
Also, you’ve got a happy family and the pictures are cool too

I agree, what really matters is to spend time together 🥂

The Christmas mall looks quite ancients and the architectural work of the building is amazing

New year has started and we all have set our goals for this year too and we all will work hard day and night to achieve them and here is the way I see in the pictures. Yes, these places are very beautiful. By visiting such places and knowing about their history, our knowledge increases a lot and these old maps are very beautiful.

A big welcome to 2024 dear friend

One of the most beautiful villages in Spain and above all, perfectly preserved. You realise that its inhabitants love their place.

Very good report @mipiano
Thanks for sharing.

ESP

Uno de los pueblos más bonitos de España y sobre todo, perfectamente conservado. Se nota que sus habitantes aman su lugar.

Muy buen reportaje @mipiano
Gracias por compartir.

Thank you Xavi, we loved that opportunity to walk among those old houses in Albarracín, it was a so cool feeling. The day was dull, but it doesn't matter, we didn't regret going there 😉

Hello mipiano!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 4th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by hallmann

You receive 🎖 2.2 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 166 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START

This place takes you back to the Middle Ages with its narrow streets and stone houses. Thanks for sharing your visit there. I traveled vicariously to Albarracín with you. Best wishes for 2024.

That is true, I also felt, like going back to the past, the Middle Ages is the best approximation. 👌

Thank you for your wishes, and all the best to you too in the 2024 year ;)

Thank you very much for your good wishes. 🙂😘