Day 2 ~ Best Investment I've Made



Best Investment I've Made






It’s a small price to pay, but investing a little extra effort into the life you choose will move you from average — where all the competition is — to the top.


~― Richie Norton





df.png






Money wise I have not invested anything, just yet, but that doesn't mean I have no investment I am proud of...

Shifting focus from the outside to the myself, focusing on getting to really know myself, understand why I act and think in a particular way, understand why I have some tendencies, understand where it all started, I would say has been the best investment for me.


Despite it not being the allocation of money with the aim of making profit in the future, it was an allocation of time and effort to trying and understand where I really I am coming from, in order to actually understand where I really am and hence understand where I am actually headed to. So no profit money wise, but to me finally getting a grasp on my motivations, my way of thinking, the reason behind some habits, surpasses monetary gain.

One might think this is leaning more towards being narcissistic but, for the longest period my life felt like someone else's rather than mine. I had no understanding whatsoever of who I was, but I was trying to move a head and make progress, which never worked because after a while that feeling of living according to someone else's perspective would slowly creep back and essentially all motivation would be lost.


I was a real mess, only capable of putting up a very optimistic facade, always smiling, head held high and always okay, but in on the inside I was drowning in the weight of it all.

And if someone asked why I kept on backsliding despite seeming to have everything I required to make progress, I would do what most of do, I would shift the blame from me and find someone else who would be my scapegoat.


According to the author Akiroq Brost:


"Stop blaming other people for your own behavior! Own the truth. If you don't like it, then invest the time and energy to change it."
Akiroq Brost:




Not only was that habit destructive and unhealthy but also made me deep down hate myself, for I always knew that it was wrong but I was too much of a coward to just face the truth, it was much easier to just turn the other side and spin of something quick to maintain the facade.

It was all so tiring that I could no longer handle the pain that I was causing to myself, the crush was inevitable and when the fall from top the mole hill started it only stopped when I really reached rock bottom.


At the bottom on realizing there was nothing more I could lose, I had experienced it all, I decided to finally shift the focus from others to myself, the only way to get back on my feet was to actually face myself, make peace with myself, travel back and reintegrate my younger lost self, learn to love myself unconditionally, learn to accept that we all make mistakes, no one has it figured out, and the best I can do is accept it, get up dust my knees and create a new path out of this hole I fell into.




I decided to acquire all the materials I thought would help, mostly books, and started a journey towards rediscovering and making peace with myself.

I choose to stop focusing on ways to make a quick buck here and there, but rather invest the energy in upping my skills, developing personal projects and focusing on my personal skills, money would come later on when I had something valuable to exchange for it...




And that sums the summary on my Best Investment I've Made. I am still in the journey, not sure when it will eventually come to and end, but I don't focus on the end, but rather the process, and take it day by day.


The words of Farshad Asl, could not be more true:

“Believing and investing in yourself is the best way to shift your thinking from a paradigm of excuses to one of solutions.”
Farshad Asl












image.png




image.png


peet.png

Sort:  

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


I am giving you an upvote because your posts are always outstanding! But in the future, please consider adding where your graphics come from. Whether created by you, or a link, or mention, of who created them... if not you! Love and light!