Covered Bridge

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Filtered Morning Sun


Click images for larger view

99pyU5Ga1kwr5Xg46gnE3BrdGQcYkevrMfGqYdeMUG2g4qZ8xRgM7yTegQpRUswvwuFYUvdkdNKdSAuiDv6yvstGBVwqQKDx6s2vs6Tf752vm9jyUVEz3m5FxiLBWfgMqY.png

We made another trek across the Cascades Mountain Range to visit family. Due to the recent wild fires two of the main roads from the east side of the mountains to the Willamette Valley were closed. This was a longer route so due to time constraints stops were at a premium. Here are a few shots of a covered bridge built in 1945 across the South Fork of the Santiam River.


Click images for larger view


Here is a panorama showing a little more of the interior architecture of the bridge. Despite the image showing some of the vertical roads being broken, the bridge is actually in sound structural shape. 😀 Lightroom had a some trouble stitching the photos together. Probably from the close in subject matter and the severe angle differences of the camera point of view.

Please feel free to make comments or ask me any questions about this post.

Photos taken by me, @oldmans, with a Nikon D3300 and some Lightroom post processing.
Please visit Pinmapple to see the locations of some of my other posts.
Thanks for looking and enjoy your day!

My Lensy Gallery

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you!

Beautiful shots by you, my friend. Been a while I checked out your photography. Glad to come across them today.

Thank you so much! I have been in a bit of a posting slump lately. We had really bad smoke from wildfires for about a week that made it almost impossible to go outside. That and a general malaise just kept me from doing much photography. Hopefully I'm past all that now and I can start a more regular posting schedule. 😀

Thanks for dropping by my friend!

Question : Why a covered bridge? And please don't say why not 😄

That really is a great question.👍 So great, I had to look it up on Google to find an answer.😂

Apparently it's not just a pretty roof over a bridge. It serves the purpose of keeping the elements from deteriorating the load bearing timbers that might last only 10-20 years without protection. A roof can also increase the structural integrity of the bridge allowing a longer span.

Here is a link with more information if you are interested.

Thank you for checking it out @oldman. Seems like it was popular in the State because I don't think I've seen it in UK before. Good to learn something new on Hive again.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I had missed your trekking Bill and happy to see one today after so many days.

Hope you are doing fine and good :))

I am doing well my friend, thank you.👍

Hopefully I will have some more adventures to post soon. 😀