Cornwall the English Riviera

in #treetuesday5 years ago

You could be forgiven for thinking that I'm posting from some tropical location with this palm tree below but they are quite common here in Cornwall.

IMG_20190402_135720_295.jpg

Cornwall is called by some the English Riviera as it is in the deep south west of the UK.
It gets a lot of sunshine and tropical plants are everywhere.

Giant pine trees

IMG_20190408_114212_509.jpg

I don't recall seeing pine trees (above and below) this big in any other part of England? They are pretty old and windswept too.

IMG_20190402_133157.jpg

Photos taken with my not so smart phone. The landscape inland is very hilly as you can see below. That road below is a 1:12 gradient. Tough walking terrain.

Rolling hills.

IMG_20190402_113013.jpg

More in the #treetuesday series initiated by @old-guy-photos

Flooded trees
6,000 year old Olive trees
Photographing the flatlands of East Anglia
Me carrying a huge tree
Autumn trees

My usual camera gear

EOS Canon 70D
Canon 75 -300 mm lens

All photos, texts and videos published herein the steem blockchain are my copyright unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved

Sort:  

Vancouver is one of those temperate places that just because we can, barely, grow palm trees, we grow palms. They never get too big though. I imagine the big conifers we get here much just giggle at the poor palm's predicament. That 6000 year old tree is something, isn't it:)

Palm trees in England? I had no idea! Hope you are having a grand time!

Howdy sir molometer! I didn't think of England as Palm Tree area that's for sure! Looks like beautiful countryside down there.

I remember loving the countryside and charm of Cornwall, but I dont recall noticing palm trees maybe I was not so observant when I visited there

A lovely variety of mature trees @molometer The perfectly shaped palm trees are beautiful but I also love the old windswept ones too. Have an awesome day my friend. (U & R )

thanks for share your beautiful photography. this are very cool.

Hi folks, Cornwall is a very pretty and surprising county. Wifi is terrible just about everywhere.

The coastal landscape is very dramatic and at the same time very relaxing with palm trees just about everywhere.

It's a bit of an enigma!