Hive Open Mic, week 40, Hold On By Michael Buble, cover by mipiano

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago (edited)

HOM week 40Thumb.jpg

Hold on, this week's theme for Open Hive Mic, #openmic, is really fulfilled in the true sense of the word for me. I have the feeling that the song I chose really told me "hold on, you need to practice a little more".

With the publication of the topic by Cabe, my search began. I always like to choose a composition from the genre of classical music, but this time I opted for light music. Do you know how many songs called Hold on exist? Countless. I listened to a lot of songs with that name, but I liked the song by Michael Buble the most. The structure of the song, the words and his voice prevailed in my decision to play a cover of this song.

I rehearsed the song for a few days. My arrangement of it is something between a cover and improvisation because I played it differently every time. The scores that serve me to look from are for voice and accompaniment, but I made a kind of fusion. I play a melody in my right hand, and in my left hand, I combine chords in the first strophe and broken chords in the second one. There is a part of modulation to another key, and that was the part I struggled with. I had to hold on, to continue from day to day to improve it, so here it is today.

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I will try to add the original Michael Buble song, but I am not sure if it will appear. I have some problems now with my last two posts published through 3speak, as the part I edited with PeakD doesn't appear now in the post. So they are without any photo and the external links that I put when I edited. I think they are making some new things with the 3speak, so maybe a few days later it will work.

The lyrics of Hold On by Michael Buble

Didn't they always say we were the lucky ones?
I guess that we were once
Babe, we were once
But luck will leave you 'cause
It is a faithless friend
And in the end when life has got you down
You've got someone here that you can wrap your arms around
So hold on to me tight
Hold on to me tonight
We are stronger here together
Than we could ever be alone
So hold on to me
Don't you ever let me go
There's a thousand ways for things to fall apart
But it's no one's fault
No, it's not my fault
Maybe all the plans we made might not work out
But I have no doubt even though it's hard to see
I've got faith in us and I believe in you and me
So hold on to me tight
Hold on, I promise it'll be alright
'Cause it's you and me together
And baby all we've got is time
So hold on to me, hold on to me tonight
There's so many dreams that we have given up
Take a look at all we've got
And with this kind of love
What we've got here is enough
So hold on to me tight
Hold on, I promise it'll be alright
'Cause we are stronger here together
Then we could ever be alone
Just hold on to me
Don't you ever let me go
Hold on to me, it's gonna be alright
Hold on to me tonight
They always say we were the lucky ones

@cabelindsay , here is the link to YouTube 😇

Greetings


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Oh, dear @mipiano. How have I missed watching your videos!

Missed these comments?

Here you go again
fingers flutter
landing in each key

Body swaying
as rhythm guides

Fixed eyes
staring onto white
dotted with black.

I like the arrangement. It's in tune with modern composition. Making a contrast in the simplicity of harmony (not of chords, of course). This boosts the melody to its potential to shine above everything else. You have kept this here. I bet it is because this is a song and the leading part has to shine as it is often the case with voices over music.

Don't think you need to practice this too much, but I wonder what would happen to the arrangement if you did. Only time would tell!

Glad to be back in your posts. 🤗

P.D: Woodworking is tiresome and sometimes I can't bear myself to make this kinds of reviews as they require focus.

Dearest @bertrayo !! How I couldn't miss you comments? Tell me! I am even more glad you are back in my posts with such a comment 😃. And a poem? Seriously?? Aw, you are a 💜

Yes, I needed to practice.. The score I have is for voice (what I played with the right hand) and all the accompaniment I had to squeeze into a combination of left and sometimes right hand, so it was a completely different thing that I was reading and actually playing. Nothing to do with the written stuff, but I needed it as a reminder what I wanted to play in each part. And each time I played it differently 😂, so I don't have one stable version. You hear in video this, and maybe tommorow would be different 🤷😂

Ha, ha, ha. I try. Sometimes a bit too hard. 😅

Well, the you did a very classical thing. Didn't the great composer often did some themes with variations? I can think of La Fustemberg. If you record a video for each variations, I will gladly review each one of them and talk about what was different in each one. However, I don't know if I could write a poem for each one, but who knows?

However, I don't know if I could write a poem for each one, but who knows?

Oh, without a poem for each one, no more recording of the same song !!

🤣

Thank you @bertrayo for your engagement! With bit of !WINE we could even sing the your nice poem 😇


Cheers, @mipiano You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @bertrayo.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 1.000 HIVE

Ha, ha, ha. I see. Cheers!

With more wine we can get more poetic and you can improvise some sequences for the harmonies and melodies.

Of course 😂

You need to drink some !wine too! 😂

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @ewkaw 💜💜

My pleasure :)
Nothing like some music with my morning (don't judge) coffee :D

Oh, lucky you 🤣

You know, in Spain they call it morning until about 14:00.. so, you are just in time with your morning coffee 😇

P.S. I had several cups of coffee already, from 6:45 🤦🏻‍♀️

Morning it is 🤣

6:45... that hour even exists? :o

6:45... that hour even exists? :o

😂

My son had to go to school today..🙄😋

You play beautifully, music really does rejoice the soul. Happy day!

Thank you for your kind words ☺️ Have a nice day as well ☀️

Michael Bubble... oops it's with 1 b {sorry...LOL}

Not a favourite of this guy. Guess because its all light whatever music he makes. Makes your interpretation much more interesting since this is piano only! A major improvement for this song :) Don't tell him.

Hold On: Am not surprised it is used so often. People always want to hold on to something. They don't want to change, move forward. Guess the reason for so many 'Hold On's out there... But what do I know, talking anyway a lot of BS this morning, so please don't mind me :)

Regarding PeakD and 3Speak. Don't have too much experience with 3Speak, but that little experience I have is that once the post at 3Speak gets to the HIVE chain, changes to the 3Speak post through 3Speak user interface, doesn't show up in PeakD, and the other way around. When I use 3Speak, I try to create the whole post including all the additionals so I don't have to alter the post anymore in another user interface. You may write your post using the markdown editor in eg PeakD and when satisfied, copy the post into the description section at a 3Speak upload (and delete the one in PeakD editor). I use an offline Markdown editor to write my posts, but if I wouldn't have an offline markdown editor, I would've used the PeakD route I described.

A major improvement for this song :) Don't tell him.

Ok, I will not reveal him this secret 😋

Although I agree with you about people not willing to do a change, hold on can be observed in a positive way also, like a sign of patience or sticking to the good things in life. Maybe @cabelindsay wanted to point out that with this week's topic.

Oh, thanks for the advice. I always did this way: upload the video on 3speak, write there the main text in description, and when it is published in PeakD I edit it (put the photos I want, links, etc etc). It was always good, just something happened with the last two posts. Do you remember the Send In The Clowns post? I don't see any photo now there, neither the links to Frank Sinatra, Judy Collins. Nothing. Is it just me that I don't see them? Maybe some node is not working...or this is because of the changes in 3speak.

But for sure, I will try out your advice. Thank you @edje 👌

Not sure wrt 3Speak and images and all. I noticed quite a bit of hickups everywhere, from HIVE chain, to image server (still many of my old posts images are gone, those made in times of Steem). Some time ago 3Speak had issues posting to the HIVE chain, always half an hour late, and I couldn't vote at 3Speak, it simply didn't accept them.

Just tried 3Speak. Haven't been there for quite some time. Seems that I can now cast votes. And also saw my vote to your comment. And soon will see also this comment I'm typing now, I hope :)

EDIT: maybe you know this. I tried to find a way at 3Speak to create a comment to some video. But I don't see such option? Is it possible? And when not, do you have anuy idea why not? When yes, where can I find this: create comment section?

EDIT(again): Stupid me, I found the reply button :)

I see, you had a pretty nice monologue 😂 (sorry 🙏 I didn't reply before, I was outside walking)

still many of my old posts images are gone, those made in times of Steem)

Oh, really? I was not here that time, so I can not confirm the same, but now I see that almost every post I did in the way explained has the same mistery, all the photos gone 🤷

Strange, there are 3 posts that still has the edited photos inside. I will try tommorow to do in the way you explained me.

Love those conversation into the dark, makes the flow really flexible but 100% under my own control {LOL}

😂😂

We should always see the positive side of things 😂

absolutely! 😉

Thank you for joining in and enjoying Hive Open Mic

Fascinating to me, watching your hands alternating positions, zig-zagging at times, reaching this way and that way, with every finger stroke making a pleasant sound. Your precision on your instrument is inspiring to me. I see deep evidence of your passion for playing in this one. I feel the energy you're bringing, and I just feel so grateful. Thank you. Thank you for sharing your talents with our community in this way. We're so lucky to see and hear your artistry. I hadn't heard this song before - it's excellent lyrically as well as compositionally, and I love that it starts with gratitude.

Thank you Cabe for this great comment. I am more than happy that I could bring you a new song. Yes, my hands were zig-zagging as I wanted to play as much complex as I could manage.

This is a beautiful melody and you have made it even more beautiful, it is subtly and sweetly interpreted. I loved it!
Many congratulations and thank you for bringing such beautiful interpretations.

I absolutely forgot about this post. It was some months ago. I know now, this post appears in the hosting post of Cabelindsay.
Thank you so much for checking out @helyorsini , I appreciate it 🤗

Me olvidé por completo de esta publicación. Fue hace algunos meses. Ahora lo sé, esta publicación aparece en la publicación de Cabelindsay los domingos.
Muchas gracias por escuchar @helyorsini, se lo agradezco 🤗
Un gran saludo y feliz semana !!!

Oh I love Michael Buble and I love the way you played the song, very peaceful and relaxing!
Look forward to hearing more! ^^ Thank you for sharing!