A close friend and how we met.

in Hive Learnerslast year

20230301_104407_0000.png

Image designed on Canva

We have many friends but we have the choice to categorize depending on how attached we are to them.

There are different kinds of friends and how we have placed them in our lives. Studies have suggested that just as diet and exercise are essential to our well-being, so does friendship. Friendships will determine how well we are fairing and our longevity.

Some friends bring positivity into our lives and lift us and we have the negative ones who might cut our lives short, betray our trust in them and may ruin our destiny if care is not taken. This is why it is expedient to choose your friends wisely as you would do when making a difficult decision that could change your life.

Egbonn.png

There are the best kinds of friendships that enhance our lives, make us feel the vibe and bring out the best in us, make us feel loved and supported, and in all, boost our overall happiness. It is better to have just one (1) friend with satisfaction than nine (9) friends accompanied by tension and negativity.

There are some categories of friends which are;

Close friends
Lifelong friends
Friends of convenience (acquaintance)
Work friends
Social friends etc.

Egbonn.png

For the sake of this weekly edition, I will only be talking about my close friend and how we met.

I can say this definition meets the kind of close friend I have today. Her name is Ajoke (we both bear the same name). I have known her for many years, more than 16 years now and we are still talking together even though we lost contact for sometime, when we eventually came back, it was as if we never left each other because of how we related and share stuff. She always opens up to me when she needs help and I never hesitate to help in my way because Ajoke is more than a friend but a sister to me.

Egbonn.png

Image 1Image 2
IMG-20230301-WA0014.jpgIMG-20230301-WA0013.jpg

This is Ajoke, my friend 😊

How did we meet?

We just relocated to this area in Ogun State in the year 2007 and I already completed my Junior Secondary School then. I was about to gain entrance into Senior Secondary School when our landlord where we were living in Aguda, Lagos State asked all tenants to leave. It came unexpectedly and there was no other option than to go to a far distance which was in Ogun State.

On getting to our new apartment and already settled with the arrangements, we went in search of a nearby church to start attending. I was just a teenager then and I joined the teenage class in RCCG (Redeemed Christian Church of God) where my friend was there too.

Egbonn.png

I became friends with a few people in Church but when I got to know this lady who lived near our house, we got closer as we started going to church together on Sundays. She even explained the weekly activities to me which I made sure to always attend together with her. Our friendships made our mothers closer to each other too.

As young as we were then, one thing I noticed about this girl is her disciplined lifestyle. She is a bold and fierce lady and when she speaks, she sounds so great. She is very calm and jovial.

Our meeting during church service and teenage class brought the best change in my life because, throughout my stay in that area, we were never seen separately but together. It got to a point, they thought we were twins while some never believed we weren't blood-related.

Egbonn.png

How the meeting helped my life

We both grew up together in the same area. We both finished school even though she went to a polytechnic. She is always my adviser and one I run to whenever I am in trouble or having a bad moment. Once I speak up, she has the soothing words to ease my tension and would always pat my back and say "Buzhay, all will be well" with a smile. She knows how to bring vibes into one's life. She understands a person so well. Even though she read public administration, it was as if she read human psychology because she was good at it.

Egbonn.png

She pushed me to continue my process when I thought I wouldn't be given admission into the University when things went south for me. I already lost the admission and when it got to a point, I gave up and didn't want to continue even when someone explained there could still be a way. She came at that moment, I explained all to her and she pushed me to give it another try which made me gain admission in the end. This is the kind of friend we all need; one who would always support and encourage you in giving your best.

Egbonn.png

She is always my girl anytime because she understands me more than anyone could. Even now, she is married and I attended her wedding three years ago, she would keep asking "how far? Any show of a guy yet?" When I say no, she would then say "Alright, all will be well". That is just her slogan. Whenever I speak to her, I am always happy to be comforted by her as she has the right word to say. She stood by me when mom died and I couldn't have asked for another great friend like her.

I can say she is the only close childhood friend I have because of who she has been in my life right from time. Our more than 16 years of friendship have been great and worth it in my life and if I would be given another chance to choose, I would go for her all the time.

Thanks for your time on my blog.

png_20230103_101955_0000.png

Sort:  
 last year  

Me that is your hive friend which category do I now fall in🤧

 last year  

Hahahaha. You are my social friend then 😅😅

 last year  

We ought to be conscious of the type of friends we surround ourselves with.

Thanks for sharing.

 last year  

You are right. We need to be conscious of the type of friends we have. Thank you for reading too.

 last year  

Dear Buzhayy☺️☺️ you really made a good friend with awesome qualities. The church is a very good arena to achieve friends actually because I also have gotten a couple of friends that expanded my coast through the church.
I am brought to light the types of friends we have and I really know the place of some of them in my life. Close friends are the best to me..
Nice piece dear Buzhayy ☺️☺️

 last year  

Close friends are definitely the best and we need to be conscious of them too as they can decide what type of life we would have or live.
Thanks so much, Ovey for reading.

 last year  

The pleasure is all mine dear 🙌🙏

 last year  

There are indeed different kinds of friends and we ought know how and where to place them in our lives, because our friends have a great role to play in our lives.

You will know true friends through their actions, you don't need anyone to tell you a person is genuine when he/she cares about your life, your growth and well being. I already concluded that your friend is very nice person, though i have not met her anywhere before but anyone who can advise you on what to do inorder to succeed and stand for you when things are hard, is a friend indeed

 last year  

Yes, we have to categorize friends in our lives and know which one to discard and which to let them stay because they determine our lives in some ways too.
Yes, she is a nice and kind friend and I am so happy meeting her.
Thank you, Emreal.

 last year  

Smiles... 🥰🥰🥰🥰 You are always welcome ma

 last year  

Wow
Ajoke has good attributes
These are the kind of friends I need in my life
U are lucky to have her
Funny enough, u both bear the same name 🥰👍

 last year  

That is why I cherish the friendship because of the same name we bear.
Yes, I am so lucky to have her. I sent her this article and she was wowed. She never believes it.
Thanks for stopping by, Mama boys 😍

 last year  

Woww
It's good you sent her the blog
She will just be reading and smiling

 last year  

She felt so happy and honored I wrote something about her 😊

 last year  

Awwww 🥰
So sweet

 last year  

You Got This Harry Potter GIF by Sky

 last year  

Ajoke seems like a wonderful person from your explanation, and those are the type of person we should keep as friends, well behaved and also a positive thinker, who can also encourage us like she did to you during your admission search.

 last year  

Exactly. This is kind of friends to keep because you will surely enjoy the moment and your life.

 last year  

"Alright. All will be well" 😄 Does she know she says this a lot? I doubt she does know.

I guess, for you guys to have been these close fonso long, then you must have equally been an amazing friend to her as well.

God bless you guys' marriage friendship. 😉

 last year  

Hehehe. She does know she says that with smiles on her face.
Yea, the friendship could have ended a long time ago if there was no positive impact. Thank God for our lives too.

Hahaha. Marriage 😅😅
Thank you for stopping by to read.

 last year  

There are some categories of friends which are

It seems I have similarities with you in this case because I also made some category like you😅.

I think you got a very good friend who can inspire you in each time and it help you to more forward in life. I think everyone don't get such kind of friend in life. So, you are the lucky one.

 last year  

People who have friends like this are always lucky. She has been amazing and I am glad crossing path with her.
Thank you 😊

 last year  

I love it when people say good things about their friends and when I see long time friendship still waxing stronger. Her constant question about how far about a guy will soon be answered by God's grace. She is beautiful and nice to know she made a good impact on your life

 last year  

Amen 🙏
Thank you ma 😊